Fiction logo

Dark shadows on the hospital toilet

It is the most vivid memory I have so far. It can achieve the feeling of memory palace. Every memory feels like I am still standing in the toilet.

By Eamonn DaviesPublished 2 years ago 4 min read

In my mind, I was in the third grade of primary school. At that time, I was naughty. I did not write the homework assigned by the teacher and thought about playing at home all day.

Because my parents set up shop very busy, I am also lax in discipline, with my wild, so I grew up brave also strong.

My father's long-term overtime work and irregular diet led to his sudden abdominal pain that day, and my mother panicked. In the evening, she closed the shop early and said that she would take my father to the hospital for examination, and worried that I was alone at home, so she took me with her. I was not sensible at that time, very happy, because there was a reason not to write homework.

When I got to the hospital, it was already eight or nine o 'clock when I got to the registration line. I didn't know whether I was sensitive to the environment or what. I always felt that although the lights were on in the hospital, it was darker than the sky outside the window, like a layer of gauze, and it was a little hard to breathe.

In my recollection, I felt like I was in a mine in the hospital. The hallway lights and the doctors' shadowless lights were like those on the miners' heads. They could only illuminate a small area, while the rest of the place was dark and depressing.

I held my mother's hand the whole time waiting for my father's test result. Fortunately, there was nothing serious, just a little stone. The doctor said on the spot that lithotriptic surgery was needed, which is a kind of electromagnetic surgery, and he walked on my father's stomach with an instrument, and it was over.

It was nearly eleven o 'clock after an operation, and except for the doctors and nurses on duty, most of them were already off duty, and there was no one in the corridor.

My dad for a few hours of surgery, leg is a little weak with my mother said that he wanted to go to the toilet, then no hospital formalities, have been ready to go, the hospital is not able to separate the toilet, can only go to public toilets in the hall, while in the middle of the night, but in the lobby or long-so large figure, because some people, my father felt a little embarrassed, let my mother waiting outside, Let me hold him, so I helped my dad to the bathroom.

Hospital lobby toilet is very spacious, rectangle, both the urinals, there are five most squat toilet, the door is closed, my dad urgency, just found a doorway toilets to urinate, while solution can also hear the sound of the sand fell, I looked down beside listen, all of a sudden to react or a few hours I didn't go to the toilet, urinate a flooded in, my dad to urinate out going and I said, Dad, I have to pee. Wait for me. I can't remember what my dad said, but he felt relieved and went out, leaving me alone in the bathroom.

I also didn't want to so much, loose trousers began to urinate, just began, squatting CeShang the light will flash once, I subconsciously looked at the lamp, there moment he froze, beside the lamp, which is on the top of the squat toilet, fu with a figure, I was fine jing Fried, although still urinate, but has not urinate feeling, only feel standing, Arms and face of hemp, not controlled by his own feet, I stared at the shadow, shadow is staring at me, I can't see the shadow of the eyes and face, can only see a mass of moving fog, see figure, is a middle-aged men, in lizards posture v, because on the squat toilet is empty, limbs respectively on the wood.

When I have no consciousness, I finished to urinate, I don't every time I urinate end of whole body shaking, it shake shake me awake, I wear the pants is good, and at that time did not think about to run out, newborn calves are not afraid of a tiger, I lay on the shadow, gazing at him, with his head up, want to see more careful.

Exception occurs at this time, I don't like just saw a figure of black fog, but see more clearly, the black fog dispersal, the body of the whole person, costumes, are apparent, my memory, the upper part of the body is to wear, fasten the clasp camouflage shirt, and brown jeans, wearing site in the green rubber shoes, in the impression I was saw a face, But I can't remember what it looks like for the life of me now.

After seeing clearly, maybe when I was a child, I thought it was a strange uncle who climbed the toilet, or the staff who repaired the bulb pipes. All of a sudden, I became bold and shouted directly at the man, who are you?

Toilet is confined space, performance and penetrability, is in the toilet buzzing sound, that people still do not response, just staring at me, stare me and a little hair, behind a chill, backward and out of the toilet, and run like mad to their parents, when running feels the shadow behind you, real brooding.

When I got home that night, I was under the pressure of a ghost and was out of breath, so that NOW I always used to look at the top of the toilet, courage is not so big.

This event is also the most profound and vivid in my memory so far, which can achieve the feeling of memory palace. Every time I recall, I feel that I am still standing in the toilet.

Short Story

About the Creator

Eamonn Davies

An avid lover of stories about ghosts and legends, I love the thrill of having my bones tingle! I hope you enjoy my story.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eamonn DaviesWritten by Eamonn Davies

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.