Fiction logo

Death By Chocolate

Part 2 of the Cole Brothers

By Jade SilverPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Death By Chocolate
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Eric sat on the back porch, in his Paw-Paw’s favorite rocking chair, watching dawn break over the horizon.

“Did you sleep at all?” asked Danton.

“Maybe”, said Eric, “Not sure. I closed my eyes and memories just flooded my head.”

“Like what?”

“Oh, a bit of this and that. Life on a farm, life in the city, life without Beth, life with Beth. Then I thought back on life before Beth, stopped at Nancy Jo McClerry for a minute.”

“Whew, she was FIIIIINE!”

Eric laughed, “Yeah she was finer than frog’s hair, the problem was I couldn’t hold a conversation with her. I ain’t exactly rocket scientist material but if it wasn’t about her hair or her clothes, she really didn’t have much to say. “

“Never have met another person that was so self-centered.” Said Eric. “Whatever happened to her?”

“She moved away with some rich guy; I think she’s in L.A. now spending his money.”

“Well, glad it worked out for her” Laughed Eric.

“What about you Eric? I know life hasn’t worked out the way you thought it would, but what are you going to do now?”

“Well, first thing I’m gonna do is see if your wife has anymore of that chocolate cake. That slice I had last night made me think that’s what they serve in Heaven. After that, I don’t know.”

“You could stay here, old Jimmy’s house is free. You could be near your family and figure out what you want to do.” Said Danton.

“I appreciate the offer big brother, but farm life wasn’t in my cards at 18 and it’s not in my cards at 28.”

“Oh come on, give it another try. You got the waking up at dawn thing down and that’s half the battle.” Said Danton jokingly.

Eric laughed, “Yeah, that is something I always had trouble with, but no Danton. I know this life isn’t for me. There ain’t nothin’ wrong with it and it suits you, but it’s not where I need to be.”

“Where are you going to go? Back to the lake house?”

Eric sighed, “No, I think my time there is done too. It gave me the peace and quiet I needed but now, well, it’s just not appealin’ to be that alone. I need somethin’ more.”

Both men looked up as a car drove up the long winding drive.

“You expectin’ someone?” asked Eric.

“Nope, and I don’t know anyone that drives a car like that.” Danton went back into the house and grabbed a shotgun. “Best go see what they want I reckon.”

Both brothers walked down the stairs and towards the driveway.

A black SUV with tinted windows pulled up to the house, Danton raised his shotgun, an elderly man stepped out of the back seat.

In a British accent the man said “Oh good, you both are up.”

“I know you” said both brothers in unison. Then they looked at each other.

“How do you know him?”, asked Eric.

“He’s the guy who told me Beth had died, how do you know him?”

“He’s the guy that told me Paw-Paw had died.” Said Eric.

“Well you’re just full of happy news, ain’t ya? Who died now, and who are you?” Asked Danton.

“Ah yes, I am Gerald the Cole Family Butler and I am happy to report that there have been no further family deaths.”

The brothers laughed and Danton said “I hate to tell ya buddy but we don’t have much use for a butler here, so, sorry, you can’t be our butler.

“I am not in fact YOUR butler; I am the Cole Families Butler.” At the brothers confused looks the butler took a deep breath and explained. “You two are members of a larger family called the Cole Family, it’s matriarch Miss Eliza Cole has sent me to fetch you.”

Suzie said from the porch, “Well Mr. Gerald, you best come inside, and Danton put the gun down.”

“It is just Gerald madame.”

“Whatever, this isn’t talk to be havin’ on the lawn at daybreak. Come in and I’ll get some coffee going’.”

Suzie showed Gerald to the table, where he sat down. Danton and Eric sat opposite each other and both stared at Gerald the Butler.

“Okay, the coffee is on. Would you care the explain what you were going on about outside?” asked Suzie.

“Certainly, madam, I am the Cole Family Butler…”

“And where does this Cole Family live?” asked Suzie.

“They reside in many parts of the country; however, the matriarch Miss Eliza Cole resides in the Cole Family Manor House in Savannah.”

“That’s about a 2-hour drive from here.” Said Danton.

“Indeed Sir.” Said Gerald.

“And what does this Miss Eliza want with Danton and Eric?”, asked Suzie.

“I cannot say madam, I was asked to arrive here shortly after dawn and bring Sirs Danton and Eric Cole back with me.”

“Look, I can appreciate that you were asked to fetch us an’ all, but I’ve got stuff to do. So please go back and give Miss Eliza our regrets but we ain’t comin’. “, said Danton.

“I see”, said Gerald. “Is that your reply as well Sir Eric?”

Eric looked at Danton, then back at the Butler. “Nah, I’ll come.”

“Eric!” said Danton, “We don’t know this guy from Adam what you mean you’re goin’?”

“Look Danton, the truth is I don’t really have anything to do. I seriously doubt a guy rolling up in an expensive car looking like that”, he pointed to the Butler, “means me harm, so what could it hurt? I’m curious to hear what this Miss Eliza has to say.”

“Excellent Sir, your Aunt will be pleased to see you.”

“My Aunt? As in Miss Eliza is, was, is Paw-Paw’s sister?” asked Eric.

“Yes sir, my apologies for failing to mention the familial connection sooner, it has been, as you say, a long day.”

Suzie smiled. “Well dang Gerald, I think you need some coffee before you start back out then.”

Suzie poured the coffee and Eric went upstairs to gather his things. Danton asked from the door, “What are you doin’?”

“What does it look like I’m doin’?”,” You know what I mean, why are you goin’ with this guy?”

“Why not?” Asked Eric.

“Look, I know things have been rough but…”

“Yeah Danton, things have been rough, and I don’t know what to do with myself right now. Opportunity seems to be knocking, maybe it’s nothin’, maybe it’s somethin’, but I’d like to see what door number two is holdin’. I’ll be back or call you by supper. Don’t look so down man, if she has a pot of gold hidden at the end of this rainbow I’ll share.” Danton and Eric laughed and the two men walked down stairs.

“You ready Gerald?”

“Oh yes sir, thank you for the wonderful coffee madam.” Gerald stood from the table and headed towards the door.

“This way Sir.” Gerald led Eric out the door and to the back of the SUV. He opened the door, ushered Eric inside, closed the door and walked to the passenger side front door and got in.

Eric realized there was another man in the car, driving. “Gerald? Who is that?

“This, Sir, is Hans, he is the Cole Families chauffeur.”

Of course he is thought Eric, “Nice to meet you Hans.”

“Sir, thank you, Sir.” Said Hans.

They drove in silence, wow, talkative bunch. “Gerald?”

“Yes Sir?”

“Will any other members of the Cole family be where we are going?”

“Only Miss Eliza resides at the Manor, however it is possible some of your cousins or uncles may be in attendance. They often drop by to discuss business matters with Miss Eliza.”

“Isn’t Savannah kind of out of the way to just drop by?”

“No sir, not when the family has helicopters. Most of the Cole Family Business is done in Atlanta, which is less than an hour by helicopter, Sir.”

“And what is the family business?”

“I shall let your Aunt discuss such matters with you Sir, it is not my place.”

And with that, the Butler went silent. Eric’s lack of sleep caught up with him and he found himself opening his eyes as they stopped at a gate. Hans opened the window, entered a code, and Gerald announced, “We are here Sir.”

Well hot damn! There were over 30 windows on the front of the house they were pulling up to. I now see why Gerald called it a manor. We pulled up to the front door, I was busy gaping at the sight before me when Gerald appeared, opened my door and beckoned me forward. We walked into a huge open area, then he veered right, knocked on a door and a woman’s voice said “Enter”.

Gerald said “Miss Eliza, may I present Sir Eric Cole.” The butler gave a bow and a wave in my direction. The woman standing before me had that old money look about her; lots of jewelry, gray hair all done up in curls, flowing outfit. She said, “That will be all Gerald.” “Yes madame” Gerald said as he bowed and left the room.

“Well, don’t just stand there gawking, come in.” Said Miss Eliza. Eric had a flashback to being in his Paw Paw’s barn “You gonna stand there gawking or you gonna come in?” He had said to me…oh yes, this woman was definitely his Paw-Paw’s kin. The similarity in their looks was amazing.

I started walking forward, “Hello Ma’am.”

The woman rolled her eyes and sighed deeply, “I see my brother has corrupted you with his backwoods ways. Where is your brother?”

I didn’t know quite what to make of the corruption comment, so I looked past it and said “He’s working on his farm.”

“Ah, yes, he does own that quaint farm now. I supposed the chickens just couldn’t bear to be apart from him for the day. No matter, you are here. Let us discuss your future.”

My future, what was she talking about? “My future ma’am?” I asked questioningly.

“Yes, your future. Now that my brother is gone you two can come back into the family fold where you should have been all along. There is work to be done, an Empire to run, and I can’t leave it up to those other idiots we call family. My dear boy, you look pale, would you like a brandy?”

I sat down in the chair closest to me and said “Yes, thank you, I think a brandy would be a great idea. I’ll take somethin’ stronger if you have it to.”

Miss Eliza laughed, “oh I do enjoy a man who can hold his liquor. Jennifer?” A blond woman in a maid’s outfit came in through a set of doors Eric hadn’t realized were there. “Please get us two Manhattan’s with an olive.” “Right away Madame.”

“Well that’s convenient.”

“Very, now, I know all about you. What questions do you have for me?

“Um, other than who are you, why am I here, and what do you want?”

Miss Eliza’s laugh sounded like little bells. “Oh my dear boy, you do get straight to the point don’t you? I like that. Let us begin with when my brother and I were children”….

Dear Reader, this story will continue in the next summer challenge called Brown Paper Box, stay tuned and please remember the like button is free to use, until next time ; -)

Series
Like

About the Creator

Jade Silver

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.