Fiction logo

Crossing Over

With the help of Virtual Reality

By Ocusan MPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 9 min read
Like

Hallo Pierre, are you in there? The voice of Atlantis itself spoke. Yes I am! you know Pierre’s Sea friends is always in the old ship. Oh Good but I wanted to see what’s inside your ship, you always keep it a secret. I’m afraid you don’t want to see the real me. Why not? I don’t look like my image anymore, I’ve aged! You say you’re a old man? Yes and I’m getting worried! What troubles you my friend? My body is getting so old that I need to find a receptacle for my soul! Oh my! We’ve played so many games with all kinds of Atlantean machines, yet I haven’t seen one that can hold a sole! If you can locate Robert he might know of how to build one. I’m right here Pierre, and I’m afraid we haven’t any sole receptacles on hand. Will a Chinese lantern work? No Nicole, I need a lot of room for my spirit to float around in. Any ideas Mi’ara? Well, when one gets too old on Atlantis they go into the capsule that revives them in a year or longer. I don’t want that! If you don’t your sole will float around endlessly in search of a body! The voice of Atlantis spoke up hearing all the commotion. It’s not so bad in the capsule, I’ve been in one several times to restore my ailments. I have too but I’m afraid I’m aging so rapidly that it can’t restore anymore.. Robert looked overly serious examining the situation until he thought of something. There is a man I know located on the other side of this world who has the biggest computer in recorded history. Do tell us Robert! It goes for millions of miles where it’s inhabited by holographic people! Oh no, I can’t turn my body into a hologram! He explained to me that they can’t feel their a hologram, as they feel as realistic as you and me..I’m not sure, I’d have to see it in person. If you can make it out of there to the portal you can visit the Professor if you trust me. Alright, I’ll just gather a few things, will it be just the two of us? No need to drag the woman, yes Pierre it will just be me and you.. The girls went back to the camp while Robert and Pierre walked up the embankment to the nearest portal. No sooner had Robert set the coordinates to the address the professor gave him the two travelers jumped through the wormhole. It was dark when arriving on the other side. The only light seen was from the flashing lights of an enormous robot who greeted Pierre & Robert. Greetings travelers..Beep..What brings you to the land of Professor Garrick? Yes Professor Garrick..We’re here to see him, we’ve journeyed from across the world. Follow me..Beep..Following the mechanical sound with beckoning lights illuminating their path until they reached the compound of Professor Garrick. Lights switched on revealing a warm interior of a living room of several couches where the Professor sat in a arm chair studying the situation. These men are here to see you..Beep.. By all means won’t you come in..Pierre & Robert stood motionless in front of the Professor. Welcome back Mister Robert! I do recall our last visit last year some time, and you brought a friend! How thoughtful of you. Well yes, he is a special friend who is in need of retirement. Oh I see, you told him about my islands I have on the beach ? Well no, I told him about your talent for creating holograms that exist in your main frame computer. That is indescribably the same thing! The beach exists in a discovery of a machine I found in a excavation..a crossover between reality & virtually.. He wants to see this machine as I told him you might be able to transport him into it as a hologram. I’ve never done that before..I only create the holograms from blueprints of living creatures such as yourself. Well you see, we’re actually holograms ourselves, that is why I was thinking he could merge into a tron like world where he could live forever. Oh I see, one can never tell if a being is made of the flesh anymore..Professor Garrick ran his palm over Roberts head testing to see if it would pass through. You must be taking the MN pills I gave you, your body seems solid..Yes we do take the Magnesium Nitrate in order not to flourish..Pierre sat down on a sofa exclaiming that he was running out of time, being so old and that he wanted to see the holographic machine right away. Do follow me gentlemen..Leading the way to a gigantic elevator made of solid steel the three sat on the interior seats as it was a long way down. We’re moving through solid steel panels, not ordinary steel but steel one hundred times stronger mined on Jupiter. The elevator was itself part of a living computer system that ventured for miles through Giant Motherboards of memory illuminated with neon components of flying bytes of fiber optic circuitry with solid walls of processors making it a city to itself. The Professors voice boomed over the rumble of quirky sounds of living steel..I invented time travel through this as I constructed the gate that you traveled through..His voice reverberated as the inner train of the elevator warped into Tarabytes. Pierre covered his ears as the motion was too much to endure. We’re almost there..hold on a bit longer..The transport stopped at the station needed where they were led to the holographic machine. Garrick sat in front of a glass window grasping the controls while looking through the lens that operated with lasers. Let me show you how it’s done..Slowly an image formed out of the beams using a blueprint of the desired creation. A image appeared, small under the lights, as he showed just how the holographic world became into existence. That is how I was created? Pierre exclaimed in amusement. Well yes, I might have created you since replicas of this machine did not work very well. I’ve made so many creations along with my dragons that many have escaped me.. How did I get old if I am a mere hologram? Without proper vitamins such as the MN pill, you will although I’ve placed several rejuvenation capsules throughout the kingdom..Everything stopped working for me, even on Atlantis..Are you able to show him some living possibilities within the computer system itself? Well yes, I do have the Majestic islands that have entire oceans he might like..He touched the glass with a wobble as his magic touch could conjure up a visual vision..It became blurry with rippling water as Robert put his hand to the vision. It’s so beautiful..Pierre could see a whole ecosystem of sand & waves while hearing the rushing waves calling his soul to the virtual reality.. Are their people their? The Professor waved his hands where a group of women swam in a tropical pond. Their hair decorated with orchids smiling & laughing..I could go there..Are you ready? Robert said with concern. More ready than I’ll ever be! Taking his hand to the screen it went through..Professor Garrick looked astonishingly as he had not seen one of his inventions journey back through the device. I think I can handle it..Pierre stepped through the portal as the watery pool of illusion took him to another dimension. Goodbye dear friend..Robert teared up. I hope all will be well for him on the other side..He will be just fine, Garrick said as he waved his palm reveling Pierre walking on a auspicious beach. His body regenerated where he became young again..Seagulls squealed in the illusion making it feel so real..There you have it, your friend has made history and taught me something new! The two men celebrated that night as Professor Garrick informed Robert that he was working on a new project of a simulated moon. Atlantis was in danger from heat waves as energy from his multi dimensional computer was consuming too much heat absorption. The entire mechanism runs on nuclear power that has caused a abnormal fluctuation, he explained. His idea of cooling the planet with a artificial moon seemed unrealistic, yet a second moon might depressurize the heat from the sun. Outside their was the sound of something moving in the distance.. Through the glass windows overhead Robert could see something like a three dimensional object manifesting above. I get those too, from a world unknown..I’m hoping that the newly added infrastructure of liquid cooling tubes gets rid of them. Robert could see the Professor needed help in maintaining his fortress. If the monsters ruin the machine, his friend would be lost forever. I’ll do anything to help. Robert was a true hero. Just how will you create a artificial moon? I’m planning on pulling a nearby moon such as Io or Ganymede through the wormhole by using a magnetic tractor beam. Sounds dangerous, why not try growing one by feeding the computer the composites of rock that make up a moon? Where would I add the composites? To a attached printer with injectors..Your masters in Engineering overwhelms my Archeology degree..Well I once helped design a editable printer that created all kinds of new dishes…I see like the icing on the cake, and with the right cookie cutters one could create a Moon! It would have to be a enormous cookie that would be made in layers..Then there’s the question of how to make it float..The gravity element would need to be considered..Adding helium as in a balloon might work..Now I’m envisioning a jelly doughnut! The two broke out in a laugh..A moon with a jelly filling of hot air..I do see your idea feasible, let’s get working on it right away..The outside was getting hotter, as the three dimensional creatures were bothersome…I think if we can save the world with a new moon, you will go down in history Sir Robert! It’s a fine line between myth & realism, as inventors must take the risk and step out into the unknown ..And the new moon was created as the computer gave its birth rising up into a sublime sky that saved Atlantis from Apocalyptic doom..

Sci FiMicrofiction
Like

About the Creator

Ocusan M

I write in a surrealistic style learning new realities as i researched Quantum physics in Quantum Dreaming where the man had a Quantum computer in his home that could see into the future.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.