Fiction logo

Chasing Gifts

a Screenplay

By Eliza SzymakPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

FADE IN:

EXT. POLICE STATION - DAY

CHRIS (27) walks through the doorway of the police building.

INT. DETECTIVES OFFICE - DAY

Upon getting to his small work desk, he sees no folders were

left on his desk, he looks at his colleague ZACK (26) who

sits in the desk next to him.

CHRIS

Are the case folders late or

something ?

As Chris motions his hands around the desk indicating the

absence of folders.

ZACK

Today is a light day, so if you don’t

have any folders that means you get

the day off. You always work hard so

why not. Take the chance and ditch

this place.

Zack takes a moment looking around his desk while thinking.

CHRIS

I guess I’ll be on my way then

Zack waves to Chris while still sitting at his desk.

Chris walks out of the police station, looks both ways

before crossing the street and walks up a sidewalk.

EXT. PARK - DAY

Chris enters the gates to a park and has a seat on a bench.

At the park children run around on the climb sets and run

around playing tag.

A woman can be seen putting a yellow hat on a young boy. He

has a big smile on his face and runs back to the playground,

but runs over to a man sitting in the sand pit and they look

to know each other.

The man nods and puts the boy's hat on his head and the

little boy claps his hands.

The boy gets called by his mother and he runs back to her.

Meanwhile the older man gets up and walks away with the

yellow hat.

(AN HOUR LATER)

Chris has fallen asleep on the park bench from relaxing and

gets woken up by a tap on his shoulder.

CHRIS

Oh uh, am I sitting on your favorite

bench mam ?

Anita (25) looks worried.

ANITA

Actually no, I’m in need of some help

and sorry but although you don’t

appear as formal as I’d expect, I

noticed the detectives badge on your

waist.

Chris looks down at his belt and sees her badge uncovered by

his trench coat.

CHRIS

Oh, well the names Chris, how could I

help you.

ANITA

My name is ANITA (25), I’m the mother

of the boy sitting on the park's

slide just over there.

She points to the boy who waits on the slide.

ANITA (cont'd)

I think my son's hat was stolen by

this older man who was just here at

the park a few minutes ago. Maybe you

could help me get the hat back ?

CHRIS

Well funny you should ask since I’ve

actually got no cases to help out

with, so this will keep my mind busy.

Did you see which...direction the man

could have gone ?

ANITA

I only knew he was on the other side

of the park so he must have gone

through the other exit that way.

2.

Anita points to the other pathway going in and out of the

park.

Chris gets up from the bench, dusts off his pants.

CHRIS

Wait here with your son, and I will

have a look out for the . . .missing

hat.

The woman sits on the bench and waves to her son. Meanwhile

Chris leaves the park to start his search.

EXT. DOWNTOWN STREET - DAY

Around the corner is a small band group playing outside a

shop. Chris approaches them

CHRIS

Hey, have you seen a man with a

yellow hat pass by ?

THE GUITARIST

Yeah actually, hard to miss him with

that bright color on his head. I

think he walked into the flower store

next to us I think.

Chris nods in gratitude and walks into the shop next to the

band group.

INT. FLOWER SHOP - DAY

Chris walks into the store and looks around before

approaching the cashier.

CHRIS

Hey did a man possibly wearing a

yellow hat come into this store by

any chance ?

THE CASHIER

Is that him over there outside ? That

may be the same guy.

Chris looks behind him out the window and sees a man wearing

a yellow hat about to cross the street. Chris nods to the

cashier and quickly runs out the door.

3.

EXT. DOWNTOWN STREET - DAY

Chris is out of the shop and walks quickly toward the man in

the yellow hat.

CHRIS

Hey you, Stop right there !

The man is about to cross the street, he looks behind him

and sees Chris while a worrying expression covers his face.

MAN IN YELLOW HAT

Leave me alone !

Chris is running across the street to the man in the yellow

hat and manages to catch up to him. He puts an arm on his

shoulder.

CHRIS

I just need to speak to you about

that hat you’ve got . . .there.

The man slowly takes the hat off his head and looks down at

the hat while holding it.

MAN WITH THE YELLOW HAT

Did your son want the hat back ?

Chris has a confused look on his face.

CHRIS

My son ? I don’t have a son.

ANITA (O.S.)

Chris wait !

Chris turns around and sees Anita running over to him while

her son follows from behind. She catches up while trying to

catch her breath.

ANITA

I’m really sorry but I guess there

was some information left out.

A young boy (9) catches up to his Mom and looks surprised.

YOUNG BOY

Oh it’s you again Mr, still liking my

hat ?

CHRIS

Liking the hat ?

4.

MAN WITH YELLOW HAT

Yeah I was actually having a rough

day and this boy made it . .. bright

again by giving me his happy colored

hat as a gift.

CHRIS

Oh my, well I apologize if I seemed

to have scared you.

ANITA

And after the kiddo explained what

happened I had to go out . . .and

find you before anything bad

happened.

CHRIS

Well I’m just glad it’s all solved.

Anita takes her son's hand and walks down the street, Chris

nods to the man and walks across the street. The man puts

the yellow hat on his head, smiles and walks up the

sidewalk.

FADE TO BLACK

Script
Like

About the Creator

Eliza Szymak

Sometimes I feel as though I have too many ideas, and it helps to splatter them all over a page. I'm easily inspired Fantasy based stories. Anything with magic, adventure, monsters and demons. I'll dive right in for the ride.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.