Fiction logo

Dark Dig Part two

Modern Drama and Ancient Gods

By Bruce J. SpohnPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
1
Part Two of series

Family

As they returned to the land rover, Carol reminded Marcus of his promise to introduce her to the family. He held the door open until she was seated then he snapped to attention and said, “Yes Ma’am, at your service. Next stop the family”.

Retracing the path taken earlier they were soon out on the highway. Carol was pleased they accomplished everything. She turned up the volume on the radio and sat back to enjoy the soft sounds of easy listening jazz. She wanted to be relaxed and mentally prepared to meet Marcus’ family.

The single, well-worn street through the old fishing village ended abruptly in front of a huge iron gate. Marcus keyed the pass code into the security system and the gate slowly swung open. A long curving driveway led up a gentle slope ending in a wide circular parking area.

The parking area was flanked by an elegant mansion. The ancient white washed walls glistened in the late afternoon sun. A wide stairway of terracotta tile bridged the gap between the parking area and a sweeping veranda that spanned the width of the main building. Carol sat, silently drinking in the splendor of the area. She remained speechless for a long time.

“Wow, so, this is the family shack. Now it is easy to see why you prefer to live here. I’m Sure Athens has nothing to compare to this place,” Carol sighed as Marcus pulled up next to a shiny, new, slate gray BMW.

Before Marcus replied, he hopped out and rushed to open Carol’s door.

“Yes, this is home. Well, I see Jason is home. Jason and Eleanor, together with their daughter Sofronia live here now. I’m out and about most of the time. I do have my own separate living quarters for those rare occasions when I happen to be in town. You might wonder why I did not have you stay here when you first arrived. I wanted to, but when I called Fronia she told me Jason and Eleanor were both out on the yacht. She was the one who suggested the family hotel. I called ahead and arranged to have your luggage move from the hotel to my quarters,” Marcus explained.

“Oh, I was wondering why you were talking Greek during the phone call you made just before we left this morning. I must say it was a great idea. I think I could get used to living in the lap of luxury. Well, are you going to lead the way?” Carol goaded.

Together they marched up the long flight of stairs. At the top, Carol paused a moment to savor the breathtaking view of the harbor from the veranda. She stood spellbound gazing at the beauty before her. Impatiently, Marcus jerked her hand and pulled her to the entrance. After he punched the security code in the massive door swung open.

Carol cautiously stepped into the cool darkness of the entrance hall. The heavy door slammed shut behind them with a thunderous thud cutting off the hot exterior air from the cool interior. Light pouring in through stained glass panels, flanking the massive door, gave the entrance an atmosphere reminiscent of a cathedral.

To Carol, it was like she just stepped on to the set of a soap opera. This looked just like all the stereotype mansion used in “made for TV daytime dramas”.

“Be it ever so humble, there’s no place like home,” crooned Marcus.

Just as Marcus concluded his silly serenade a tall, well-dressed man rushed into the entranceway with his arms spread wide.

“Marcus you old sand flee. I’m so happy you decided to drop in for a visit,” he exclaimed while grabbing Marcus by the shoulders and kissing him on both cheeks, “So this is the elusive Carol Dunmore,” he observed.

“Jason, it is always a great pleasure to return home to make sure you have not run off with the treasure. Yes, let me properly introduce you to Carol. She has agreed to work on the dig as my assistant for free! Well, maybe she thinks archeology is profitable. You know how gullible and naive Americans are. Is Ellen home? I’m sure she will want to give Carol the third degree,” Marcus quipped.

Carol held her hand out as a greeting. She was surprised when Jason grabbed her by the shoulders and kissed both cheeks in a typical European family style greeting.

“I’m very happy I finally get to meet you. Come this way, Marcus is correct, Ellen is dying to meet you,” Jason said as he led them deeper into the house.

Carol took note of a large number of oil paintings adorning the hallway. They entered what must be the study. Setting under an ornate leaded window was a large table with a reading lamp as a centerpiece. The table seemed to dominate most of the right side of the room. The other three walls were covered with floor to ceiling bookshelves. A woman sat with her back to the wall. Both of her hands rested on an oversized, leather-bound book.

“Ellen, look we have company.” Jason proclaimed.

“Oh yes, the gods promised me I would meet you soon,” Ellen said and stood to give the new arrival a kiss on both cheeks in a family greeting.

“I’m so happy to finally meet everyone. Fronia made me feel welcome from the moment we first met. Marcus never talks much about his family, so I have been getting details bit by bit,” Carol replied after kissing both of Ellen’s cheeks.

“You guys go fetch some wine while Carol and I get better acquainted,” Ellen told the men.

Ellen reached behind her to retrieve an ebony walking stick. Carol noted the cane’s handle looked like a gold owl perched atop the stick poised to take flight. Ellen grasped the owl and rested her weight on the owl’s back, with her thumb and index finger clutching the neck, before she signaled Carol to follow her to a cluster of chairs.

“Come, sit down and tell me all about yourself,” Ellen invited.

“Thank you. There really isn’t very much to tell. I’m just a young girl from a small town. I’m just getting started in life and so far, I have only experienced the drama of a small Midwestern town. So, this is my first real adventure. I must confess. All my life I have felt a burning desire to explore the mysteries lurking on the other side of the city limit sign,” Carol responded.

“Yes, I have been told about your calling. The GODs keep me informed of events and warn me of danger or guide me to fortune. Marcus probably did not tell you of my special relationship with the ancient Gods. I’m sure you noticed my cane. It is a daily reminder of what happens when you do not listen to the warnings. Maybe Marcus told you about the accident I had when I was a teenager. I fell overboard and nearly died, but Poseidon sent a dolphin to rescue me. He left me with a bad leg to remind me I must never ignore the gods. In the garden you will find two barn owls. I named them Athena and Apollo. The Gods must have sent them. They remain here of their own freewill, as they are not tethered or in cages. I must admit I do feel a very special bond with them,” Ellen revealed.

“Marcus did mention your accident and how you have become a devout follower of the ancient cultures and their GODS. But, he did not give any details. I think he wanted you to explain as only you know exactly what you have experienced,” Carol acknowledged.

“I see. Well, at least he did not try to poison your brain with all of his science. He has always been skeptical of my abilities to communicate with the ancient Gods. At least he uses his education and ‘SCIENCE’ to help unearth the treasures of the past. Maybe in his search, he will find the link between his world and mine, “Ellen sighed.

“I gathered Marcus thinks you are wasting your talent pursuing ghosts. I have to confess I think I’m more in your camp on this issue. As far back as I can remember I have had feelings I can’t explain. I’m sure this unknown presence within me is what compelled me to volunteer to work with Marcus on this dig,” commented Carol leaning forward to look directly into Ellen’s eyes.

Carol peered deep into Ellen’s eyes. Like Marcus, Ellen’s soul was buried beneath levels of protective defensive barriers. She knew this was evidence that she had been hurt many times in the past by being too eager to share her innermost feelings.

Carol listened carefully as Ellen continued to explain how, as a young girl, she heard the Gods speak to her in her dreams. Carol could see in Ellen’s spirit she spoke the truth. Then suddenly, Carol felt Ellen’s penetrating gaze. Carol was unable to stave off the power of Ellen’s eyes as their gaze slipped past all of her strongest defenses.

At that moment she knew a bond was formed, but somehow it did not feel new. It was as if two old friends met on a bus that had not seen each other for a long time. They already knew each other and only had to catch up on the latest developments. Carol felt sure Ellen was aware of this strange bond also. Yes, many thoughts and deeper meanings were shared but on a level beyond the norm.

The women’s soaring spirits were jerked back to the confines of the study when the loud blustering voices of Jason and Marcus preceded their arrival. They both had a bottle of local wine in their hands and two glasses. Marcus pulled the cork out of the dusty bottle he cradled in his hand and filled all four glasses. Jason sat his bottle on the table as a backup to tide them over a prolonged exchange of the latest news.

After proposing a toast to good fortune and better health, Marcus sat next to Carol and said, “you two seem to be getting along splendidly. Maybe Jason and I should adjourn to the terrace and enjoy the early evening while we light up a pipe. Ellen does not mind us smoking, but I’m not sure about your feelings on the subject”.

“I don’t mind you smoking. In fact, it sort of belongs to the stereotype of Dr. of Archeology I would like to spend more time alone with Ellen though.” Carol intoned and reached out to touch Ellen on the back of her hand. “We have been having such a terrific conversation. I want to learn all about the family skeletons.” Carol confided.

Marcus moved to a chair next to Jason and soon the rich fragrance of expensive pipe tobacco permeated the air. Ellen and Carol drew their chairs closer together as they eagerly exchanged details of events.

Carol was amazed at how she felt as if she knew Ellen all her life. As the two women shared their tales Carol sensed the atmosphere becoming charged.

“Ellen, do you feel the electricity in the air? This is exactly how it felt during the storm the other night,” Carol inquired.

“Oh my, yes, the storm! The Gods were very active that night. They told me about your arrival and were excited about the future. Yes, the Gods are with us now. They are trying to tell us their story. You see the Gods are powerful, but they do not have total power. They can affect all the elements of nature; the wind, water, lightning, fire, and earth, etc., but they have no grip on the human soul. So, they have channels like me that they work through and I think you are one too,” Ellen explained.

“Wow! I can really feel something in the air. I know the night of the storm I think I had a strange ‘out of body’ experience. It was like I had a balcony seat at the theater. I was looking down at the performers going through their rehearsed movements and discovered I was playing the lead role. At the time I did hear some mumblings but could not tell if the words came from the actors on the stage or from some other source. So, is that what you mean when you say the Gods speak to you? Can you understand them?” Carol queried.

Before Ellen could respond Jason stepped forward with a fresh bottle of wine. He made a snarky remark about how it is easier to understand the GHOST TALK when you have more wine.

“Oh Jason, just because you ignore the Gods does not mean they don’t exist. Sometimes I think you and Marcus are in some sort of conspiracy to bury the past under a pile of contemporary dung. Don’t pay any attention to those two. They really have no idea of what is really going on. The Gods have many ways to communicate. In time you will learn to listen and then you will understand their message,” Ellen countered.

“Ellen, we have so much in common. I’m really happy we have a chance to share the things others scoff at. Marcus tends to focus on the science and ignore the possibility there might be other unknown forces at play. I try to keep an open mind and use science as far as it can go. Then I try to observe things around me to seek answers where science falters. Marcus tells me science falters because we do not know or completely understand all the laws of the natural universe,” Carol injected.

“Well do we need to wait until one of your Gods serves dinner? I’m starving! Haven’t had anything since breakfast,” quipped Marcus.

Ellen laughed at her brother’s joke and said, “well follow me if you have forgotten where the kitchen is.”

Ellen grabbed her walking stick and led the party to the spacious kitchen/dining area. The kitchen aids were busy putting the finishing touches on a platter of fish fresh from the morning's catch. Large bowls of fish and trays of cheese were being carried to the dining table.

Marcus could not resist the temptation to pluck a small fish from the plate as he walked by. Ellen slapped him on the hand and scolded him, “That might be the way you act out in the wild, but please try to remember you are back in civilization now!”

In mock remorse, Marcus followed her to the table. Once everyone was seated wine was served and plates were filled with copious offerings of delicious food

Love
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.