Fiction logo

Dad's flowers have fallen

Dad's flowers have fallen

By deborah brinsonPublished 11 months ago 11 min read
1

The new auditorium was full of people. We graduates sat in the first eight rows, and I sat in the middle seat in the first row. There was a pink phlox on my lapel, which my mother had picked from the yard and pinned on me when I arrived. She said, "Your dad planted the oleander. Wear it like he did when he saw you on stage!"

Father is ill. He is in hospital and can't come.

Yesterday I went to see Dad. His throat was swollen and his voice was hoarse. I told Dad that at the graduation ceremony, I would receive the diploma on behalf of all my classmates and give a speech of thanks. I asked Dad, Can you get up and go to my graduation? Six years ago, when he attended the farewell party of our school, he asked me to work hard. Six years later, he also received the graduation certificate and speech of thanks on behalf of my classmates. Today, "six years later," I've actually been chosen to do it.

Dad hoarse voice, took my hand smiled and said: "How can I go?"

But I said: "Dad, you don't go, I am very afraid, you are under the stage, I come to talk will not panic."

Dad said: "Yingzi ah, don't be afraid, no matter what difficult things, as long as the scalp to do, through."

"So Dad can get out of bed and go to our school?"

Dad looked at me, shook his head and stopped talking. He turned his face to the wall, raised his hand, and looked at the nails. Then, turning to me again, he said:

"Get up early tomorrow, get ready and go to school. It's your last day in primary school. Don't be late!"

"I know, Dad."

'Without a father, you'll have to manage yourself, and your brothers and sisters. You're old enough, aren't you?'

"Yes."

Although I agreed, I felt uncomfortable with what my father said. Since that time six years ago, I have never been late again.

When I was in first grade, I had the problem of staying in bed in the morning. Every morning when I woke up and saw the sun shining on the window, I was worried that it would be so late that if I waited to wash my face, braid my hair, change my uniform, and go to school, I would be forced to stand by the door once again. The eyes of the students will come to you one by one. Although I am very lazy, but also know shy ah! So sad and afraid, every day is with the mood of fear, to go to school. The worst part is that Dad doesn't allow kids to ride to school. He doesn't care if you're late. One day, it rained heavily, I woke up and knew it was late, because my father was already eating breakfast. I listened and watched the rain, and my heart was filled with sorrow. Not only would I be late for school, but my mother would dress me up in a fat padded jacket (in summer!). ", and kicked drag not fit oil shoes, holding a large oil paper umbrella, go to school! Thinking of going to school so uncomfortable, I had the courage to stay in bed. Wait a minute. Mom's coming in. She was startled to see that I had not got up yet, and urged me, but I frowned and begged my mother in a low voice:

"Mom, it's late today, so I'm not going to school?

Mom just can't do what Dad wants, and when she turns around and goes out, Dad comes in. He stood tall and thin in front of the bed, glaring at me. "Why don't you get up? Get up! Get up!"

"Too late! Pa!" I said stiffly.

"You have to go late. How can you play truant? Get up!"

A one word command is the most terrible, but what's wrong with me! Having the courage to stay put.

Dad was so angry that he pulled me out of bed and my tears began to flow. Dad looked left and right, but he picked up the feather duster from the table and turned it upside down. When he swung the cane whip in the air, he hissed and I was beaten! Dad beat me from the head of the bed to the corner of the bed, from the bed to the bed under the bed, the rain outside mixed with my cries. I cried, hid, and finally went to school in the rain. I was a mess of a puppy, was carried by the Song mother on the car - the first time to pay to go to school.

I sat in the car with the awning down, sobbing and lifting up my trousers to check my bruises. The stripes of the whip were red and hot. I pulled my pants down to cover the bottom of a scar, I am most afraid of being laughed at by my classmates.

Although late, but the teacher did not punish me, this is because the rainy day can be forgiven.

The teacher taught us to be silent before we read. Sit up straight, put your hands behind your back, close your eyes and think quietly for five minutes. The teacher said: Think about it, do you listen to parents and teachers? Did you do your homework yesterday? Did you bring all your homework for today? Did you say a polite goodbye to your parents this morning? ... My nose twitched when I heard this, but fortunately my eyes were closed so that my tears would not flow.

In the silence, I was tapped on the shoulder and hastily opened my eyes. It was the teacher standing by my seat. He told me with his eyes, told me to look out of the classroom window, I suddenly turned his head to look, it is Dad that tall and thin shadow!

My heart, which had just quieted, was frightened again! Why is Dad chasing you to school? Dad nodded me out. I looked at the teacher and asked for his approval, and the teacher smiled and nodded, agreeing to go out. I walked out of the classroom and stood in front of Dad. Dad didn't say anything. He opened the bundle in his hand and took out my flower-covered jacket. He handed it to me, watched me put it on, and brought out two coppers for me.

What happened next, I don't remember, because it was six years ago. I only remember that every morning since then, to this day, I have been one of the students waiting for the schoolmaster to open the iron gate. Standing in front of the school on a winter morning, wearing gloves with five fingers exposed, eating a hot roasted sweet potato. On a summer morning, I stood in front of the school gate holding the hosta flower I picked from the flower pool and gave it to my dear teacher Han.

Ah! Such a morning, year after year, today is my last day in this school! Dang dang, the bell is ringing, and the graduation ceremony is about to begin. Look outside the day, a little overcast, I suddenly thought, dad will suddenly get up from the bed, sent me flowers lined jacket? Then I thought, when will my father get well? Why are Mom's eyes red and swollen this morning? Courtyard basin of pomegranate and phlox this year dad did not give hemp slag, he was killed for uncle Japanese, so anxious to vomit blood. To May Day, pomegranate flowers did not open so red, so big. If autumn comes, will Dad buy so many chrysanthemums to fill our yard, under the veranda and on the flower stands in the living room?

How Dad loved flowers.

Every day when he came home from work, we would wait for him at the door. He would push his straw hat behind his head and pick up his brother. He would walk past the tap, pick up the watering can full of water, and come singing into the backyard. The first thing he does when he comes home is to water the flowers. When the sun was about to go down and the cool wind was blowing in the yard, Dad picked a jasmine and stuck it in the hair of the skinny chicken sister. The Chens' uncle said to his father, "Lao Lin, you like flowers so much that your wife has given birth to a lot of daughters!" I have four sisters and only two brothers. I'm only twelve... Why do I keep thinking about this? Director Han has come on stage, and he said very seriously:

"All the students have graduated, will leave the primary school for six years to go to middle school to study, do middle school students are not children, when you come back to the primary school to see the teacher, I must be happy to see you are tall, grow up..."

So I sang the song for five years, now it is the students' turn to sing us farewell:

"Outside the pavilion, by the side of the ancient road, the grass is green. Ask you when to come, come don't wander! The end of the day, the corner of the earth, the half of the friendship, life is rare to be together, but the separation of more..."

I cried. We graduates all cried. How much we like to grow tall into adults, we are so afraid of it! When we come back to primary school, no matter how tall and big we grow, teacher! You will always treat me like a child!

Be an adult. I get asked to be an adult all the time.

When Ma Song came back to her hometown, she said, "Yingzi, you are too old to quarrel with your brother! He's young."

As she followed the four-eyed dog into the carriage, Aunt LAN said, "Yingzi, you are too old to make your mother angry!"

The man squatting in the grass said:

"When you graduate from primary school and grow up, we will go to see the sea."

Although, these people as I grew up without shadow. Did I lose it with my lost childhood?

My dad stopped treating me like a child. He said,

"Yingko, go and send this money to Uncle Chen who is studying in Japan."

'Father!

"Don't be afraid, Yingko. You must learn to do many things so that you can help your mother in the future. You are the oldest."

So he counted out the money and told me how to go to the Zhengjin Bank on Dongjiomin Lane and send the money to the inmost counter and ask for a remittance slip. Write down the "Jin Qishiyuan", write down the address in Yokohama, Japan, and give it to the little Japanese at the counter! I was afraid, but I had to go. This is what dad said, no matter what difficult things, as long as the scalp to do, through.

"Go for it, go for it, Yingko." My father told me so when I arrived.

Feeling nervous, I went to the bank with a roll of bills in my hand. Wait until from the high step of the gold bank, looking at the street in the East Jiaomin street flower beds full of dandelions, I thought happily: rushed over, go home quickly, tell dad, and want him to plant dandelions in the flower pool tomorrow.

Go home! Go home! Holding the primary school diploma just issued down with a red ribbon tied to the white paper tube, urging myself, I seem to be afraid of catching up with something like, why?

Into the house, quietly, four sisters and two brothers are sitting in the yard on the small bench, they are playing with sand, next to the oleander do not know when to hang down several branches, scattered landing is not decent, because dad did not pick up their pruning, tying and fertilization this year. Pomegranate tree under the big basin also have a few seeds did not grow into a small pomegranate, I was very angry, asked my sisters:

"Who picked Father's pomegranate? I'll tell Papa! '

The sisters opened their eyes in surprise, shook their heads and said, "They fell by themselves."

I picked up the little green pomegranate. Old Gao, the cook who was missing a finger, came in from outside and said:

"Big miss, don't tell your father anything, your mother just called from the hospital, asking you to go quickly, your father has..."

Why did he stop talking? Suddenly I felt anxious and shouted, "What did you say? Lao Gao."

"Big miss, to the hospital, good to persuade your mother, here is the number of you big! I count you big!"

Sister Chicken is still robbing Yan Yan's trinkets, brother poured the sand into the glass bottle. Yeah, I'm the only one here. I'm a little adult. I said to Gao:

"Gao, I know what's wrong. I'm going to the hospital."

I had never felt so calm, so quiet.

I put my elementary school diploma in my desk drawer and came out. Gao had already hired a car for me to the hospital. Walking across the yard, seeing the falling oleander, I said to myself:

Father's flowers have fallen,

I'm not a kid anymore.

family
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.