Fiction logo

Changeling; Chapter 2

Chapter 2

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like

"Oh. No. Absolutely not," Ava seethes.

Pausing in applying my lipstick, I glance over at her. She's glaring down at her phone. "What?" I ask.

She turns her annoyed look on me, but I can tell the annoyance isn't directed at me. "Don't you check your phone at all?" She demands.

Blinking, I reach down and pick up my phone, which I had left face down on the counter. Turning the screen on I can see I have a message. Which I can only assume she also got and considering her annoyance it means it's from Fin. I sigh. "He changed his mind?"

"Not if I have anything to say about it." Ava furiously taps away at her phone. A moment later she's holding it aloft and it rings aloud on speaker.

I set my phone back down returning to my makeup.

It rings twice more before it's answered. "Yeah?" Fin asks.

"Phineas Heath Nicholson, you are not backing out at the last minute," Ava scolds. "Kaelyn and I are nearly ready."

"You can't use the middle name trick on me," Fin objects. "And my answer was always a maybe. I can say no."

"Yesterday you said you would come," Ava says pointedly.

Once again, I stop in my work. "When?" I demand. I hadn't seen any message or heard anything.

"I was talking with him yesterday." Ava waves me off. "You can't just change your mind like this without warning."

"When we were at dinner?" I remember her taking a picture of both of us to send to Fin to brag that we were having fun while he was stuck with family. She had been texting him for a few minutes after. Why hadn't she mentioned anything?

"Look, Ava, I really appreciate your concern, but it's fine really. Besides, one of my uncles is still here with his wife and kid. It'd be a little rude to dip."

"Like Nana cares. Do not make me use the nuclear option Fin."

The line is absolutely silent for a moment. "You wouldn't."

I can feel my eyes narrowing. I wasn't sure what the nuclear option was. I didn't really care either. I simply hold out my hand. Ava gives me a curious look before handing her phone over to me.

"Phineas, please come," I ask, pouting, even if he can't see it. "It's one last huzzah for our show choir trio."

"Freason always put me in the very back for a reason," Fin drawls.

"You don't have to sing. Just come and have fun with us."

"Alright. Fine. I'll see you there."

"See you there!" I call as the line goes dead.

I offer Ava back her phone and she accepts it. "You go girl."

I roll my eyes. "It's Fin. You just have to listen to his objections and remind him that he's going to be with us. It's not hard. You don't have to use the 'nuclear option.'"

Ava stares at me for a second. "Is there anyone you don't know how to work?"

I shrug, flashing her a mischievous smile. "What can I say? I can't help but be charming."

"I'd rather just push people around. Much more fun."

"And that's why we're unstoppable together."

Ava offers me her hand, pinky up. "Worst friends."

I wrap my pinky around hers. "May the world burn around us."

We both laugh as we release each other, returning to getting ready.

About twenty minutes later, I'm shoving my phone into a small purse. "Who's driving?" I ask as I drop my keys in as well.

"I figured you could. One way or another, we have to come back here. Either to drop you off or so I can get my car. I also figured your parents won't care if I crash here again tonight." She slings her purse over her shoulder.

I give her a look. "Do you want to borrow one of my small purses?"

Ava returns my look. "And go somewhere without being prepared?"

"You're such a mom sometimes."

"And how many times have Fin and you been grateful for that?" She asks, leading the way out of my room.

I roll my eyes as I follow. "We're going to Turners for grad karaoke night. What could possibly happen?"

"You never know," Ava says mysteriously as she starts down the stairs.

Mom looks over from the living room as we reach the main floor. "Well, don't you two look nice."

Ava smiles. "Thank you."

"Who's driving?" Mom asks.

"I am," I tell her as we head for the door.

Mom nods. "Alright. Drive safe. Oh, should I expect you home by a certain time?"

Ava and I look at each other before I look back at Mom. "I really don't know how late the event even runs."

"Copy that. I'll leave my phone on. Call if you need anything."

Ava opens the front door, slipping out.

"Will do. Love you, bye!"

"Have fun!" Mom calls as I shut the door.

"Your mom is too sweet," Ava says as I lock the door. "My mom would just say we're on our own."

I turn from the door, giving her a look. "It's sweet until you realize she'd just wake my dad up and send him. She may be the one on call, but she won't be the one coming."

"It's still sweet that they'd do that," Ava says, starting down the path to the carport.

I roll my eyes again. "Let Fin know we're on our way."

"Oh, right."

Ava pulls out her phone as she rounds my car to the passenger side. When I unlock the car, she opens the door with one hand, still looking at her phone. She hm's as she slips into my car.

I look over at her as I set my purse in the center space. "What?"

"He's already on his way. I guess he'll be waiting for us." She sets her phone down so she can buckle up. "I'll let him know we're leaving now."

"You should tell him to go in and get us a table when he gets there."

"Good thinking," she says as she types in a message. "Do you wanna be close to the stage?"

"Um," I consider the question as I start the car. "Not super close, but I don't want to be at the back either."

"Copy that. A table in the middle, but closer to the front than the back."

"Booth or table?"

"Does it matter?"

"Not really, but which do you want?"

"I don't know."

"Booth."

In a split second, I suddenly do care. "No, table. That way whoever is facing away from the stage can turn their chair if they want to watch instead of straining their neck."

"We can just sit Fin facing away from the stage. He can stand to watch us."

"Wow, so considerate."

"Fine, table."

SeriesSci FiMysteryFantasyFableAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.