Fiction logo

Chasing Shadows in the Dark

A Micro Fiction.

By Obsidian WordsPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2

The show lights are eerie in the dark. Statues monstrous in the shadows, and painted faces appear tormented in their permanence. I’ve been on the job for months and the graveyard shift still gives me chills. The air-ducts creak, but otherwise it's so quiet my heartbeat echoes in my ears.

I start on my path, weaving through the displays. I swear I hear a scuffing somewhere but I find nothing save the rattle of vents and the hiss of purified air. I slice the darkened corners with my torch before returning to my circuit.

I pause at the panel, my peripheral certain it saw a flicker on one of the screens. It's like chasing a shadow in the dark- I find nothing. Each display case is undisturbed, priceless artefacts resting in velvet unperturbed.

It’s not until morning when the lights are all on, and the haunted shadows are evicted, that I realise something is missing. The artworks have all been cut from their frames.

I had avoided their eyes all night, hidden from their torment, blinded myself from seeing the blade of some miscreant thief. Investigation finds a loose vent as their egress.

I do not miss the haunted stares.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Oh, I enjoyed this very much. I wrote a similar story, ironically; there's something fun about paintings, their stares, their potentially hidden lives. To pair that and thievery just seems natural (and fun), as though an art thief is called by the art itself, like an entity inside the frame is using a body to meet its desires. The speaker here is very interesting; missing a thief in plain sight because you're actively avoiding looking at the art you're there to guard is just very fascinating.

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    A wonderful micro fiction! Just whatever happened to the guard afterwards, I wonder...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.