Fiction logo

Cosmic legends

Chapter 4 Mire

By qiang qiang maPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

I stepped back, it followed a step, I stepped it step, did not hesitate, the giant mouth from time to time inhaled, like sniffing something, and like breathing air.

This step made me afraid.

Fear and letting me lose the ability to think, the mind is blank, I do not know what to do in response.

But the good thing was that the slime monster didn't come at me right away, which made me wonder if maybe it wasn't aggressive. The fluke sometimes has its advantages, at least let me temporarily calm down.

Calmly, I shook my head and immediately shook off all those naive thoughts.

A weapon? I couldn't help but think about what to use to defend myself against it, or what would give me some extra security.

Looking at the two handfuls of dead grass in my hands, I shook my head, these definitely won't work.

I threw the dry grass away with my hands and couldn't help but clench my fists. A surge of courage came over me and I suddenly had more courage and felt that I could fight this rotten monster with my bare hands.

"Come on!"

I roared out, my voice trembling, this trembling is a manifestation of fear, I suddenly had a sense of shame, I felt ashamed of myself for making a trembling sound, I felt exasperated.

"Come on! You coward!"

I growled again, louder, knowing that the word coward was a curse on myself.

This time the growl didn't come with a shudder.

'Damn it! What are you focusing on? Concentrate, you're fighting this monster!'

The rotten monster seemed to think the time had come, and it suddenly began to inhale, then quickly lunged at me.

I instinctively sat backwards on my butt, which was completely a physical instinct, not at all the coping strategy I had in mind, but it also happened to dodge the lunge of the rotten mud monster.

Damn! I can guarantee that the fall was not due to cowardice. I had thought that when it pounced on my head, I would swing my fist and knock it back into the mud, but it did not pounce on my head, but just poked forward, perhaps testing it.

I quickly got up, not having fought before I started formulating coping strategies again.

The rotten monster also seemed to see my ...... cowardice, well, I admit it was cowardice.

It stopped trying cautiously and its giant mouth began to suck in air as hard as it could.

I guess it's about to pounce, I secretly resolve, this time absolutely can not retreat, must fight back.

Tension made my whole body tense, everywhere in the force, the body weight also put down, the heart began to calculate how to attack.

At this moment time seems to stand still in general, the rotten mud monster is still sucking air, the faster and faster, more and more rapid, the mud pit also emerges a lot of bubbles, are they sucked in the gas well? Is there something hiding in the mud pit? Is it going to attack? Or is it building up its strength?

"Ah ......!"

I shouted, rushed up and kicked it in the head, I couldn't wait that long.

Bang! The mud splattered, and with only a slight hindrance, my foot went through the head of the rotten monster.

I sat on my butt again, perhaps too hard, but I could be sure that I had kicked it in the head.

I did not have time to rejoice, the next moment, the mud monster but unharmed pounced on the leg I used to kick it, a strong sense of pressure from the bottom of the foot up, wrapped around my whole leg.

To be precise, it swallowed my left leg, I struggled to pull it out, but to no avail, the mud was wrapped tightly.

I lifted my right foot and kicked the mud, snapped it, and kicked the mud off my left leg.

But the mud was very persistent, it slowly came up again, and suddenly, the right leg also wrapped together into it, and I struggled to draw back any leg.

I rolled on the ground and rubbed my legs on the ground, trying to rub the mud off, but it seemed to backfire as more mud came from the ground and wrapped my body in it.

I could feel the mud squirming around my body, tumbling upward as it tried to attach itself to my entire body.

I began to regret doing it with it, I should have just turned my head and run away, maybe it was always so slow, maybe it could not catch up with me.

The body did not give up hope, hands kept snapping off a circle of mud that came up.

But the mud monster is very difficult, it is not slow, little by little, come up, in the hands can not reach the place to wrap up, little by little wrapped around me, I now only head still chest is not wrapped up, the other places of mud is getting thicker and thicker.

I saw the hands stripped of the mud will slowly converge back and continue to participate in the package. At the same time, a pulling force came, the mud monster pulled me underground. My calves have been pulled by it into the mud pit, where it is very cold, where a bubble also emerged. This cold, this bubble is making me afraid.

I'm going to drown in this swamp, well?

I'm going to be eaten by this muck?

I'm going to become part of the mud?

No! No!

I cried out in my heart, hands began to fight more vigorously with the mud, twisting the body as hard as possible, trying to climb out of the mud pit.

And the mud monster still seems to be the same unhurried, little by little, winding up.

Suddenly, a cowardly idea appeared in my mind. It is said that the more people who fall into the swamp struggle the faster they will fall. Maybe I give up struggling, this mud will let me go, maybe I play dead, it will let me go.

"Coward! What are you thinking! That's impossible, you can't give up on yourself!" I shook my head hard to shake off those unrealistic compromises.

I beat off the mud that came up hard. At this moment, the belief became more firm, I must live, to die, but also to die decently, I can not die in the mud in such a shameful way.

Suddenly, the hands gushed out some faint glow, and the mud became more relaxed, and was stripped of the mud, does not seem to converge back on the mud monster again.

A flash of light in my head, yes! Maybe the channeling technique works.

I immediately shouted: "Guidance!"

I began to use the art of guidance with all my heart, casting my hands together and muttering, "Guidance, guidance, guidance ......"

At this time, where my hands reached, a large number of basic particles in the mud turned into white light and inhaled, and I felt a strong warmth flowing into my body.

And the body of the slime as if it lost its stickiness, has begun to peel off, but also lost vitality, back to the original slime should be the appearance, no longer entangled.

Great, this works!

I was so excited that my hands continued to peel off the mud on my waist and legs, while guiding those white light particles into my hands.

The warmth kept flowing in, and the mud kept peeling off.

Finally, only two small legs were left deep in the mud pit.

Pulled hard a few times, seems to have something firmly sucked, can not pull.

Is the mud monster not dead?

Hands deep into the mud pit, continuing to guide a stream of warmth into the hands, until there is no more warmth into the stream, I retracted my hands.

Sure enough, the mud monster is really not dead.

This time easily pulled out both legs.

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.