Fiction logo

City of André

A short story tribute to André Braugher

By Joe PattersonPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
2

André Glory is laying on his hospital bed surrounded by friends and family as he nears the end of his life. Death is not far, but André does not fear. He knew this day was on its way because his health has been in rapid decline for over a decade. André was able to avoid the end because he is such a strong willed survivor who refuses to go down without a fight.

Surrounded by his loved ones, André is happy to see everyone smiling and in good spirit even though he is on his deathbed. His children and grandchildren share in each other’s company with laughter and love and this puts a smile on his face, but André cannot help but feel something is missing. André knows how much he is loved, but as he prepares to depart by this life he is left wondering did he make a positive impact on the world he will be leaving behind.

As André ponders on the lives around him he starts to ask himself “Did I truly raise my children properly?” “Did I share the right wisdom with my grandchildren?” “Was I the stand-up friend that my friends will remember fondly?” “Is my late wife who passed away before me proud of the man she married as she watches over me?” While André thinks all of these thoughts he slowly starts to slip in and out of consciousness. He knows what’s about to happen. He knows that his eternal slumber is approaching. Taking one last look at his joy filled family around him, he closes his eyes and passes away.

In what felt like only a minute later André regains consciousness and opens his eyes. He finds himself standing outside of the window of his hospital room looking at his deceased body while his family somberly and tearfully surround his body, which is now covered in their hands. André can also feel something gripping his right hand. When he looks to his right he is greeted by the smile and warm touch of his wife who preceded him in death only two years earlier, Gabrielle.

“Hello handsome.” Gabrielle says softly. “Hello gorgeous, I’ve missed you so much.” André replies softly and with a smile. “It’s time for us to go home, André.” Gabrielle said while holding his hand. The two spirits begin to walk down the hallway of the hospital unseen by the living. “I can tell something is troubling you.” Gabrielle began. “Well-” André started. “Did I do enough GG? Did I live my life to the fullest and take care of everyone around the best way possible? I know we’re not perfect, but I at least wanna know that I did my best?” “Come with me, old man.” Gabrielle said with a chuckle grabbing both of Andre’s hands.

In a flash of light André and Gabrielle were standing on top of the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco. André also took a look at himself and Gabrielle and realized that they were both in the form of their younger selves, looking what seem like just 30 years of age. “This is my favorite place in the world, but why did you bring me here?” André asked. “Just like this city is your favorite place, you are also the city’s favorite person, André.” Gabrielle replied.

“I know what’s been troubling you, André.” Gabrielle continued. “I know you’ve been wondering if you were truly the amazing man that you were created to be and before we leave I’m here to tell you that you were. You raised our children and grandchildren the right way and they turned out more amazing than I had ever dreamed because of you. You also saved the lives of your friends in ways that you were unaware. The love that you have given your family and friends has shaped your home of San Francisco so much. The city really is yours.”

Gabrielle put a hand on Andre’s head and he began seeing images of all the joy and purpose that the city of San Francisco relished in because of the impact he made on the lives of his loved ones and in that moment André knew that his purpose in this world had been fulfilled. “Yes.” André began with joyful tears. “I understand now. Thank you my love.” “Of course.” Gabrielle replied softly. “Where do we go now?” André asked. “We’re going home.” Gabrielle replied. “The home where we will one day be reunited with everyone else we love. Until then we will watch over them in this city of yours.” “Yes.” André concurred. “The people I love in the city of André.”

~~This story is dedicated to the actor André Braugher who passed away two days ago at the age of 61 years old. One of my favorite movies from him is City of Angels (1998). This story is inspired by his role in that film as a dedication to the amazing spirit that he left on this world. Rest in peace André Braugher.

André Braugher (July 1, 1962 – December 11, 2023)

Short StoryLoveFantasyfamily
2

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    gorgeous work Joe! Thanks so much 4 sharing this story with me! It is an absolute stunner!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.