Fiction logo

Code: Shadow

Kat Long a half human-ghost is apart of a secret organization called the S.S.O. They help human kind in secret from supernatural problems. After a month has gone by since defeating the powerful drug lord Damian Luthor. Kat and her dark angel partner Jay were at peace. Until Damian Luthor son has risen to start over his Dad's drug project. Now they are off to the secret island of Bermuda to shut down his organization. Lives are at risk as they enter an island unknown to man with mythical creations and beast. Will they make it home in time before the moon rises and the tides prevent them from leaving? Read along as Code: Shadow is back in action!

By Ja'Cara MPublished 2 years ago 21 min read
2

This epilogue is based off my published book Code: Shadow. If you wish to know more about her and her main villain Damian Luthor, then you can find my book on all online retail sources. Enjoy the read!

June 23rd, 2040

"Okay, so I win two to zero! See I told you the skating park was my territory Jay." I teased. I laugh at his defeat while he pouts. It's been a month since we took down Damian Luthor drug operation. He is also the man who caused my fathers death. So, once we found his lair. We took him down once and for all. If it wasn't for my fathers secret weapon my ancient dagger I would have lost to him. But now the world is at peace and no more evil drugs (that caused humans to transform into monsters) are on the streets.

So, now Jay, my partner and new boyfriend were trying out tricks at the skate park. He is trying to learn and d0 things that I like to do. It was kind and sweet and way better than his arrogant air-head attitude when we are on missions.

"Whatever, I only let you win because you're my girlfriend." he claims while kissing my lips. I roll my eyes while picking up my skateboard. "Sure you did. I will believe that excuse when pigs can fly." I stated. We both laugh while heading to the company car.

"So, do you have any idea why your Mom and Rick are cutting their couple vacation short to have a meeting with us?" he asked. I shrug my shoulders as a response. "Who knows...maybe they want to discus how a dirty blonde with purple eyes and dark wings almost blew up the Paris Tower on our last mission." I joked. He rolls his eyes and pulls off to the Supernatural Spy Organization(S.S.O). We arrived and changed into our spy attire. I was wearing my usual grey tank with the logo and black cargo pants with black timberlands. Jay decided to upgrade his outfit to a black leather jacket with a black tank, grey skinny pants, and knee high black converse. The only thing that changed was the pants.

We headed to my Mom's office and knocked on the door to enter. When we go inside I see a map of an island is pulled up and a young man, who looks to be in his late twenties. Jay and I both sit and wait for my Mom and Rick to give us their attention. "I still think this is a bad idea." my Mom whispers to Rick. We look at each other with confusion.

"What's going on?" I asked. My Mom gives me a serious look while she sits. "I will let Rick explain." she said. Rick, a werewolf, was my Mom's assistant and back when my Dad was living his best friend. Before my Mom took over, Rick and him were the toughest agents to mess with. Now with my Dad's consist from the afterlife, Rick and my Mom are a couple and she is finally happy again.

"Code: Shadow, Code: Night Wing. We have a serious problem. Based off the organizations findings two days ago. There has been confirmation that another drug factor is active and is about to begin shipment on the same black liquid Damian sold to the humans to make them into monsters." he explains. My eyes go wide at his words. Jay couldn't speak.

"From what we know this man on the right..." I look at the man and saw he was young with an orange mohawk with piecing dark green eyes and was wearing a tan suit. "...is an off spring of Damian Luthor. If we knew he had a son, we would have taken him down weeks ago. But now, he is head of a factory on the island known as Bermuda and is about to send off his first shipment to many other gang lords around the world. We have to stop him!" Rick states.

"Wait, I thought Bermuda was a closed off island were no one and I mean no one can enter?" I questioned.

"Yeah, how did he set up operation's there?" Jay added.

"It's true Bermuda cannot be accessed, but it has certain days throughout the months when it can be made visible to others. Which is how we assumed his son Luke got there a year ago. We have an old operative who decided to retire there and he emailed us about a factory being built there a year ago. The operative said it was inactive for a while but after a month ago the motors began moving. So, the agent flew when the pathway to leave the island was open." he explained. I look at this man with a hateful impression.

"So, this man is basically a 'Daddy-wanna-be'. How do we stop him." Jay said. I smirked at his question and wait for an answer. No one spoke.

"To be honest Jay, we don't really know how strong he is. Right now our main goal is for you two to enter the island and blow up the factory and the storage ships. We believe the ships will be driven by evil witches so it is okay to harm them in the process...but this mission is still being considered." my Mom answered. I look at her worried expression and already knew what she was thinking.

"How long do we have before the passageway to leave the island is closed off?" I asked.

"The passage will open around midnight and you have until next midnight to leave before the passageway is closed. If closed you will be stuck on the island of the lost with raging beast and creatures for two months before another passageway is opened." she answered. I look at Jay and we both nod.

"Let's do it. I mean this shipment is going all around the world and we can not stop all of them, so we have no choice but to take out the source. And Mom I promise Jay and I will leave before the passageway closes. Now, let's load up on all the C-4 we need to blow up an island!" I expressed with excitement. My Mom and Rick look at each other with worry but shake their heads in an agreeing motion.

June 24, 2040 two minutes to midnight

Now, we are on a speed boat to Bermuda. There were thick clouds around us and lightning was striking the sky. "Two minutes until the passageway opens. You sure you can turn the whole boat invisible?" he asked. To be honest it was my first attempt at trying this, but I wasn't going to let him know. I nod and wait for his signal. He holds up his hand and I focus all my energy into the boat. I can feel my eyes glow purple as the boat begins to fade. The passageway is open and the fog is gone. Jay speeds towards the island and we make it.

He pulls the boat to sure and pulls it behind a huge island rock. We look around the island and saw so many different beast roam the lands. Then straight up ahead we saw the huge black factory. "You think he knows were here?" Jay questioned.

"I don't know to be honest, but like always keep your guard up and that C-4 bomb ball on you at all times for the plan to work." I answered. He nods and we decided to set up camp for the night. I placed a fairy shield around us, thanks to my best friend Becky, to keep us hidden from the beast. Even though it was summer, on this island it felt like winter. I cuddle close to Jay and wait for the morning sun.

Morning

I yawn from the sunlight and see that Jay was gone. I smell smoke in the air. I leave the tent and see and huge fish cooking over a fire. "Wow, even the fish here are different." I whispered. Jay lands in front of me and hides his wings. "Hungry? Oh, and yes, this fish is safe to eat. We can't go into battle on an empty stomach." he said. I take a piece of the fish and it wasn't bad. Honk! We look past the palm trees and see ten boats park on the island. I use my sight and see the witches have all decided to take a nap from the long ride.

"Does this seem too easy to you? There is no way Luke can not know we are here right. These witches are leaving their guards down." I state. Jay rubs his hair and thinks.

"Unless these are decoy ships and the real ones are on the other side of the island. I can check and be back in twenty." he informs. I liked his theory and nod. I remind him to stay low and safe as he takes off. In case these were the real ships, I load my bag with mini C-4 and take off. I place my hand in the air to make sure no barriers were set. There were none and because this was so easy it felt like I was walking into a trap.

I hover up to the first ship and head downstairs to the boiler room. I place a bomb there and head back upstairs. I head to the drivers room and see the sleeping witch. It was weird for all of them to be sleeping at the same time. I look closer and see a faded blue aura around them. I sneak over to the window and saw the other witch in the next ship was the same. Do I dare peak into their head? I text Jay my news and he tells me not to do it. I haven't done a mind read in so long. I sigh at his command and instead move on to the next ship. I place all the bombs and go back to the camp site.

Shiver. I look to my left and ready my dagger. The bushes rustle and a small cat appears. I lower my dagger and turn back to my bag. Then beneath me the ground begins to shake. I remember how things on this island can appear normal but are not. I looked at the leftover fish over the fire and sigh with annoyance. The one time I needed Jay to stay behind and clean up his mess. I turn to the cat and saw it was now the size of a tree with a long tongue hanging down and sharp teeth. It's claws descended and it charged at me. I move aside and transform my dagger into my ancient weapon Savior (yes, I named my sword.). I needed to keep this battle quiet so Luke wouldn't notice me. I summon a lightning vine to entangle the cat. It tries to break free but it couldn't. I jump to slice it's head off but its tongue slaps me against a tree. I smell my skin and almost gagged. I shake it off and this time slice his head clean off. There was no blood only white ooze.

I quickly hop in the lake to clean me and my clothes off and change back into them. Jay returns with white ooze all over his jacket. "Monster?" I asked. He shakes his head and quickly heads to the water. "So, good news those ships are the real ships to leave this island. I searched every end and found nothing. I even did magic in case they were invisible." he said. I place my hand on his shoulder for support.

"Good job Jay. I also placed the bombs in the boiler room. I say once we reach the doors of the factory we blow them up." Jay looks over with a pained expression.

"I think we might have to do it now. I think Luke is moving his plan ahead of schedule." he points. I look over and see weird horse men moving ton load of crates to the ship. "Alright then, no more hiding." I said. I press the button and the ships explode. The horse men looked shocked. Jay and I descend from the bushes and they notice us. They drop the ropes to the crates and charged. They release mini swords and Jay summons a sand storm. They float in the air and they scream in horror. I remember our boat was around here. "Jay wait!" I screamed, but it was to late. Our boat was in the sand storm and when he stopped it crashed to the ground. We now had no way home unless Jay would fly us back.

"Dang, did I do that? Sorry." he pleaded. I wanted to slap him but the horse men would have to do. I charged at them and sliced most of their heads off. I summon a lightning storm and the rest are burned to a crisp. I approach Jay and punch his arm. "Idiot! Now, lets move so we can at least have time to swim off this island." I command. We head to the factory and hid behind a huge boulder. I look and see several horse men guarding the front.

"Alright, like we planned. I will distract them and even approach Luke if I have to. For you to plant the bomb under the factory ground. You'll be okay under the ground right?" I said.

"Please you're talking to someone who grew up in Hell. I'll be fine. You just make sure not to go over board with the fighting. The bomb will be set for five minutes after all." he replied. I nod and watch him form a hole and go underground. Once gone I decided to save my sword for last and use my powers. I walk from behind the rock and wave a hello. They ready their guns and shoot. I form an electric wall and the bullets burn away. I walk closer and push my wall towards them. They all fall to the ground and I enter the factory. I use my senses to find Luke but I could not trace him. Although, that was a problem, I did find something better. I head to the back room and find two tall tanks of black liquid. "Bingo." I mumbled.

I walk closer to the tanks then stop. I feel something wrap around me and it was burning my skin. I look down and see an orange rope was holding me. I look behind me and see Luke. He smiles at me with the same creepy smile as his Dad. "So the old man was right, our blood can harm each other. Hybrid Ghost." he said. (In case you guys didn't read my awesome adventure in book one. A Hybrid Ghost also known as a cursed ghost is when a ghost is born through birth and not death; just like my father and Damian. And depending on the place of birth is how you get your chosen power. Me electric, like Dad, and Damian fire.)

"Well, well, well if it isn't the secret son no one knew about. Luke was it?" I said. He snickers at my comment.

"In the flesh sweetheart. I never got your name. Is it Ship Destroyer?"

"Ah, so you did know we were here because it could have just been bad ship work. You can't always trust witches to be captains. Also, the name is Kat." I replied with a smirk. He tightens the rope and I can see blood start to drip.

"Of course I knew you would come. I mean I was the retired man who sent the message to HR. I was uncover with my Dad as janitors for years and your agency never noticed. But why that old man wanted to go into battle alone was dumb. You would be dead right now and not him." he explains with rage.

"So, all this for revenge, and here I thought you wanted the money." I said.

"Oh, I will still get the money Kat. Those ships you blew up were decoys the real pickup will be by portal. This is the only day where magic can enter this island with no interference. They should be here in an hour. And you'll be dead by then. And I'll find your partner and do the same to him. I don't know how you are hiding him but he will come out once you scream in pain." he explains. I smirk at his plan and take a breath. I focus my powers and summon my true form. I can feel purple markings form down my arms and face. My hair breaks it's braid and levitates.

"Ah!" I blast the ropes away and push Luke back. He summons a spear and lights it on fire. I prepare my sword and we engage in a fight. He was strong and each blow almost send me back. I stood my stance each time. "Electric Slash" I command. I send a purple blade towards him and he cuts right through it. I smile from being impressed. He lowers his spear and smirks.

"You're good...but I'm still better." he points down and I see a Satan fire star under me. "Oh, please." I mumble. I stomp my foot and an electric current combines with the fire to create smoke. Luke can't see, but I can. I turned invisible and sneak behind him. I kick him in the back and send an electric wave through his body. "Ah!" he yells. The smoke clears and he is on the ground. His eyes catch fire and he launches at me. I dodge him and he tries again and I dodge.

"Come on Jay!" I thought. His hands go fire and my hands go purple and we fist fight. I could feel his rage with each blow. I could tell he hated me with all his heart. I killed his one and only family member and now he wanted my head. I leg sweep him and calm my powers. The markings disappear and I look at him with sorrow. "We don't have to fight and you don't have to be like your father. I can tell from all your emotions that you have heart and are not a murderer. Please...I don't want to do this." I begged. He looks at me with sorrow and I thought I almost got to him.

His whole body turns to flames and he blast a huge fireball at me. I form a wall but it breaks through. I slam into the wall and hold my head in pain. "You are not the only one with a true form." he hisses. I ready my sword and cover it in my essence. "Always try and appease to the bad guy before killing them; yeah right Mom!" I mumble. I launch at him and he blocks me. He pushes me back and releases a fire wave. I slice the wave but it still entangles around me. I'm lifted in the air and I can feel the burn marks go deep into my skin. I had to take this punishment because going all out would mean activating the bomb before Jay could escape the blast.

"Dark Spears!" I look up and see dark wing blades attack Luke. His fire releases me and Jay catches me. "Took you long enough. Now we have another problem."

"What's that?" he asked.

"Those ships were decoys like we thought and the real pickup is by portal in the storage room with the real crates." I explained. Jay looks at me like that was not a problem. "Think with your head! Witches have the power to reverse time. If they have enough time to go back and warn him about the bomb then it's over!" I whispered. Jay finally gets the picture and dashes to the storage room. Luke was hot on our trail. I blast the lights to cause an electric shower. It keeps him at bay for us to reach the room. We see a green vortex forming in the room. Boom! Luke blasted the door off the hinges. "I got Luke you handle the witches." I command.

One witch enters the room and then another. It was the same ten from the ship. Jay launches at them and I can say these witches knew how to hold their ground. Luke was on my tail as well and with Jay planting the bomb we only had four minutes to get out. Luke blasted a ball of fire and I slash it. I check on Jay and saw three witches were down. "Jay stop playing with them we need to go!"

"Right! Wind Storm!" The whole room fills with air as I use my sword to stay on the ground. Luke lost his fire and the witches fell to the ground. They were losing oxygen fast. Jay grabs me and we head back to the front door. Before we reached the door, fire blocked the doorway. "Damn this dude can not die" he whispers.

"Well let's change that...and you are sure all witches are unconscious?" I questioned. Jay nods and I smile. "Cool. Now let's get wild!" Luke appears in front of us and we both are in our true forms.

"You think you two changing will scare me?" he questioned. I look at Jay and nod. Jay floats in the air and snaps his finger. Air vines descend from the floor and travel through the whole factory. "Alright this should keep the blast from spreading through the island. Do it!" Jay informs. Luke looks confused and then pauses when he see my whole body glow purple and an electric lion stand behind me.

"Say hi to your Dad for me...Ha!" I yell while punching the ground. I see the bomb go full charge and a stream of electric energy goes through the whole floor. Then parts of the factory begin to glow.

"Ha, you think fire explosion's can stop a fire ghost? You are slower than I thought." he laughs. Jay and I laugh with him.

"Who said anything about a fire explosion. This my pure energy charging up this place with extra energy so I can do this..." I snap my finger and Jay's air vines go electric. The factory begins to catch heat and instead of catching flames everything begins to melt. "...Jay's vines took away all the oxygen from this place so only heat remained and everything would melt instead explode." I informed. Luke watched as his decades of work with his father was melting away and the black liquid was evaporating.

"Stop...Ah!" I stab him in the heart from the distraction.

"Also your guard was down like we planned from the start. How do you think we defeated your old man? Like father like son, I guess." I remove my sword and he fell to the ground. Blood was oozing from him but before he completely went dead, I saw him remove a button from his pocket and press it. "Should we worry about that?" he asked. We ran outside and saw the sun was setting and the moon was rising. It was close to the center. I look at my phone and panic.

"Damn, a time spell. We only have five minutes to leave this island before we are trapped here for two months." I said. Jay motions me to get on his back and with the speed of light, we were flying towards the ocean. Fog filled the ocean view but luckily I could see past it and guided Jay. I looked at my phone and saw we had a minute. "Come on Jay!" I yelled.

I see a our path begin to close. "I don't think I'm going to make it!" Jay said. An idea hits me and I realized we can't be trapped if we can't be seen leaving. "Keep going, we are going to make it." I go under him and focus my energy into him. We turn invisible and when the fog closes the pathway we go right through the fog. I look back and see we made it. Jay stops flying and looks back with a smile. "Nice one Kat." he said.

I pull out my phone and contact the S.S.O. "This is Code: Shadow and Code: Night Wing, we need a lift from outside the island of Bermuda. Our boat was destroyed." I wait for a response. "How many hours!?!" I yelled. I hang up the phone with rage. "What?" he asked.

"They said all pilots are out at the moment and won't be able to pick us up for about five hours." I explained. Jay eyes go wide and he shakes his head. I watch him tap his skull necklace and a portal opens. I see the headquarters through it. He flies through and I punch him into the building.

"You could have teleported us home from the island instead of flying to make it through the fog! That's it I'm asking for a new partner tomorrow morning!" I yelled stomping away. Jay snaps back to life and begs to change my mind but I ignored him as I headed home.

"Kat you know I'm an airhead some days. Please Baby, don't trade me away. Kat wait!" he screams with worry. I couldn't help but smirk at my play. Until next time...

Code: Shadow out.

Check out my full novel on Amazon or any e-book retail site. Find me under Ja'Cara McClinton. Thanks for reading!

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Ja'Cara M

You only live once. As time moves forward we have fantasies and tales we can not live. Well here your regular life is put on pause as you engage in stories that will fill your mind with ablaze and wonder. #fiction and #erotictales

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.