Fiction logo

Cornflower-Blue

It's just one sapphire ring...

By Jennifer L OsbornePublished about a year ago 1 min read

This is one sapphire ring amongst a sloppy collection of spoils. If I didn't know her better, it may have all been junk jewelry. She is so careless with her treasures!

The more one accumulates, the less able one can account for them. I thought: she has so much now, what is one tiny trinket? I slip it into my pocket.

Silvia has a penchant for cornflower-blue sapphires. Before I started working for her I had never seen such a lovely shade of blue in any jewel, or other creation for that matter. Calming, uplifting all at once!

This jewel was not for me...it was for my daughter. She is graduating college, and I am beyond proud! I was not able to help her with tuition, despite my years of service to the Barrie family, watching their bank swell as mine remained flat.

It has been a week since her graduation. My elegant Elsa sits me down after a tiresome day working for the Barries.

"Mom, I knew you couldn't afford this, so I had it tested."

I look up from my phone.

"Oh Mom!" She gasps. "How could you? The jeweler recognized it! She even called Slyvia!"

PsychologicalMicrofictionfamily

About the Creator

Jennifer L Osborne

Hello! Like so many of you, I love to write. In 2018, I self-published "Sebastian's Due". In 2022, I published the sequel, "Room for Sebastian". Can't wait to read the content on Vocal!

www.jenniferlosborne.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jennifer L OsborneWritten by Jennifer L Osborne

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.