Fiction logo

Day out

with friends

By Rachel ParisPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Day out
Photo by Duy Pham on Unsplash

It is 9 am and I am laid on my bed listening to power ballads from a broken heart and in a very low mood. I had a partner for 4 years and we had just recently broken up a couple of weeks ago. She was my everything however it needed to end as it was becoming toxic and we became haters. All you do in that is reflected on the best stuff that had to happen in the relationship and what you could have done better.

My friend Becky just texted me: Hey how are you doing, you want to grab coffee?

I then replied yes defo?

I needed to get out as I have just been very low-key with social interaction with all my friends and family. I have just moved back home into my mum's which is strange within itself however it will be good for me. I just needed to be with family but I am very distant at the moment and I need to pick myself back up very soon.

I then roll out of bed and get ready to go for coffee with Becky. Becky is one of my closest friends I have known her since primary school and we have had good times on our nights out. Becky was tall with brown hair and blue eyes and she was opposite to me but we get on, well they do say opposite do attract. I was going to meet Becky at 1 pm so in a few hours and it was time to get in the shower and put on something casual. I have my hair short so what I do I dry it a little then style in and put well on it. I can’t remember when I last had worn makeup but yet I haven’t had to be bothered to put any on since the breakup.

So here I am and I am finally ready and time to get the bus into town. The number 20 which is fairly regular, it takes at least 20 minutes to get into town. Where we are going to meet is a café called the steel café and it does the best cream scone and even homemade too. It is god price too. I get off the bus and walk down to the café. Becky was there standing by the doorway and she had a very nice red top and black jeans and boots. She looked pretty. I and her greeted each other with her hug and a peck on the cheek.

Table 38 this is the best spot, has a good view and is close enough for the toilet as I go too often. I had ordered a latte and a 3 cheese toastie and Becky had ordered a pot of tea with a scone, cream, and Jam. I do normally order the scone however I didn’t fancy it today.

“So how have you been? Becky asked

“ errm can I lie?” I replied

She gave me a big hug and she was telling me it will better and at that moment I felt very supported and loved. I guess it does take time after a breakup and to get to know yourself better as when you are in a relationship we both become one of the same people, well I and she did.

We finished our drinks and food, we paid the bill, and off we went. Becky suggested for us to go into a pub she had kindly twisted my arm. I agreed to only one however only one equals to 6 or more and having a takeaway late at night.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.