Fiction logo

Cosmic legends

Chapter 6 Children and the elderly

By qiang qiang maPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

It didn't take long for two people to come out of the farmhouse, an old man and a young woman, and they were in a hurry. It was the child and her grandmother.

But soon they stopped there and looked at me, dumbfounded, just looking at me.

My heart got nervous once again, why did the old woman need to look so long? She also has amnesia? Do they not recognize me, or do not recognize their own son?

By the way, I had my hood on, I realized.

I took a few steps forward and pulled my hood down behind my head to give her a better view, maybe her eyes weren't so good, I wondered.

I could see that her expression changed from anticipation to disappointment, but my heart dropped.

"Old man ......" I was about to ask her if she recognized me.

She interrupted, "Come inside first, O'Hara!"

It was as if she was tired, perhaps too old to linger much outside the door.

With that, she turned around and went into the farmhouse, and the little girl also good-naturedly assisted her grandmother to go in, turning her head from time to time to look at me, curious.

She also whispered and asked her grandmother: "No? Isn't it? Grandma!"

The farmhouse was apparently a kitchen with a large dining table covered with a white cloth with knives and forks and plates, frugal and tidy.

On either side of the table were two long stools.

The other side of the wall is the stove. You can see the case, sink, and pots and pans, etc., is now burning fire, apparently, the old man is cooking.

A few other walls were lined with a few wooden cabinets, and I was slightly disappointed that I could be sure that I didn't have any impression of the place, and the old man probably wouldn't recognize me.

"Young man, sit down first." The old man spoke.

I obediently sat down at the table, there was no other place for people to sit here.

"You don't look like a local?" The old man said again.

This time, I was completely disappointed, this old man indeed did not recognize me, could not help but lower my head.

"I ...... don't know where I'm from, I can't remember anything." I replied casually.

"Are you also lost?" The little girl asked curiously, and said to her grandmother, "Grandma, he was lost too, the same as her mother."

What a smart kid, I think. She already knows that I am not her father, although the old man never answered her question positively.

Hey ......, and how poor is it that her mommy is lost? The father is also not at home, only grandmother dependent on each other? I was thinking nonsense.

"Stay and eat a dinner, tomorrow and then catch up, hey, now the young people can not hold back, all want to be brave ......" the old man said, while starting to serve dinner.

"Grandma, I grew up where not to go, just stay at home with you, I do not not become a brave man, there are dad and mom, are with you ......," the little girl quickly comforted.

"Here only we are orphans and old women, the farm does not have much labor, there is little revenue, we can only do some simple oatmeal porridge, a few potatoes, you will just eat a little. I see that you look like someone who is also going to explore the hero town, I think it will not be willing to stay long." The old man said blandly as he served dinner.

Dinner was simple, an oatmeal paste, thicker than the usual porridge, and a piece of steamed potato cubes, and a plate of black bread on the table, cut into four or five slices.

Apparently, this is their usual dinner, and my share is already her share from one of her own dinners.

I'm not really hungry, I don't know why, I haven't been eating, but I haven't been feeling hungry either. But looking at the simple meal served up, I did not refuse, simply ate some oatmeal paste.

Although not delicious, but expensive in the simplicity, there is a strong primitive flavor.

I know the old man said this is to tell me that the farm is worth nothing valuable, hope I do not hit on the farm idea.

"Where are the boy's parents?" I asked.

"Hey ......" the old man sighed long and hard.

"I lost my mom, dad went to look for her, he'll be back soon." The little girl snatched up the answer, a look of certainty.

"Oh ......How do you get to Hero Town here? How far is it?" I asked again.

"Not far, along the road all the way north, about seven or eight miles to, if the weather is good you can see the mountains to the north, the town is at the foot of the mountains." The old man replied, and also began to eat his share of dinner.

"Uncle, you want to go to the town of heroes? My father is also brave, if you meet my father, let him come back early ......`` The little girl ate a mouthful of oatmeal paste.

"Okay, can you tell me what my dad's name is?"

"Daddy is called daddy!" The little girl jumped off the stool and ran to the inner room.

A short while later, she came running back, holding a wooden knife in her hand, and handed it to me.

I was bewildered to receive the examination, this is a hand-carved wooden knife, about two feet long, the thickest but a finger, apparently a toy wooden knife.

"You take this wooden knife, Daddy recognizes it, it was made for me by my father when I was a child." The little girl rubbed up against the stool again and proceeded to eat the oatmeal paste.

"His name is Juan Carlos, out for more than six months, hey ......" the old man wanted to say something.

I secretly wrote down the name and decided to go to the hero town to inquire about it. It's still nice to know that there are towns around here.

At night I was placed in a warehouse next door to the farmhouse, where there was a bed, and some miscellaneous items, but also cleaned up fairly neatly, it can be seen that there are often people passing through here to borrow a place to stay.

The old man also warned me not to go out at night, this area is not very safe at night, often infected with wild animals.

It was dark, and the rain had gradually stopped, but the overcast clouds seemed to have not yet dispersed, but the two clusters seen everywhere shone brightly around, and these two clusters seemed to be brighter than the day.

This is the first night I remember, sitting on a soft bed but not a little sleepy. These bright clusters seem to be able to pass through the house, so there are some floating in the house.

Picked up the wooden knife and carefully examined, although not delicate, but also carved with great care, there are a few small words on the handle, to Corinna Carlos.

So this little girl called Corinna.

Idle, I found a section of wood in the pile of miscellaneous items, the mind, read the word 'guide', and began to imitate this wooden knife.

Sure enough, the wood was decomposed and reorganized under the pull of the white light, reshaped in the same way as the wooden knife, about ten minutes to complete, even the words on the handle are exactly the same.

Putting the two knives together, without careful examination, I could not tell the difference.

At this point, a crashing sound came out from outside, I think it was the beast the old man was talking about.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.