Fiction logo

Dancing in the Snow

She will always be Daddy's little girl

By Sarah DanaherPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Dancing in the Snow
Photo by Jeremy McKnight on Unsplash

I felt the crunch of crisp snow under my feet in the fresh layers. Shoveling was my chore as I headed out with my shovel on this wintery day. Little crunches were behind me, and who did I see? My little girl bundled up, jumping in my footsteps and laughing. Her tiny boot prints are in mine.

“I wanted to dance in the snow, Daddy, “her high-pitched voice squeaked.

I could just look at her as I shoveled in all her happiness. She smiled, and I even joined after the sidewalk was done. She even tried to help with the driveway. She pushed as hard as she could, and yet she went nowhere. I danced some more till she grew cold.

With tears in her eyes, I picked her up and brought her inside to her mother. She was such a blessing, and I was her hero. She has always held my heart with eyes that never doubted me. I often reflected on those days when she was so small.

“Dad, the wedding march is starting, and we need to go,” a gentle nudge from my now grown daughter.

Like the snow that day, I walked her down in the purest white dress. She was not so little anymore, yet I was giving her away to another man. He was her new hero, but I was still her old hero. She was still my little girl, no matter what. I would have one more dance with her, my little girl.

Lovefamily
1

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey3 months ago

    Very touching story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.