Fiction logo

Chapter 18 Fire!

China`s top fantasy novels

By Alon LongPublished about a year ago 27 min read
Like

When I came out of the Marquis's camp, I felt that my heart was frozen into ice.

Spring has come. Winter in southern Xinjiang is far less cold than that in the imperial capital, and spring is also early. Two unknown trees outside the Marquis Wu's tent have been covered with white flowers, and the wind has begun to have some warmth. The rainy season is far from over, but today the sky is just a few streaks of rain, and the wind blows in the face with an itchy sweetness. The trees would have been stripped bare if their bark had not been so thick that they could not be penetrated.

Like her breath.

"General Chu."

I jumped on my horse, heard someone call me, and looked round. My name is Zhang Longyou. I haven't seen him for a long time. His face is blacker and thinner than before. I smiled and said, "Mr. Zhang, OK. Where are you going?"

He said, "I want to go to the west of the city to get some more ingredients. Let's go with you."

He also rode on the horse, walked to my side, suddenly some hesitation tunnel: "General Chu, it is also forced, you don't take it to heart."

I smiled a wry smile and said, "There is no such thing as a necessity, but a life is not as good as a horse. You know what? I'm not gonna think about it. Mr. Zhang, what have you done now?"

He also smiled bitterly, said: "Want to try without Liuhuang can make gunpowder, but have no clue."

"How many thunderbolts are left?"

He sighed and said, "Only about a hundred. Nothing else is left."

I didn't say anything. Gunpowder has been all gone, Chang Longyou no matter how big the skill, also can not change out new weapons. When Lu Gong-haeng met Jang Yong-woo for the first time, he said, Maybe the victory of this war will depend on him. He was only half right. His powder has kept us here. But Zhang Longyou again key, no raw materials, it is no different with ordinary soldiers.

I looked at the sky, misty rain sprinkled on my face, thin dense. My armor, too, was sparkling with condensation. Sue Wenyue doesn't have enough to eat, but she cleans me up every time I take off my armor. Now I have the most shining armor in the whole army, except perhaps the Lord Wu's.

"We went to the south to fight the rebellion, and of course the rebels are all vicious and violent people. But how can we blame them now?"

Chang Longyou said nothing and hung his head. His Shangqing Danding school also believed in quietness and inaction, and he was probably thinking of his own creed. The two of us walked slowly as we pleased. After a while, as he passed a dilapidated house, Zhang Longyou sighed deeply.

"General Chu." He called to me, and I didn't look up. I just said, "What?"

"Which is more valuable, a human life or a horse's?"

"Human life, of course."

"But when you enter the city of Vulture, you kill every man you catch and feed a horse well. If a man's life is more valuable, why is a man more valuable than a horse?"

"That's the situation." I was speechless. What Chang Longyou said is really hard to refute. I oppose the decision of the meeting. The only alternative is to kill the horse. But in battle, I never kill an opponent's horse if I can kill him. With this in mind, it seems a little pretentious for me to hold my objection alone.

Zhang Longyou sighed again and said, "Although the family teacher does not agree with the Qing Xu Tuna school, his views are similar to those of them. He often tells me that people of the legal system should be clean and do nothing and not get involved in the secular world. Once you enter the secular world, you have to do many things and have a bad conscience."

I looked at him with a little surprise. I could not believe that this was the silly Chang Longyou who had been seen in the baggage camp before and was almost killed by De Yang. I said, "Did you vote against it?"

He nodded and said, "Yes. You have been kind to me, but this is against the law of nature, even if one hand can not return the tide, I can only oppose."

I thought the negative vote was cast by Lu Jing Yu, but it was Chang Longyou. I felt a pang of pain, for myself, and for the man who had always been in my mind, Lu Jingyu.

At the last moment, Lu Jing Yu still bend the knee. However, I did not dare to blame him. At this time, I found that it was not so much that I opposed the decision of the Lord Wu, but that my true thoughts were for her and for Su Wenyue.

I'm not as noble as I think I am.

Back to the west gate, and Zhang Longyou broke up, I did not go back to camp, first on the city. Overhead, Jin Chishi was leading some Dragon Scale troops to repair the freshly smashed battlements. Now the Serpents probably knew that we were going to eat their carcasses, and they had learned their lesson. Most of them used their stone cannons instead of attacking the city. The cannons were not as big as the ones I had first seen at the East Gate that could punch a hole in the wall with a single shot, but they were much larger than those used by the Imperial army. Meanwhile, the Serpentine camp advanced a few hundred paces further, and five hundred paces beyond the moat was now the Serpentine camp.

The Serpents' attack must be imminent. As soon as I reached the position of the Dragon Scale Army, Jin Qianshi saw me and said, "Commander, you have come back. What is your order?"

I sighed and said, "Your majesty has ordered all the women in the army to be gathered together tomorrow."

Kim frowned. "What does that mean? Then it is better to settle the matter of the belly first. Is your majesty still thinking about the beauty contest for the emperor?"

I smiled wryly. "General Kim," I said, "You think too simply."

His eyes suddenly widened and he shuddered. "Don't you think so?"

I whispered, "No, it's true."

A frightened look came into his eyes, then he calmed down again, and smiled back. "It's just as well. Just the leader, the Su Wen month in your account can not be kept, did not let the leader use a few days earlier, really sorry for you."

I snorted and said, "I'm not giving her away."

Jin Qianshi's face changed and said, "Commander, if you disobey orders, you will only be guilty of beheading."

I looked at the snake camp outside, snorted again and said, "Go ahead. It won't last a few days anyway. Anyway, I'm not giving her away."

Gold Qianshi urgent way: "Command, you forget Luan Peng? Luan Peng did not do anything and was exposed. Although General Lu also spoke for him, the king still beheaded him."

I said it on the spur of the moment, but I felt I ought to. Only, I can't protect her, although she will surely escape this time, but at this rate, eventually. If she is not Su Wenyue, probably I will be happy to mussel.

Thinking of this, I suddenly feel ashamed too. I thought I was a gentleman, but after listening to Chang Longyou, I realized that I was only for the two women. Now I realize that after all, I was just afraid that she would end up like this. If they were allowed to keep one of them, I might give Su Wenyue away.

I'm not as noble as I think I am.

But the words have been spoken and cannot be taken back. I just said, "My mind is made up."

Jin Qian Shi looked at me somewhat dumbfounded. I escaped his sight and said, "Stay here and watch. I'm so sleepy."

The Serpents had attacked the night before, and it had taken all night to discover that it was a feint. The snake man is now moving like the wind, never dragging his feet in any attack. He will go as soon as he says he will, instead of fighting to the death as in the earliest days. It seems that the Snake Man is also getting stronger. Their feints had kept me awake all day, and I was indeed sleepy.

Back in my camp, Su Wenyue was mending a bra for me. When she saw me, she stood up with a smile on her face and said, "General, you're back."

I sat down and said, "Don't leave me. Don't leave me."

"What's wrong?" she said.

"Don't ask me anything," I shouted. "In short, don't leave my side."

She was startled, perhaps wondering why I was so angry. These days I have been very kind to her, and she has given me a rare smile. I shouted, and her face looked frightened again. I see some distressed, way: "Anyway, you do not go out alone."

"But General if you rally"

"Don't bother me," I said.

Then someone at the door said, "Governor."

The voice of Kim Chon-seok at that time. I said, "General King, come in."

He carried a jar and a large piece of meat in one hand. When Su Wenyue saw him, her face changed and she saluted respectfully, her cheeks tingling with red. I looked at the meat in his hand. It was a leg, but it was definitely not a human leg, and it could not be the flesh of a snake man. I said, "What kind of meat is this?"

Gold Qianshi toothy smile, way: "General, I killed the flying plume."

The flying plume is his horse. He was the first good Dragon Scale horse. He was very fast. The mount I was given when I arrived was good enough, but not as good as his. The horse had been shot in the foreleg the other day and had been ill fed. When Marquis wanted to kill the sick and weak horses, Jin Qianshi refused to kill the flying plume. This gold Qianshi, concubine can send me, but the horse is heavier than who, he even killed the flying plume, that is actually to do it for me.

I don't know whether to be grateful or resentful. Flying plume such a good horse, good conditioning can be recovered, even I feel a pity. But he persuaded me to kill the horse he loved, and I was somewhat grateful to him.

He put the jar on the table and said, "Sir, this is the last pot of wine.

Although I am not addicted to alcohol, but the smell of wine can not help but have a heart. He put the horse's leg on the table, took out his sword, cut off a piece, and put it on the stove. "Sir," he said, "I'm sure you don't have to tell me why I'm here today."

I nodded and said, "I don't know anything about that. But I have made up my mind. General Kim does not need to say more."

I also cut off one, put it on the stove, and sighed, "Just like your feather, won't it hurt you to kill it today?"

As I spoke, I stole a glance at Sue Wenyue, who was standing to the side. She probably thought I was talking about horses, and her face was calm.

"Governor, I said not to talk about it, just to get drunk."

The horse meat was hot and fragrant over the fire. I put the baked one into the bowl and said, "Sue Wenyue, you can eat."

That is not in front of gold Qianshi posturing, I have been eating separately and Su Wenyue equal. She took it and said, "Thank you, General."

Jin Qianshi looked at her, a smile surfaced on his face, to me: "Come, cheers."

I took a sip of the wine and felt that it was unusually thick, somewhat like the two casks that Zhang Longyou had poured down at the head of the city. Jin Qian Shi cut off half of the horse meat he had baked and said, "Commander, please."

Horsemeat had a coarse taste, but it was delicious when you were hungry. I took a bite and was about to say something when Jin Qianshi poured wine on me and said, "Governor, do it again."

I don't know how much I drank that day. The more I drank, the more I woke up. Finally, after drinking a bowl can no longer support, fell down. In a daze, it seems that someone called me a voice, I did not promise.

When I woke up, I had a splitting headache. It was dark and I couldn't see anything. I also know that it is a normal phenomenon of temporary blindness when I sleep, and I don't have to worry about it. I just try to open my eyes and adjust myself to the darkness.

There was no lamp in the tent, but a burning torch outside threw a pulsating light onto the wall of the camp.

Inside the tent, it was as dark as nothing. Suddenly, in the darkness, a soft body pressed close to me, two buds about to open pressed against my breast, soft and unreal.

I was scared, but I couldn't move because I was drunk. Immediately, two arms wrapped around my neck. In the darkness, Su Wenyue said softly, "Red Dog, you are awake."

She has never called me so gently. For seventeen days now, though she has been my concubine in name, she has washed my clothes and polished my armor, like the white Ivy and the Purple Polygonum before her, and she respectfully calls me "General" for the first time in my life.

I'm a little embarrassed. This is the first time I've ever had a skin-to-skin relationship like this. I said, "You are you." "Me." "It's not light yet," she whispered. "It's still night."

She hugged me tightly, her hands on my back, and I felt a nice sting. Her nails may have sunk into my skin, but the sting made me want to forget everything.

"It's still dark. Go to sleep." She murmured, as if talking in her sleep. Maybe it was a bad dream, too. I woke up and found that snakes and Republicans were gone, and I was still in the military academy, waiting to go with my classmates tomorrow for a drink in the hotel that was the flower of the military academy. But every now and then a tingling ache in the half-healed wound on my left arm told me it was not a dream.

It wasn't a dream, even if I'd rather it was.

I held her close and silently kissed her lips. In my breath of wine, her lips took on a fresh fragrance like premature petals on a branch. She threw herself on top of me with a little sigh.

I fell into a deep valley.

It was like a slip when I had forgotten everything, sinking into a blue sky, passing through the white clouds, the soft smoke from my side, from under my ribs, from between my fingers constantly, any desperate struggle, still a piece of emptiness.

But the despair is also beautiful.

The rain is still falling, but it has been much smaller, now playing on the tent is some gentle broken sound, thin dense, like a piece of countless small beads wear into the bead curtain, the wind is blowing ripples.

She moaned low, and the torches outside peered through the tent, and I could see only a faint shadow of her moving, more like a phantom than a real one.

I couldn't hold it any longer. I threw my weak arms around her and let her fall over me, sobbing softly.

She held me tightly, as if to merge into me, and just murmured, "The night is long. Go to sleep. It's been the longest night of my life."

I didn't know what to say, except to hold her as tightly as if I were afraid she would drift away like a feather. But drunk let my arm does not belong to their own general, I do not feel the person in his arms.

She stroked my hair and murmured, "If all this had been for someone like you, it would have been worth a lifetime."

I said nothing, but felt her body begin to heat again, like a melting ice cube.

"Promise me you'll live."

I looked up at her face and said, "What did you hear?"

Her eyes were full of tears, like a dying flower, lost to the morning dew.

Speechless for a long time. The rain rustled on the tent and dimmed the light of the torches that came through.

The drunkenness began to hit again.

When I woke up, it was broad daylight. I was the only one in the bed. A red headband was wrapped around my wrist like blood. Looking at the headband, I felt at a loss, like something pulled from the bottom of my heart, even can not stand steady. I dressed and went out of the camp.

Kim was standing in the doorway with his back to me. I went to stand beside him and whispered, "Did you tell her?"

Jin Qian Shi looked at me, and dodged my eyes, did not answer me. I patted him on the shoulder and sighed, "It's not your fault. I only think I'm a mean person."

Jin looked up and said, "Governor, don't say that."

I didn't dare look at him anymore, just looked up at the sky. It's cloudy today, and it may rain again for a while. Grey clouds fill the sky. I put my hands back and said, "General King, I thought I was an honest man, but when it came to it, I realized I wasn't. I was just a mean man."

He sighed. "Don't blame me, Sir," he said, "for being a man."

Before he finished, I suddenly pulled out the Bibb knife. His face changed, and before I could say anything more, I had cut myself in the left arm.

Blood gushed out like spring water.

Jin Qianshi startled: "Commander, what are you doing?" He snatched away my knife, tore a strip of cloth from my clothes, and bound my wound. I did not speak, as if the arm were not on my body.

The blood ran down his arm, and the headband on his wrist was now lost in the blood. I looked at the sky and couldn't hold it any longer. Tears rolled out.

It's not like I don't know what happens when I'm drunk, but I'm still drunk. I guess I just wanted to get drunk to avoid that responsibility. But now what can I do but blame myself? It was a pleasure to know that I was not as noble as I thought. That kind of guilt for Su Wenyue and hate for their own intertwined, I'm afraid now the blood runs out of I won't care.

The clouds are getting thicker and thicker in the sky. Behind the clouds, I could vaguely hear her timid voice when she first saw Su Wenyue, her rare joy when we had porridge together, and her faint sigh last night. All this, will be in my casual time like a fire to burn my memory.

If I can remember anything. Twenty-three days after the messenger was sent, there was still no news. The Lord Wu had sent five messengers, and the last one should have returned, but none did.

Sitting at the head of the city, I drank a bowl of broth that had just been served. It was the last bit of horsemeat left. The women had been killed down to the few girls who had prepared the squad for the emperor in the Marquis's camp. Now they had begun to kill some craftsmen. I remember hearing senior students at the military school tell of the siege of Gallo at the time of the Emperor's conquest. At that time, the siege lasted two months, and the Emperor's troops had not expected to hold on to Gallo. After forty days, the food had run out, but the city had not been taken, and the Imperial army had killed and eaten it. At that time, when I heard the story, I felt too cruel. I once thought that if I had such a day in the future, I would never eat people. I was eating my own horse, too, and though it was actually quite strong, and the Lord had decreed that all commanders could keep their mounts, I killed it anyway, and divided the meat among the Dragonscale.

It was also a protest against the Lord Wu's decision. It would be nice if my men ate less human flesh.

No sooner had I finished the broth than someone above the city shouted, "The Snake Man is coming! The Snake Man is coming!"

The Serpents are more and more aggressive these days, but they are careful not to attack hard. If it's a single fight, it's a lot easier to deal with than it used to be. But the snake Man's attacks are pretty organized, with a frequency that keeps us on the run.

Perhaps, I do not know which is the total attack of the snake man.

After inflicting seven or eight casualties on the snake men, they finally retreated. But our losses were seventeen men, and the terrible thing was that when the remaining soldiers of the city looked at the dead, their eyes were almost full of appetite.

Now the snake and we seem to be one another. Part of me wanted to sneer, but I couldn't.

The battering axe was so heavy in my hand that I could hardly lift it. This would never have been possible before, but now I hit it once, and I'm still panting. I put my battering axe against the wall and sat down. Wu Wanling came over, way: "Command."

I looked at him and said, "What's wrong?"

"If you don't eat, the Governor won't be able to sustain you."

I stood up, trying to straighten my already weak body, and said, "General Wu, I'm sure you know that a great man does something, but he doesn't. If you have to eat to stay alive, what's the point of living? Are not as good as Zhu Tianwei."

Wu Wanling hung his head and dared not look at me. These days, the rations are the bodies of dead women. Even this cruel food was scarce, and there were not many craftsmen; half of them had been slain.

Thousands of women can only hold the city for six days. When the woman and the craftsman are gone, what is next to eat? Eat the wounded and the dead? Even when I had been defeated before the snake men, I had a strange pride that men were men after all, and that the snake men were nothing but cannibals, beasts. But now it seems that our self-righteous pride is nothing more than a kind of self-deception.

Wu Wanling said nothing. His body was shaking, his legs were bending slowly, and suddenly he vomited violently. Indeed, it would have taken a man to vomit to know that he had eaten something that only a few days before had been a human being.

Watching him vomit, I said no more and just looked up at the sky. It's very cloudy. It might rain again. The rainy season in southern Xinjiang, which lasts for a month, is coming to an end. It probably won't be long before the Serpents take advantage of the rainy season to launch a general assault.

At that moment, from under the city came a sound of horses' hoofs, very fast. It was rare to beat a horse so fast at this time. I was about to see who it was when I heard someone call out, "General Chu, General Chu of the Dragon Scale Army?"

It was the voice of Lu Gongxing from beneath the city. I patted Wu Wanling, didn't say anything more, walked down.

The steps, which should be solid, felt like soft cotton wool to me as I walked. When we got off the city, we saw Lu Gongxing riding on his horse, but he did not dismount. With a look of panic, he said, "General Chu, Qi Lie has had an accident!"

'What?

As if I had been pricked by a needle, I did not know where the strength came from. "What's wrong?"

"He was denounced for keeping a captive woman, but he wouldn't give her up. Now the Lord has ordered the Reebok Battalion to arrest him. He fled with the woman to Mr. Zhang's camp, bound Mr. Zhang, and threatened the Lord with a Sky Fire flying Dragon."

I felt as if I had been hit on the head. My head buzzed and I felt dizzy. Qi Liye also found a woman when he was in the ruins of the city. I know that too. I saw her once. However, I did not expect that he would do such a thing, that is not what I want to do but dare not do it?

"And now? I'll go, I'll go at once."

I looked around incoherently. Dragonscale has no horses left. Shall I walk there? I was in a daze, and the road was saying, "General Chu, come up and ride with me."

I looked at him, and his horse was not too weak. He could walk two of us a mile or two. I nodded and said, "OK."

I stepped onto his horse, and mounted it in what had once seemed an easy way. As I was about to jump on the horse, I swung and nearly fell off. Lu Gongxing grabbed me to save me from falling on my back.

Jumping on the horse, I turned to Kim, who was sitting beside me and said, "General Kim, you are in charge here. Don't make a mistake."

These days, the snake people are getting more aggressive, and I'm a little afraid that one of them might attack me while I'm away. If anything goes wrong, the consequences are terrible -- and they don't have to be. If such a thing happened, it could be said that everything was over. Without the Lord's punishment, the Snake Man would surely wipe out all the people.

The road Gongxing is still very steady on the horse. He had lost a lot of weight, but his mastery of horsemanship had not changed. I sat behind him, and I didn't even notice a bump. I said: "General road, what is going on in the end?"

"There was a woman hiding in his tent, and he made her look like a soldier and did not call her out. Which know was reported yesterday, the king Hou was furious, to capture him. But he fought with a knife, and, you know, no one in the Forward camp wanted to get involved."

My heart was burning. Lu Gong Xing led me around a few corners and into a small road. I said, "Where is that going?"

"That's Chang Longyou's camp. The marquis set aside this plot of land to be guarded by 500 soldiers to test firearms for Mr. Zhang. Xiao Lie somehow know here, escaped in, caught Mr. Zhang. General Chu, your majesty is very angry. I am afraid"

He said no more, and by this time it was time.

Inside was a large open space, in which there were several camps, all blocked by fragmentary hedges and the like. Is that where Chang Longyou stays? I used to think that he lived alongside the Marquis, just like other soldiers. It seems that the Marquis has a different opinion of him.

But this is not the time to think about it. There were now five or six hundred soldiers in the center of the tent. At the head of the line was an officer with a spear in his hand, trying to make a charge. Behind the line, sitting on a large chair, was the Marquis Wu. I don't know where the strength, suddenly jumped off the horse, stumbled forward, cried: "Your majesty! Your majesty!"

As soon as I reached the marquis, I knelt down and gasped, "Your Highness, please allow me to persuade this man."

Lord Wu looked at me and said, "Is he the centurion of the fifth battalion after you?"

"You are a wise man."

He snorted and said, "I'll give you time for a stick of incense. But if you do not come out, it will be considered treason and you will be put to death. General Chu, you must be careful."

I was angry and said, "I will get it."

The Marquis of Wu is staging such a big battle just to kill the chicken and show the monkey. Many people in the army hid their girls in the tent and did not hand them over. The Marquis was very cruel to these people. If there was real evidence, the girl would be killed on the spot. But even with some of these hidden captives, there are some who hide some of them. If this convention is followed, Qillie is certain to die.

I got up and walked over to the tent.

Zhang Longyou's tent is particularly tall. I stood in front of the curtain and shouted, "Xiao Li! Lizzie! Are you in there?"

Qi Lie choked voice passed out: "General! Is it really you?"

I said, "Of course I am. May I come in?"

I was about to go in, but suddenly heard Qi Lie cry: "General, quick out!" I was stunned, said: "I only a person, no one else came in, Xiao Lie, you don't believe me?"

I opened the curtain and went in.

It is filled with bottles and cans, which are often used by Zhang Longyou. Qi Lie holding a long knife, eyes covered with tears, pointing the knife at Zhang Longyou sitting aside. A woman was standing beside him, her face also full of fear and anxiety. Chang Longyou was calm and relaxed, drinking slowly and nodding to me when I came in.

When I came in, Qi looked as if he wanted to say something, but he aimed his knife at me anyway.

I said, "Xiao Lie, what happened?"

He pointed the knife at me, but his hand was shaking. After a long time, he cried out "Wow!" and shouted, "General, they are going to kill Ah Jing. General, help me, help me, let's get out of here. I don't want to fight. I just want to live my life."

Ah Jing must be the woman. I looked at the woman with a dull pang in my heart. The Ah Jing also vaguely looked like Su Wenyue, with similar age and appearance. Qi Liyue looked at me hopefully, probably expecting me to come up with something brilliant. He had an unrealistic reverence for me, as if I could do anything.

I sighed and said, "Xiao Lie, have you ever thought of what you are doing except losing your own life?"

He must not have expected me to say such a thing. Looking at the woman, he suddenly cried: "I don't care! I can't give her up anyway."

I bite teeth, way: "small fierce! You're a soldier. Obedience is a soldier's first duty, don't you remember?"

"But you said yourself, General, that everyone has the right to live. You also said that when orders are given, they are not obeyed. That's why you have always hated us slaughtering cities. Is it possible that you can live with such murder and meat now?"

I frowned, hardly daring to answer him. What shall I say to him? I told him that I, too, was a coward, and that even if I opposed it, I had to do it in the end. Can say so, Qi Lie must not listen to.

"Xiao Lie, the city is at the end of its tether. Otherwise, the whole army will be destroyed. Besides, "I hesitated, and almost dared not go on, but went on," besides, it is not that you have been fed up with such misery, but that you have done it on a whim to take away the woman you like."

These words seemed to be opening wounds in my heart. Now, is my heart bleeding, too?

Qi Liyue is also a little numb. In the heat of the moment he must have felt a sense of pride bordering on martyrdom. But my words had knocked that pride out of him, and now he just stared at me.

"And Mr. Zhang, so many soldiers out there before. If you did release the dragon car, didn't you save one person and hurt so many others? What's the point?"

Qi Lie's hand was loose, the knife fell down, and the man fell to his knees. At that moment, the curtain was lifted and the Reebok camp rushed in, but Qillie did not react. The Reebok camp came forward and grabbed Qilie, while someone else grabbed the woman and immediately withdrew from the camp.

While they were doing this, I stood motionless. To Qi Lie said, the same stung my heart, even, let me more pain, just now I am afraid that they will not even say words will not stand down.

I just took a step and tears welled up in my eyes. Zhang Longyou on the side of a long sigh, also did not say anything, I salute to him indifferent, also walked out.

Qi Lie and the woman have been pulled kneeling in front of the marquis. I went and knelt on the ground without looking up. Wu Hou smiled and said: "General Chu, you govern the army like iron, make the mountain, really have the wind of ancient general."

I still did not raise my head and said, "Your Majesty, I dare not. I will ask only one thing from your majesty."

'What is it?

"Qilie did such a thing because I did not teach him properly, and he cannot escape the blame. I would like to assume the responsibility of Qilie, hope you grant me."

Lord Wu said nothing. There's no precedent for that. Besides, if Clair is going to be killed, am I going to be killed, too? I said this, knowing that Lord Wu would not really punish me, but to retreat to advance, so that he would not kill Qi Lie.

Qi Liyue suddenly jumped up, the Reebok camp on the side of a cry, eagle eagle also draw knife in hand, step on the road, only Qi Liyue will rush forward. But Qilie drew a small waist sword from his waist and stabbed the woman's vest. The woman did not say a word, but immediately lay down limp.

Marquis Wu smiled and said, "Please General, it is never too late to mend. You should be held to account, but now is the time to take charge."

Wait for the marquis to say how to follow the right, Qi Lie sad smile, way: "No."

He pulled out the girl's waistcoat with his little sword, which was still stained with blood, and plunged it into his heart. I exclaimed: "Xiao Lie" just want to get up, but where in time. By the time I reached him, he had fallen down with a faint smile on his lips.

I cried: "Xiao Lie, how can you be so stupid?"

Qi Lie's eyes have no god, blankly: "General, you said, the husband has something to do, something to do"

And before he had finished speaking, he fell on her. The blood gushed from both men, forming a pool on the ground, and trickling slowly down to the ground.

I don't know how long I stood. For a moment, someone helped me and said, "General Chu, General Chu!"

That is the way to go. Hearing his voice, I realized where I was. I smiled sadly, said: "General road, probably, I am not what big husband."

Lu Gongxing did not answer me, and had nothing to say.

It began to rain again, thin rain floating on my face, as cold as a lot of ice made of small needles. The place where Qi Liye and the woman died, still left a little blood, has been a little dry. The rain beat on it, shining like a gem, and seemed to burn.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Alon Long

We are the world, we are the children

We are the ones who make a brighter day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.