Fiction logo

Coffee, Please

I dragon size

By Colleen WaltersPublished 14 days ago Updated 5 days ago 1 min read
Coffee, Please
Photo by Rock Vincent Guitard on Unsplash

Summer’s on its way.

My neighbor says “it’s hotter than a flitter”, and I imagine that a flitter is pretty hot. Ninety seven degrees out , and a hot wind blowing from the northwest.

The grass is crunchy and the plants are wilted- even the weeds, which is saying something. Rain is scarce right now, but at least the dew perks everything up at night.

I walk outside and the hot wind slaps my senses. I’m instantly offended that there’s a brisk wind that has the audacity to be hot!

I look across the open fields to the northwest, where the wind is coming from, and wonder if there’s a dragon yawning far far away, sending hot blasts of air across the continent and into my yard. He must be tired, yawning over and over.

I get like that, where I just start yawning, and can’t stop. And I yawn and yawn for what seems like forever, tears running down my face, and then finally I pour another coffee.

Maybe the dragon is tired. Maybe he’s got kids and they’re not keeping good sleep habits, or maybe he’s working late at night. I know what it’s like… Then I wonder what kind of coffee he might like- I imagine strong. I like my coffee strong( black silk for me) and I drink it hot or cold. In the morning, I make a half a pot and when I come back from the barn, the house smells like strong coffee.

He probably likes it black,and strong. And if I can get him to quit yawning, maybe the wind will cool off.

There’s got to be a way to get this dragon a coffee….

Fantasy

About the Creator

Colleen Walters

i’m just a girl in Florida who likes to write things, usually inspired by events and people in my life..Always be you, because you are awesome-

When I grow up, I want to be a kid again.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Esala Gunathilake13 days ago

    Glad to meet you in a fiction 😁. But I call you as the Haiku Writer 😁. Hope there will be a way to get that dragon a coffee!

  • Delightful! 😀💜 Love: ‘I walk outside and the hot wind slaps my senses. I’m instantly offended that there’s a brisk wind that has the audacity to be hot!’😵‍💫 My son has always had ‘fights’ with the wind… blowing his hair in his eyes etc! He never wins🥺 Hope you & the dragon get your coffee soon 🙃

  • Rowan Finley 14 days ago

    Very creative! Thank you for sharing and I hope you had a wonderful day.

Colleen WaltersWritten by Colleen Walters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.