Fiction logo

Daughter Of The Shark King

When you find out your mother has been keeping a secret, and your entire life is a lie!

By Julianne McKennaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 11 min read
39
Daughter Of The Shark King
Photo by Jared Subia on Unsplash

Here I was thinking I was a mere mortal, no one special, just another human trying to make sense of the world around them. For sixteen years I have lived in a small town by the ocean, spending my weekdays going to school, and my weekends working at the Oceanic Rescue Aquarium. Any spare time I have is spent on or in the ocean, surfing the waves, sailing my catamaran, or exploring tidal pools and secret underwater caves.

Until today, my life has been fairly predictable and routine for a teenager. My career plan was to graduate high school at the end of the year, then head off to university to study marine biology. The ocean and its creatures have forever fascinated me, and I planned to spend the rest of my life exploring its deep depths.

For as long as I can remember, I have had an affinity with the animals of the ocean, from the tiny little crabs in their shells to the octopi who live in the crevices of the rock formations, through to the sharks who glide slowly along the edge of the kelp beds, searching for their next meal. Never once, while in the ocean have I felt like my life was in danger. I always felt at peace and at home, in a world hidden below the depths of the ocean.

But I digress! I’m sure you all want to know what happened, to turn my world upside down? Firstly, for those of you who don't know me, let me introduce myself. I am Cordelia, Princess of the Sharks, and a daughter of the ocean. Only I didn't know this before today, my sixteenth birthday. Today I found out that I wasn’t human, but instead born a water baby, gifted with hidden powers that can only come from the result of the union between a human mother and the king of sharks, Palaemon. Now I’m guessing, you are wondering how I found this out?

The large, white envelope was lying beside my pillow when I awoke this morning. How it got there is still unknown. My mother denied any knowledge about the envelope, and claimed she had not entered my room while I was sleeping. Not a great start to my sixteenth birthday, knowing some unknown person had entered, not just our house, but my room, while I was sleeping. To say I was a little freaked out was an understatement. I was even more freaked out once I opened the envelope, read the letter, and saw the airline ticket that had been included.

My mother had some major explaining to do! She has always told me that she met my father while on a holiday, and I was an unexpected but welcome surprise, upon her return home. She told me that she didn't have his details, didn't know where he lived and that she has never seen him again. This was a complete and utter lie! How could she do this to me? How could she hide all this from me and not tell me the truth?

Feeling shaken, confused and overwhelmed, my mother made me a cup of tea and sat me down at the kitchen table. Holding my hand in hers, she softly said," I have a tale to tell you Cordelia, and while I know you may find it hard to believe, it is the truth. Please, let me start at the beginning..."

Sophia knew very little about boats, but the water was still, and how hard could rowing really be? She was enjoying her holiday in the South Pacific and was feeling adventurous, so she had hired a small boat for the afternoon. She planned to explore some of the out-crops of the island, and maybe find a secluded beach on which to have an afternoon stroll and enjoy the sunshine. But fate had other plans.

Not being a sailor, she hadn't realised she should be wearing closed in shoes, not open sandals. This became very apparent when she went to stand up and the sandal caught on a slightly raised nail, causing her to lose her balance. The resulting blow to the back of the head, as she hit the wooden seat, left her unconscious and drifting at sea.

It was late afternoon when Sophia was startled awake. Something had hit the boat with a "thunk". Her head was pounding, her skin felt hot, and her stomach was unsettled. Looking around she tried not to panic, but she had no idea how long or how far she had drifted. Looking over her shoulder she saw a small island surrounded by a sparkling white beach. It looked deserted of civilization, with no houses, no jetty, no cars and no people. But at least it was land. Rowing slowly as to not rock her head and make the pain worse, she headed towards the island.

Slowly crawling out of the boat, being extra careful not to trip again, her feet landed on the soft, warm sand. Looking around she realised the island was not as deserted as she had first thought. There was a pathway leading through the trees, towards the centre of the island. With no other obvious choices, she decided to follow the path to where ever it may lead.

Walking into a clearing, she found a young man sitting beside a waterfall, and what looked like a banquet set up before him. Rising from his seat, he walked towards Sophia, holding out his hands in welcome. His skin shone bronzed and muscular, his dark hair hanging below his shoulders, and his grey eyes shone with the fierceness of a warrior. In Sophia's eyes, he was the most mesmerising, striking and breath-taking man she had ever seen.

"Hello Sophia, I have been waiting for you. My name is Palaemon, and welcome to my island. Please come and join me, and refresh yourself with food and drink," he said in a deep, soothing, melodic voice.

"How do you know my name?" Sophia asked him.

"This is my kingdom. I know everyone, and I know many things. Nothing goes unnoticed by me," he replied with a grin. "Now, please come join me?".

Sophia obliged. What other choice did she have? She was stuck on an unknown island with the most charismatic and handsome man she had ever met. At one point she contemplated that she was still unconscious and dreaming. But when he took her hand in his, it was strong and warm, and very much real. And when he kissed her later that night, after an afternoon of eating, drinking and talking, he tasted of salt and sweat, and all things masculine.

The next morning, after the most amazing and intense night of carnal pleasure, Sophia was certain she was not dreaming and would need to find her way home. There was probably a search party out looking for her right now. Explaining her fears to Palaemon, she asked for his help to return to her island. He nodded, and said, "My children will guide you home. Trust them, and do not be afraid of them. They will do you no harm".

Sophia climbed into her boat, and Palaemon, walking beside the boat, guided it out into deeper water. Suddenly, there was some splashing, and two dorsal fins appeared beside him. Sophia nearly cried out in alarm when she saw the sharks circling her boat, but Palaemon stopped her, saying quietly, "Hello, my children! Please help Sophia and see that she returns to her island safely. Sophia, just follow them and they will lead you back to where you came from". He leant in towards her, gave her one last kiss, then pulled away and headed back to the beach.

Sophia began to row, following the sharks as they glided out to sea. It was slow going, but by late morning she could see her island in the distance. She picked up her rowing speed as the dorsals disappeared below the surface. After much thought, she had decided that maybe this was a story not meant to be shared. Instead, she would just claim that she'd been lost on a small island outcrop when darkness had descended but had been able to row back to the island the next morning. No one would believe the real story anyway.

Sophia's returned to her life as a teacher in the tiny town of Hughensville, never telling another soul of her adventures, even after she found out she was bearing Palaemon's child and was to become a mother. Some things were better, and safer, left unsaid. Without saying otherwise, she let the town, and her daughter, believe she had fallen pregnant with a holiday fling.

With this newfound knowledge and a lot of hesitation, I boarded the plane to the South Pacific islands. My father, Palaemon, the King of Sharks, had summoned me, and since my curiosity was stronger than my fear, I agreed to go meet him. Watching the land recede beneath the plane, I wondered if I was making the right decision? What if I didn’t meet his expectations? What if my supposed powers were just another lie and I was just a normal mortal teenager? Would he be disappointed in me?

All these questions left me anxious and unsettled, as the plane dipped towards its descent. Nothing could have prepared me for what I would find when I reached my destination.

My first glimpse of my father broke my heart. He was old, and he was dying. Lying on his bed, he motioned me towards him. With a raspy, thin voice, he spoke, “Cordelia, my daughter, thank you for honouring this old man’s dying wish. I needed to see you before my time here was done. There is much that you need to see and learn, but I know my sister Lydia will help you with that. What is most important is that you take this bracelet, and wear it at all times. It will protect you and strengthen your powers. Never take it off. Do you understand?”

Nodding my head, I reached out my hand, taking the bracelet. It was heavy and held a brilliant, green stone at its centre. The bands were heavily engraved with creatures from the ocean. I wrapped it around my wrist and clicked the clasp into place. Without warning, the stone began to glow, giving off a vibrant green light, and that’s when the voices began. I started in fear, terrified that I was suddenly losing my mind.

“Don’t be scared,” my father said looking at my panicked face. “What you hear is the ocean talking to you. You are now their guardian and protector. Do not fail them, for they depend on you for their continued safety and survival”. He closed his eyes, breathing shallowly. “Please go and make yourself at home. I am tired. I must rest.” Those were the last words my father ever said to me. By morning, he had died, and his spirit had passed.

As my father was laid to rest, the people of the village sang songs about my father’s heroic adventures, with the sharks that he so loved. My aunt came and stood beside me as I was saying my last farewell.

“You should not be here. You are not one of us. That bracelet should have been given to me. You are a stranger to the sharks and they will never accept you, even if you are his daughter!” she spat at me.

So here I am, just turned sixteen, suddenly crowned the Queen of Sharks, and sitting on an unknown island in the middle of the South Pacific. Instead of finding the father I had envisioned, handsome and virile, I found an old man on his death bed, a village in mourning, and an aunt who despises me.

I guess you could say my family reunion went swimmingly! And I do believe that being a normal, mortal teenager is totally under-rated!

*****************************************

Thank you for taking the time to read my story. This little action by you is greatly appreciated by me. If you enjoyed what I have written, please make sure to click on the heart button, and leave some love... and please feel free to share with others (if you enjoyed my story they might too), this is a wonderful (and free) way to show support for me. If you are truly impressed with my writing, tips are also most welcome (but are completely optional and not expected). :)

Contact Information:

Twitter: @JulesMcKenna13

Instagram: @theblingprincess

Facebook: Julianne McKenna

Short Story
39

About the Creator

Julianne McKenna

I write because my heart tells me to, I read because I love stories that make my eclectic soul happy. I'm an artist, scrapbooker, book nerd, animal lover, traveller and free spirit. Twitter: @JulesMcKenna13 Instagram: @theblingprincess

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.