Fiction logo

Deandra

The Rebirth of a Dying World

By MATTHEW FLICKPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
11
Deandra
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

As usual, she was running late. Dee reached the platform and slid through the door moments before they closed and the train whisked its way towards the next station.

She sat in the early morning train, twirling the delicate golden chain around her neck. Hanging from the chain was a small heart-shaped locket. Her mother had placed the chain around her neck when she was an infant and there it had stayed for the last 27 years.

A strange-looking man sitting across the train from her, brought Dee back to reality. He was exceptionally pale and bald, but what struck Dee the most were his piercing green eyes. They almost glowed in the fluorescent lighting of the train.

“E...hty Six.. Street, next!,” squawked the broken speaker above Dee’s head.

As the train came to an abrupt stop, Dee wove her way through the crowded train car and stepped on to a bustling platform full of early morning commuters. Approaching the steps, an icy hand on the back of her neck halted her.

"Hey perv! Get off of me!," she yelled, her New York accent breaking through.

Turning, she came face to face with the pale stranger. Before she could act, he yanked the chain from her neck and retreated into the crowd. A wave of commuters carried Dee to street level. With tears in her eyes, she sank to the grimy sidewalk and wept.

“Are you okay?”

Dee looked up to see an impeccably dressed, white-haired man standing over her. He had a delicate ebony walking stick in one hand and a handkerchief in the other. He held the pristine white cloth out to her.

“Thank you”, replied Dee as she wiped the tears from her eyes. “What a way to start a Monday. I was just mugged.”

“This is New York City. It tends to happen, but we can always replace money.” The man spoke with a slight accent that Dee could not place.

“My mother’s locket that they stole can’t be replaced. I need to get it back.”

“Then I shall help you.”

Rising from the concrete, she noted that she towered over the man. “Thanks but I'm just gonna go to the cops.” Dee said as she handed the handkerchief to the gentleman.

“There are dozens of muggings committed in New York every day. The police can’t be bothered. We’ll just help them with this particular crime,” the diminutive man declared with a wink.

“I don’t even know your name.”

“I’m Zenon, but my friends call me Zenni.” The man extended his hand.

Dee took Zenni’s hand. It was cold but refreshing. It reminded her of when, as a child, she pressed her forehead against the car window. “Nice to meet you. I’m Deandra, but I prefer Dee.”

The two strolled down the hectic street. “So, tell me more about yourself, Zenni,” asked Dee. “I hear an accent. Where are you from?”

“The Lower East Side."

"I don't believe you."

Zenni looked astonished. "What makes you say that?"

"You're too nice," declared Dee.

Zenni laughed. "You are very astute. My origins are Greek. I’m a physicist doing research at the McDowell Observatory in New Jersey but staying in the city for the time being.”

“I found the only pleasant person in New York. Lucky me, I guess”, replied Dee.

“And what about you? What is so special about this locket?”

My mom gave it to me when I was an infant. I was little when she died, so I don’t remember much. But the locket was important to her, so it’s important to me.

The two found themselves outside a small diner, common throughout the city. “Why don’t we partake of coffee and see if we cannot sort this out?” asked Zenni.

Moments later, Dee and Zenni sat in a corner booth. Zenni mindlessly stirred a cup of a thick, dark liquid that barely passed for coffee.

“So, tell me what transpired, my friend.”

“I was going up the steps toward 86th Street. Someone came up behind me. I figured he was just going for a feel, y’know, and the next thing I know he yanked the chain from my neck,” ,” replied Dee.

“Did you see them? Can you describe this thief?”

“Male. Bald. Very pale.” Dee paused. This will make me sound crazy but…”

“What is it?” asked Zenni.

“He had glowing green eyes.” Zenni’s mouth dropped open.

“I cannot believe my ears.”

“See. Crazy.”

“No. You, young lady, are very lucky. I’ve only been here a short time but of the one and a half million people in Manhattan, you described someone I know very well.”

“Who is he?,” asked Dee.

“It does not matter, but you will have to trust me,” said Zenni.

“I have so far and that's rare for a New Yorker”, Dee shrugged.

By ian dooley on Unsplash

One expensive taxi ride later, courtesy of Zenni, Dee found herself outside a small storefront on the corner of Division and Pike Streets. Living in New York her entire life she had never stepped foot in this neighborhood and she couldn’t imagine Zenni knowing this neighborhood even existed. A green faux bamboo Asian inspired hip-and-gable portico stood over a vivid red door - the most striking feature of the building, which wasn’t that remarkable considering they were in the heart of Chinatown. If you passed this shop, you doubtlessly would have guessed it was vacant. It would be difficult to convince Dee that it was not condemned.

Zenni confidently approached the storefront and lightly tapped the huge front window with the knob of his walking stick. With a resounding crunch, the plate glass splintered into a million pieces that glittered like stars as they fell.

“What did you do?” asked Dee.

“You wish to find the thief. He’s inside”. Zenni carefully stepped over the broken glass and entered the store.

"Yes, but I wasn't considering committing a felony."

"Do not worry." replied Zenni.

Dee took a hurried glance around and, realizing that no one was watching, she followed Zenni. Once they were inside, Zenni passed his walking stick over the window’s perimeter. In a moment, the glass repaired itself.

“You’re a wizard?”, questioned Dee.

“Alien, actually”, said Zenni with a chuckle. He then pointed to a greenish light radiating from a doorway at the end of a short corridor. Dee followed him down the hall. They entered a modest white-tiled room. It was full of electrical equipment that was not of this world. There were coils of unknown metals and tanks filled with glowing liquids placed indiscriminately around the room.

In the center of the lab, the pale stranger bent over a low metallic countertop. As Dee approached the table, she noticed him using a small metal rod to prod her locket.

“Hey! That’s mine!” she exclaimed as she grasped the locket. The stranger looked up. His eyes glowed like radium glass. He hissed at Dee as she clutched the locket to her chest.

“Tevis!” yelled Zenni. The stranger noticed Zenni for the first time.

“You have located me at last, Zenon,” said Tevis placing his instrument on the table.

“Don’t act so smug. I’ve known your location for several cycles. It was only today that I learned you had what we both seek.”

Dee glanced from Tevis to Zenni. “Okay. I’m gonna need an explanation here.”

Tevis glared at Zenni. “Yes, Zenon. Tell this poor child how you destroyed our homeworld.”

“I’m the first to admit that it was a mistake,” said Zenni. “But your species forced our hand. It was the only solution.”

“No. It was the easy solution! Millions of our species died because of your decision. Females. Little ones. Your solution left the planet a desolate wasteland, the population that remained fighting for scraps to survive,” replied Tevis.

“You must understand. The High Council did not make this decision lightly. We deliberated for many cycles. We concluded starting over was the best choice.”

Dee looked at Zenni in disbelief. “Is he saying you wiped out a planet?”

“Deandra. Listen to me…” pleaded Zenni.

“Women and children?”

“We had a strategy.”

“For mass genocide?”

“To rebuild,” replied Zenni. “Our two species fought for generations for diminishing resources. We wanted control to help distribute them equally to our people. They wanted them to exploit their people for a profit. The outcome of the war was a world in which it was impossible to live harmoniously.”

Dee listened quietly. Her head was swimming. She wasn’t sure what to believe anymore.

“That little piece of jewelry is more significant than you know,” continued Zenni. “Inside that little golden heart is a planetary seed created by our finest scientific minds.

“Seed?”

“Yes. it’s concept too complex for a human mind to grasp.”

“Try me”, barked Dee.

“The straightforward answer is that it contains our world’s DNA and all of our gained knowledge. If we launch it deep enough into space, under the proper conditions we can cultivate a new home. That’s what I’ve been researching. A location in the cosmos in which the planet, and ultimately our people, can grow and thrive. And I discovered it. Now I just lack that locket.”

“Why me?” asked Dee.

“What?”

“Why was I chosen to protect the locket?”

“The same reason your mother was chosen before you - On this planet, in this city, you’re irrelevant. Trivial. What safer place for such critical information, than with someone no one notices.”

“How do you know my mother was insignificant?”

“Who do you think gave her the locket? Now please, may I have it?”

“What? No”, Dee whispered.

“No? Surely you don’t think he deserves it?” said Zenni, pointing at Tevis.

“I don't think either of you deserves it. You killed innocent people. He destroyed the environment. Neither of you is worthy. You’re both monsters.”

In her anger and sadness, Dee clutched the necklace tighter. Slowly, her tightened fist began to glow. The locket grew hot in her grip. When it became too hot, she let it drop to the floor. As it struck the cold white tile floor, the locket shattered. A glowing, greenish purple orb rose from the fragments and floated higher and higher into the air. The three followed the green light as it drifted down the hall and out the front door of the shop, a wavy heat trail ghosting behind it. They watched as it floated, like a child’s balloon, into the bright morning sky until it eventually disappeared from view.

By Tyler Lastovich on Unsplash

Zenni turned to Dee. “I have to confess, Deandra. I was wrong, and you were right. Neither of us were worthy but evidently you were.”

“And you’re no longer trivial. You are a savior of our world,” remarked Tevis.

Dee chuckled. “What happens now?” she asked.

“Now? We wait," replied Zenni.

" And hope," added Tevis.

____________________________________________

If you liked this article, feel free to leave a tip or a heart. You can check out my other stories here

Adventure
11

About the Creator

MATTHEW FLICK

I am a disabled fiction and nonfiction writer currently living in New York. My writing is inspired by my life and the odd people in it. I'm passionate about pop culture, obscure trivia and great writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.