Fiction logo

CHOCOS AND WEEDS

EPISODE 1

By AshleyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
3
Photo by Nataliya Vaitkevich from Pexels

My false 6th sense has started working up again, everything had gone too smoothly till now, It would only be a moment before I mess up again. The nauseous feeling in the pit of my stomach and the need to chew on something urged me into dodging whatever was coming. But it was too late the-pledge was over and the school prefect had commanded attention.

My partner had looked over his shoulder and signed at me. Not masking his disappointment. After several failed attempts at consoling me, he had given up. Miss Sidney nudged me forward and there it was one of my nightmares, a way too large stage with too many onlookers.

Sherb had turned and winked at Rike, his moral support. My social anxiety had clouded my conscious and the urge to mirror his actions came over before I could stop. I turned towards my left to look at her non-existent best friend only to see a senior guy staring right back.I flashed a smile and from the disgusted look on his face, you could only imagine how pathetic it might have had looked.

As they were called to the stage Sherb had turned towards me, not for a wink but to give me the ‘ you better don’t mess up’ eyes. Sure that boosts confidence Expectedly or unexpectedly I had done well with the ‘try not to stutter or stare at the holes in the microphone’ part well enough. After getting down from the stage and forgetting all about gratitude for passing the bare minimum. I started to mull over the tone of my voice and parts where I could have done better.

The classes ended without much drama, like how it usually was. As much as it may sound like I wasn’t a loner. If anything I was a bird in a cage who never gets out of her cage even when it’s wide open. Studying in the same class with the same students for over a decade had both done me harm and good. While I was able to create a perfect image of I often had problems while interacting or being understood.

As got i into school bus and saw Snigda my mood brightened up and didn't think twice before jumping into her lap and sitting there. This was another one of the characters in my daily life. The senior sister whom I found on the first day in school and had shared an instant connection due to both of our introvertness. Snigdha was more shy and soft-spoken which allowed me to make myself feel a little bubbly. I would rant on and on about things that happened in my daily life and sometimes crossing the safety line that you always drew with others. Snigdha as usual smiled at me and even shared a few words.

The next day was valentines day, not much of any importance in my school. Except to those very daring kids who are brave to enough to date someone and even exchange a token on this day. Many usually try not to miss school today, not because they expect to receive a confession or anything but simply because they did not want to miss all the drama that’s going to be unfolding.

I got ready trying to look most basic and as I look every day, dispelling all chances of getting teased. It’s not much of a deal but I wasn’t simply in the mood. As I climbed my school bus it was more whispery than usual, I could even smell the aroma of chocolates floating. I waited for about a couple of minutes at the entrance to greet teachers and saw Victor coming out with Liz in a very sus manner. Seemed like something was going on.I instantly knew what that was, I was quite surprised.

I know there isn’t actually anything peculiar, a girl and a guy dating secretly But the issue was around Liz’s dad, our physics teacher and the head of ‘Date patrolling’.That’s not an actual thing but it exists here. The second most horrible crime you can commit at my school is getting into a relationship. The first being possessing electronic devices inside the campus. If you still don’t see the problem, SMH.

I was quite scared for Liz myself, On the way, I turned to inspect my class for any left open windows or doors and saw Liz searching for something under my bench. She caught my eye and jerked. I raised an eyebrow indicating what she was doing there. Liz smiled weakly and pulled out the notebook from under my table mouthing “searching” . I made an Oh face and before I could mull over it we heard the dull ringing of morning alert, and kids running. Sure, as always most in our class were late.

After being almost baked to light brown in the morning sun we rushed to our classes. The sight that welcomed us wasn’t very cool. Physics looked as if he could use a punching bag or a chill pill. I couldn’t help but turn towards Liz and sure enough, she looked shaken.

As we settled inside he closed the door and turned back slowly. And looked at each of us in the eye and subtly snorted.

My heart was beating so loudly that I was convinced if he kept this charade for any longer I would be thrown out of class for drumming. He came to my desk looked at me in the eye and asked.

“You smoke weed!?”

I was stricken for a moment and laughed out, But stopped eventually when I realised it wasn’t one of his sarcastic dialogues and nobody else was joining in.

“Sir, NO?”

~to be continued

Other works~

~Kindly consider leaving a heart :)

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Ashley

Being louder than the voices in my head....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.