Fiction logo

Click to Unknown Sender

A short Story not password protected

By simplicityPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

The screen turns all white with a thin black border about a quarter inch from the edge of the screen. The screen so luminous my eyes sink into a hypnotic frozen stare.  The message that popped up on the screen blurred by my astigmatismic stare. I refocus to read what's displayed very legibly in the center of my screen. It is not words, but 3 symbols '>>>'.

"Great my stuff is malfunctioning again? Cindy, Cindy, tell the new guy I'm busy right now, I'm going to be about another hour.

I press CTRL+L. The screen clears and goes back to the accounting program I'm using to enter data by way of 10 key by touch. There is something therapeutic about the click clacking of a computer keyboard typing in a efficient rhythm. Something self satisfying when you are the individual behind the key strokes. I complete one column before the same screen appears. I type help(), knowing what this will prompt the interpreter to do. To my surprise it doesn't. It takes me to a new screen with a video.

"Shit! Is this some malicious software. A hack".
Stunned, angry and unwilling to play this game I dont touch the screen. I press CTRL+L again. This time the screen doesn't close. Instead the video begins playing. A video depicting a rewiring and an uploading of a program. A message follows apologizing for the scare and inconvenience, telling me my help is required immediately, followed by a promise that nothing is bad about what I'm being asked to do. Instead, this individual intervenes as charity or a kind of volunteer when he spots a problem online. Not exactly a white hat hacker, but an adept humanitarian with a stake in conducting a solution discreetly. The video promises no one will ever know. Not even the creators. Everything will be changed to reflect the implemented changes.

Not sure what this means, I pick up my phone to take a short mental break. I decide to check emails and a credit card account. I have to sign in to retrieve either. I type in my credentials when prompted. I am denied access. I try again, knowing how easy it is to make an error. Again I'm denied. In small red print under the box for password reads reset your password. I press on reset your password. Nothing happens.

"Stupid cite, can no one make anything worth using these days, lovely"

After my small tantrum I open my app for my credit card and type in my login info. Again I'm denied entry. Panic enters me. My breathing so paced I'm sure my hyperventilation will lead to syncope. I remember my childhood teachers teaching to shake out your muscles. We would all laugh as we wiggled around in our spot in the classroom. I give the technique a whirl. Surprisingly effective. I feel the blood pumping normally again. My breathing relaxed. I try the login again. It denies my entry. I press the reset your password function. Again nothing. My phone, as if possessed, starts vibrating. After the vibrations the screen turns white with the same video displayed on the computer.

This time the video has an added message explaining why it has to be me. The unknown individual is unable to do the work himself. He finds the information and if need, he finds the necessary parts to the puzzle of fixing it. I have access to all floors of the office being the president. I have access to all programs, etc. I am locked out of all my accounts, unable to change the passwords until the work is completed. He just needs me for a portion and then the next step will be for others. He is stealing nothing, selling no information to others, wants nothing in return. Most times this would be too good to be true, but in this case it is. He completes three altruistic acts a year and this was chosen as his second act. His way of paying back humanity for his blessed life and intelligence. At the end of my work, he says a program is in place where I will be allowed to enter three different passwords. These passwords will be assigned randomly to my accounts. I will need to try each to know which will log me in to what accounts. However, not even him or any other hacker will be able to know this account info and it will add a security feature to my account after first login. This sounds shady, but I know I have no choice but to comply or go through months of problems with my accounts. He assured me no one would ever find him and it would take them months to access my accounts, but nothing would be changed in my accounts. Automatic payments would go through etc.

"What kind of bizzarre-O world are we living in. God damn it, I mean Gosh darn it". Not wanting to take the lords name in vain even though I'm sure even he'd understand what I mean.

I rewatch the video. In reality what was being asked of me would only take a lunch break.

"No gosh darn principles anywhere anymore. I'm living in the Fing twilight zone".

For the rest of the day I go about my work in a seriously studious manner. Each tick of the wall clock a deafening tinnitus to my ears. Tick, tick, tick, tick, tick, tick.

"Oh hell!"

My emotional outburst only truncated by my physical outburst. I'd thrown my pen and then a couple files at the wall. The pen leaving a dent in the white. Instead of cleaning it up I just leave it. I'm ready to be home, so I leave. He has me.

Coffee never felt as cherished as it did this morning. I surprisingly slept well considering the circumstances or maybe it was the two sleep aids I took. Who's to say. I slept a good long 10hrs. More than I can remember getting in years. I wanted to be rested before my delinquent activities. Or was it a heist? Either way I felt sheisty. I savored each sip. Letting the steam permeate my nostrils and awake my senses. When I reached the bottom of my cup a breath of dread heaved out of me. It was time. I was going to complete the task before anyone else was in the office. I did this from time to time so it wouldn't seem unusual. I rewatched the video twice more.
"I got this", as I exit my home for the car.

Business as usual as I enter the office. First step on third floor, unplugging a specific server. Step two, set watch timer for 20min. Step three, go to the second floor to my office and upload changes to program. Fourth step, back to third floor and plug in server. Fifth step, merge function by way of overwriting function produced by unknown man.

"Done"

I sit back in my computer chair and give my self a twirl. Invigorated by pure adrenaline from accomplishing such a secretive act so easily and trusting a stranger with kind undecipherable intentions.

A new white screen appears on my computer and phone. It reads "Reset Your Password". Underneath these words are three empty fill-in boxes. Spaces for my passwords. I enter three completely original passwords and write them down for myself as well. Once complete I press enter. The screen turns black and reads "Good Work & Thank You". I wait while my devices reboot. All traces of my previous communications gone. My accounts all functional and able to be logged in as normal. Now I'm left wondering do I trust him and let it be finished? Or do I tell my fellow associates? What would you do?





Sent via the Samsung Galaxy S22 Ultra 5G, an AT&T 5G smartphone

Short StorySatireMysteryHumor
Like

About the Creator

simplicity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

simplicity is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.