Fiction logo

Cheese Heist

A lottery.

By Rachael MacDonaldPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Cheese Heist
Photo by Valentin Lacoste on Unsplash

“I’m going for it,” I squeak staring longingly at the taunting morsel. It was so close I could almost reach the crumbly, buttery lump.

“Don’t,” Cindy chitters, fear vibrating along her silver fur in waves.

I didn’t answer her. Instead, I continue to stare at the cheese. We all understood what it rested on. A death trap. My older sister was not fast enough. Could I...?

Hunger rumbles through my stomach. It’s been slim pickings since the metal sucker started gliding through the room every day after the humans left. Why do machines have to be so greedy?

I inch closer, leaving only my tail left in the hole. My whiskers sweep along. Left, right, left, right. I'm almost there, heart pulsing in my ears.

“Fast as the wind, fast as lightning.” I take a deep breath. “I can do this.”

I grab for the cheese as the metal bar breaks my spine. I black out for a few seconds and wake to Cindy climbing over me. Several others crowd around, and I find myself unable to speak. Curiously, I feel no pain.

“Thank you for your sacrifice,” they chant.

I shrug inwardly. It was my turn.

Short StoryMicrofiction
2

About the Creator

Rachael MacDonald

Avid Reader, Sometimes Poet, Occasional Writer, and searcher of truths often lost in the breaths between candy-coated lies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.