Fiction logo

Countdown to Disaster

Faceplanting in the pie!

By KA Stefana Published 15 days ago 3 min read
4
Countdown to Disaster - Photo created in Canva

T-minus 1 minute...

I could hear screaming and laughing from every corner of the yard as Casey and her friends raced around outside, playing scavenger hunt. Our puppy ran from window to window, operating on an adrenaline rush equivalent to the proverbial sugar high. Her tail wagged as she momentarily stood on the bench, barking at every noise coming from the outside.

T-minus 50 seconds...

While she was entertained by the cacophony of voices outside, I turned off the timer and opened the oven. As I took the apple pie off the rack, the aroma started to fill the kitchen. The doorbell rang before I could even think to cut a piece for myself.

T-minus 40 seconds...

Tossing the oven mitts on the counter and wiping my hands on my apron, I opened the back door and welcomed our new guests into our house. We had never met Mia's parents, and this was the first time that they were dropping her off.

"Hello! Welcome! I'm Casey's mom, Emma, and this is my husband, Jack." I extended a hand and shook Brenda's while Jack shook Martin's hand.

"It's nice to finally meet you," Brenda said. "We've seen you at the school but haven't had a chance to introduce ourselves."

"I know. The open house events are always so busy," I said as we moved into the living room.

T-minus 20 seconds...

Brenda and I stood in the center of the room, happily chatting about the kids. "Is Mia planning on attending the dance next Saturday?"

"Oh, yes. She is looking forward to it. What about Casey?" Brenda asked.

"We will be out of town, but she is disappointed that she won't be able to go."

"Hopefully, she can go to the next event."

As we chatted, the puppy ran circles around us. Her tail wagging as her excitement grew. There was so much to see and so much to do.

T-minus 10 seconds...

One more loop around the house. Racing through the kitchen, the puppy bound into the living room and beelined into the dining room. Leaping like a gazelle, she floated through the air.

It was as if time had stopped. She hung in the air, with her eyes set on the grand prize, the lonely pie calling her name. "Latte! Latte! Come and eat me! I am all yours!"

There was no way for me to stop her from committing her offense. My feet suddenly grew roots in the carpet, and my legs were unwilling to carry me forward. I watched in silent horror as she landed in the center of my dining room table.

My mouth formed the words, but no sound came out! "Nooooooo!"

T-minus Total Embarassment!

Without another thought, she leaned down and stuck her snout in the pie.

"OMG!' I shrieked. "She's never down anything like this!"

Lifting her head up, she looked at me, with pie crust and apple glaze clinging to her snout.

She was proud of her accomplishments, but we all know pride comes before the fall.

Young AdultShort StoryHumorfamilyAdventure
4

About the Creator

KA Stefana

I started writing as a hobby during quarantine. From a hobby, a passion bloomed. Author of Dark Fantasy with a twist of romance. Available on KU - The Origins of Darkness, The Daughters of Darkness and The Forgotten.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Raphael Fontenelle15 days ago

    Aww. Go puppy! :D

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.