Fiction logo

Con-Text

I will always go for the pun

By Meredith HarmonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Send money in doughnuts, lots and lots...

I figured now was as good a time as any. I had over a thousand followers on my influencer platform, that should be enough to do the deed, right?

Help! I've been kidnapped!

I sent it out to everyone, anyone, and had some friends dress up as kidnappers to make it all seem legit. They would swipe my phone periodically to take selfies, post videos of me crying while they laughed, take pics of each other holding a gun to my head. They set up an account for the ransom.

We watched the money roll in.

We split it fairly, and my followers skyrocketed after I was "released."

High five figures in the bank was nothing to gripe about!

We thought about trying it again, but didn't want to push our luck. The feds were already sniffing about, and we didn't want to give them anything to trace back to us. We didn't even talk afterwards, and of course no texting. Didn't even do that before our scam. In person meetings only; we're not stupid.

Sometimes I'd ask for money for therapy, but that's as far as I'd go. No more.

Imagine my surprise when I was kidnapped for real...

Microfiction
3

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sonia Heidi Unruh11 months ago

    Veeerryy punny!! 🤣 I'd be surprised if someone somewhere hasn't tried this.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Wow!!! Outstanding & left a heart!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.