Fiction logo

Dancing in Sunbeams

a micro fiction

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
6
Dancing in Sunbeams
Photo by Pavol Svantner on Unsplash

You called them angels, but I felt their weight as an avalanche burying my last breath. They froze me in their coverings, and as I stood, I watched you dance between. We were unreachable to each other in that moment. Your words trilled in the alleyway, “It’s like church in the street!” and my groans of pain sunk below your energy. How could such suspension polarize us like this? You leapt every minute or so until you caught a handle and I hunched over the prodding cobblestones. It was the last moment I saw you before they caught you up.

    

    

        

* * *

Thank you for reading! This is part of a micro fiction series where I take a photo and write a story inspired by it. Each story is 100 words.

If you enjoyed, you might like this one:

Microfiction
6

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Another clever little microfiction from Ms Davis. Love it. I like all the ambiguity you create with your perfectly chosen words! Well done on this one!

  • I think I interpreted this story darker than you intended it to be, lol 😅

  • Mesh Toraskar12 months ago

    Mackenzie, I am such a fan of yours now!

  • Andrei Z.12 months ago

    He's such a Mary Poppins! I love the imagery you created here!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.