Fiction logo

Dead Ends

Every choice a different universe

By Cal ZamPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2

There must be so many universes where I’m not about to be raped and murdered.

So you’re what, 34? 35?” Monster interrupts my deep thought.

Anyway, you’re still hot,” he whispers into my ear from behind, his breath a tart medley of smokes, cheap whiskey, and…sardines?

If I hadn’t taken the shortcut home. Different universe.

If I’d had coffee after lunch. Who’s hands would be tied up behind this chair?

Monster now stands before me. “Best to die when you can still leave a pretty corpse, right?”

Every day, every instant, small choices send us down one life-path or another. Infinite possibilities. Forks upon forks like roots of a tree. Most paths lead to an decent life, some to glory. Some stop abruptly. Dead ends.

My path led to Jim. To Kayla. To Mr. Meows. I try hard not to cry.

Do you die before the fun, or after?”

If that cancer had killed Pop-pop before he could teach me his trick for nasty knots. Don’t struggle. Twist, back and forth, gently.

During…”

What tragic life-path brought Monster to here, now? To this dead end. The rope slips from my wrists and falls quietly to the floor.

If I hadn’t stopped to buy that fancy new pen. If I’d put it in my purse instead of my pocket. It was for my poetry. New path: it’s for stabbing this fucker in the eye.

Monster leans in. Yes, definitely sardines.

“I’m 39,” I tell him, “and I intend to see 40.”

Horror
2

About the Creator

Cal Zam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work! Fantastic job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.