Fiction logo

Clockwork Angel: Overrated?

And they had been friends of a sort, the Shadowhunter and the servant boy

By AshleyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2

The protagonist, Theresa Gray is an orphan. After the death of her maternal aunt, Theresa receives a letter and a ticket from her brother Nate asking her to follow him to London and live there.She doesn’t find her brother waiting for her on her arrival. Instead, the Dark Sisters kidnaps and threatens her with her brother.

This is a prequel to Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments(which I haven’t read and might not too ).They train her in shapeshifting. Tessa finally gets rescued from the Dark House by William Herondale a shadow hunter. He brings her to the London Institute run by Charlotte and her husband Henry and also housed by two other shadow hunters Jem and Jessie.

She learns about the different races that exist such as shadow hunters and downworlders. She might even be one of them. Shadowhunters consider themselves superior and is appointed duty to control the demons and supernatural creatures that reside in the world.

“It was books that made me feel that perhaps I was not completely alone. They could be honest with me, and I with them.”

~Tessa

This is completely based on the first book …it might get better in the next(hopefully). I have not read the mortal instruments and had high expectations for such a hyped book. It’s not like I hate it but I didn’t fancy it either. I had not many issues with the plot, But my impression of the characters involved is a bit poor.

CHARACTERS ANALYSIS

If no one in the world cared about you, did you really exist at all?

~Tessa

Tessa Gray

Starting with Tessa, she is portrayed as a curious and badass heroine (which I doubt she was verylittle of) but she at times appeared very rude and ungrateful. Maybe it could be ignored that she had a stereotyping nature, in the beginning, owing to the era this story was set in, but her judging of Jessie for doing the same! Her determination of others by their physical appearances weren’t in my favour either.

It hardly seems worth living a long time if you’re going to look like that.”

and thats Tessa being grateful to a person who saved her and her brother’s life

I tried liking her (the protagonist is generally supposed to be ‘fancied’) but she made it near hard to do so. She certainly liked to read and often quoted books too… I still don’t get why she fell for Will (maybe it’s not something you understand… anyway)

Sometimes, when I have to do something I don’t want to do, I pretend I’m a character from a book. It’s easier to know what they would do.

~Will

Will Herondale

I get that Will is a character with a dark and disturbing past and is trying to ‘hide’ it behind an uncaring and sarcastic personality. Though it felt funny at times…he might be overdoing it. My opinion about him was clouded cause he was the deuteragonist but just lost it towards the end when he insulted Tessa, it was a bit extreme.He better have a good reason to why he is such a jackass.

“And they had been friends of a sort, the Shadowhunter and the servant boy- until Jem had come and Will had forgotten Thomas almost completely.“

As written he ghosted Thomas after befriending Jem..and I suppose he likes Thomas cause Thomas wasn’t bothered by it. Well, Will isn’t all bad he indeed is a devoted shadowhunter and faithful to his friends. Also, owns exceptional talent in getting under others skin with his unnecessary rude comments.

“I am not this drug or its hold on me. I believe that I am better than that. That my life is about more than that, however and whenever it might end"

~James

James Carstairss

James Carstairs is one of those characters in the book I didn’t hate at all. Jem plays the part of a clear-headed and optimistic friend and balances out Will pretty good (not being biased but he seems better as the deuteragonist).

‘He functions as the missing self-preservation in Will' (not my words, Jem himself said so) He is addicted to yin fen, a drug that causes slow death .When he is unable to find a cure for his addiction he decides to live a life of shadowhunter with full potential instead of turning into a 'fatuous prick' (like someone did). Had I mentioned Jem plays the violin too?

Whatever you are physically male or female, strong or weak, ill or healthy,all those things matter less than what your heart contains. If you have the soul of a warrior, you are a warrior. All those other things, they are the glass that contains the lamp, but you are the light inside.

As for other secondary characters I do not have much on my head about them. Apart from Jem, Sofie and Magnus were also very sane people. Charlotte was a good mentor and Henry…well I felt bad for him.

Regarding Nate (Tessa’s brother) I didn’t suspect him until when he went missing and later Tessa found him in his room with a ‘flushed face’ and open window in the cold weather.I couldn’t see shadow hunters as good guys at all, yeah they do protect and stuff but they just have this ‘we are way superior to everyone else’ vibe (the bad guy got that right) .And the story is set in the 19th century…I felt as if how the people behaved were not different from 21st century….so forward and formal!. I guess I wrote enough.

~This book certainly isn’t going to camp in my head for long but I found it good enough to give the next 2 books a try. ヅ

xxx xxx xxx

Originally Published in:

Recent Article

Other works

~Kindly consider dropping a heart :)

Young Adult
2

About the Creator

Ashley

Being louder than the voices in my head....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.