Fiction logo

Click

How to Photograph a Wedding

By Abigail PenhallegonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
5
Click
Photo by Alekon pictures on Unsplash

Click.

The bride, drowning in lace and caked with makeup, her genuine smile cracking that shell with bright inner happiness.

Click.

The groom, unsmiling, tailored and trim. Almost grim.

Click.

A closeup; hands, held tightly.

Click.

Closer still. The ring.

Bringing the camera screen closer to my face, I study the ring, its facets and immense size and gaudy structure. I’ve done this before, of course, but always with someone else’s pictures. I need to be sure of this, positive of what I see.

I glance into my palm. The ring sparkles. Yes, it is the same- the facets, the size, the brilliant display of wealth.

I quickly close my fingers back over the fake jewel, glancing around to make sure no one has come into the side hallway with me.

Reentering the reception hall, I see the newlyweds chatting with some guests.

The bride is so comfortable with me by now, so happy with the pictures I’ve taken, that she hardly hesitates when I ask to take a picture of the rings.

I walk away, positioning their rings near the cake.

Click.

I show her a picture of the real diamond as, unsuspecting, she slips on the fake.

Click.

Microfiction
5

About the Creator

Abigail Penhallegon

I'm an aspiring novelist. I've started many stories and just recently become more confident in my abilities due to the encouragement of great friends and teachers. I'd like to spread joy through my writing, so prepare for happy endings. :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    A great challenge entry. Well done!

  • MT Poetry11 months ago

    The vivid descriptions and carefully crafted moments create a sense of tension and anticipation. Well done!!! 🥰🥰

  • Kim Loostrom11 months ago

    Well done, great take on the challenge!!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh, that was sneaky. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.