Fiction logo

Cupid’s Corruption

The Cam and Raphe Chronicles

By Rafael Tavares Jr.Published 2 years ago 4 min read
2

The ruins were quiet Cam and Raphe had been chasing him all night. Cam looked over to Raphe and motioned him to move toward the Ancient Greek/Romanesque structure.

They had been warned not to do this but someone had to put down this foul beast. They were already in a forbidden area and the Gods were fickle beings.

Cam had her bow at the ready as she watched Raphe make his way. Soon Raphe was at the entrance to the temple. He looked back at Cam and motioned her to him. She made her way across the courtyard her bow primed for any disturbance.

They both found it fitting that he would return here of all places. This was not going to be an easy fight. In this place he was at his most powerful. She got to where Raphe stood at the doorway they both looked at each other and then entered.

It was a grand hall with a huge table in its center. It was set for a grand banquet and the rich aroma of scrumptious food permeated the colossal room. Both their stomachs roared in delight as they tried to concentrate.

“My friends I have been expecting you.”

He said as he looked at Cam and Raphe pure mischief in his eyes.

“Come. Eat. Be Merry. I have picked all the foods you love.”

Even with the large warm smile on his face what he said had come across more like a threat. Again their stomachs growled and screamed to be fed.

“Is food not what you both seek? Cam maybe you will indulge in your favorite Drink I have all the ones you love. Or maybe it’s company you are looking for Raphe? Look at these lovely beauties I have brought here just for the both of you.”

He said the smile on his face widening yet Raphe nor Cam never took their gaze off of him. Cam cuts him short and says,

“Cut the Chatter Cupid. Your corrupted chaos comes to a conclusion.”

“How dare you. After everything I have done for you. This is how you repay me. I who showed you how to use that bow. I who took you under my wings and loved you like my own. This is how you repay my love.”

He spoke to them the sickening smile not leaving his face. At that moment Cam interrupted,

“Not that I believe in love but you have corrupted it made it something it wasn’t meant to be. “

Taking a sip from the a goblet Cupid picked up and still smiling he says

“I have corrupted it? It’s you human that have made it into something perverse. Something toxic a shell of what it’s supposed to be. I have only returned the favor and given you all exactly what you asked for. “

Raphe in his battle stance chimes in

“This isn’t you. It’s not how you taught us. It’s not what you had us fighting for. You wanted us to heal the world.”

Tossing the Goblet Cupid says.

“Do not presume to lecture me. I know love, it is who I am. I do not want to destroy you but I will.”

Cupid rushes to a wall grabbing an incredibly beautiful bow as Cam sends arrows flying his way that miss their mark landing around the God. Raphe is attacked by Cupid’s entourage and starts to fight them. His powerful punches sending bodies flying all over even as he gets hit multiple times. Cam continues sending arrows Cupid’s way as he prepares to fire back. She a says

“I should of seen that you had gone Dark. That you were not yourself.”

Cupid releases a volley of arrows at Cam who sprints and dodges eluding them and firing back. Cupid dodges And Firing at Cam Cupid says.

“Maybe it is you who have gone dark maybe it is you that needs to be cleansed. You humans are always so me me me.”

Dodging the barrage of arrows sent her way Cam then returns her own volley as she says

“You have trained us well we know what we see. We will set you free. “

At that moment Raphe springs from the pack of lovers and blindsides Cupid with a powerful blow. Sending the God flying. Cam pulls the fiery red and gold arrow with the brilliant feather and let’s it fly. It slams hard into Cupid and he slams into the wall pinned by the arrow of Flames.

Cupid laughs as the arrow begins to glow.

“Maybe there is hope for you humans. Always asking what love is and very rarely comprehending. Only caring about the feeling never putting in the work. Always me me me and never willing to see , To sacrifice, to love…”

Cupids eyes start to glow a bright fiery light his skin begins to crackle as the flames below threaten to release. Cam looks at the dying God and says

“We do what we must whether we want to or not. I may not believe in love but I understand what it is supposed to be. We will fight on set things right hunt the corrupted.”

Cupid smiles and winks then laughs as he is consumed from within by the fires. Soon there is nothing but a burned mark on the wall and a bunch of ashes on the floor.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.