Fiction logo

Casting Shadows

The Things We Do In The Dark

By Jo SmithPublished about a year ago 23 min read
Like
Casting Shadows
Photo by Lê Tân on Unsplash

“I think Jobe is cheating on me,” she said rolling over in her lounge chair. Her golden skin glistened with tanning oil, draping an arm over her eyes.

Gasping, Bianca lurched forward, glancing around the resort beach. “How could you even imagine such a thing! Joban loves you so much, it even makes me jealous.” Swiping her long braids off her shoulder, the bronze beads shimmered in the sun.

“I know, but when I was cleaning his office I answered a call from a strip mall about the office he wanted to rent. I don’t know why he would want to rent an office, much less in that part of town.” Hailey huffed, “I don’t know how to ask him.”

“I’m sure he is doing like outreach as the Senator or something. The election is coming up and poor people vote for people they think care about them.” Bianca said shrugging as she ate her pineapple off the toothpick, sticking out of the hurricane glass. “Hey, hey!” She shouted snapping her fingers, she pointed to her empty glass.

“So, you think I shouldn’t go by the office front to see?”

“Eww, no, what if you get mugged? I’m sure your wedding ring cost as much as the building. This brings me to question two. You don’t clean, what were you looking for?” Arching a dark eyebrow, Bianca’s face lit up with mischief.

Squealing, Hailey flipped on her back kicking her feet in the air. “My birthday is next month, and I wanted to see what he got me. I didn’t find anything though, so I got super bummed.”

“Ah, that’s why you needed a last-minute girls' trip to Bora Bora.” Bianca giggled, taking the drink from the server. “My friend is thirsty too, can’t you tell it is hot out here?” scoffing she waved him away, “I swear the help has really gone downhill.”

“So, I’m hoping with me taking a mental health week, he will have time to shop.” Grinning wide she sat up crossing her long tawny legs. “Maybe I should have dropped hints to the driver before I left.”

“Well, it’s our last night here, let's hope he had time to shop.”

“He better have, he had time to see an office downtown. I wonder if the windows are all boarded up?” Hailey inquired. Bouncing excitedly in her seat when the waiter came into view with the large frozen drink. “Thanks, Jorge.”

Stilling, he bent down into a curt bow. The nametag, on his white shirt, read Ricky in large black letters. “My pleasure.”

“Do you want to get some lunch?” Bianca asked.

“Nah, it will ruin my buzz,” Hailey said waggling her eyebrows as she took a huge gulp from her glass.

“You are so bad.” She said laughing, gently smacking her friend on the thigh.

The peak of Mount Shasta was visible from the plane window, the sunset painted a beautiful mural behind the great snow-capped mountain. As many times as Hailey had seen this view, its beauty will set her soul on fire. Nudging in her arm, Bianca wiggled in her seat.

“Take a selfie with me, Hails, this skyline is to die for.” Turning around to lean against the window, the girls put on their best whimsical faces. The shutter clicked no less than 15 times. “It’s perfect,” she squealed. “It is okay if I post it on insta?”

“Of course, it would be a crime not to! I mean look at us.” Turning back to the window, she watched the mountain as they flew towards the airport.

Shuffling off the plane, Hailey looked around craning her neck. “I don’t see Preston, do you, B?”

“You have got to be fucking kidding me,” she said breathlessly.

Following her gaze across the airport, a wide smile broke across her face, giggling, a pink hue crept up her cheeks. There was Senator Polakoff, standing in his suit under a balloon arch. The red glittered balloons made up a huge heart archway. He held a small handwritten sign that read Hailey Polakoff as if she could have missed him. Tabloid workers were snapping pictures left and right as she walked up to him.

“Mrs. Polakoff.” He said his deep timber sending sparks into her chest.

Giggling, she jumped into his arms, “Senator, it is so lovely to see you.”

“So jealous, I feel sick,” Bianca said walking by, Roman, her driver waited sheepishly behind Joban. Snapping a pic of the scene, “I’m telling Ashland to step his game up.” Her heels clipped on the airport floor, as she walked past Roman. Whistling, she beckoned him with two fingers of her perfectly manicured hand.

“What’s on the agenda for tonight?” Hailey asked interlocking their fingers and leaning into his arm.

“Well, I thought I would take my beautiful wife out to dinner.”

“Oh, I like that plan.” She said, feeling guilty the thought even crossed her mind about him cheating. Sure, men did it all the time, but not her Jobe, he was a man among men.

The automatic doors slide open, his black BMW sat idling on the curbside. Opening the passenger door for her, Hailey slid into the leather seat. He leaned in for a kiss before he closed the door with a soft click.

The large restaurant was empty, save for the waiter and them. Hailey glanced around, raising an eyebrow at Jobe.

“What? I made a reservation.” He said shrugging.

“How many did you reserve.” She said making air quotes.

“One big one technically.” Jobe laughed, kissing her hand he pulled her seat out. Seating himself across from her, leaning into the table, he crossed his arms. His brown eyes stared into the depths of her jade ones.

“What?” she asked giggling the pink hue spreading across the apple of her cheeks.

“You have robbed me of your beauty for a week, I think I get to look a little longer tonight.” He said flashing his pearly whites.

Smiling widely, she struck a pose. He laughed loudly and winked at her.

“I really did miss that sound,” Hailey said.

A soft purr rhythmically beat under the table. A shadow of annoyance ghosted over his features sharp features. Glancing down at his watch, he sighed in frustration. “I will be right back, my love, I have to take this.” Kissing her hair, he walked to the entrance.

Pulling her phone from her purse, she scrolled to B, fingers flying over the keyboard as she watched for his return.

Hailey: He just left the table to answer a call…is that a bad sign or a present?

Queen B: Oh, girl with that pickup I'm sure it’s a gift. Maybe he got you an island?

Tapping her almond nail on the screen, she chewed on the inside of her cheek. Hearing his dress shoes clip on the marble floor, she stashed her phone.

“Well, darling, I have bad news. I have something that I have to take care of today.”

Pouting, Hailey deflated, sinking into her chair. “Oh…it must be super important, huh?”

“In a perfect world, I could revolve around my little sun day and night. Sadly, as a senator that world is denied to me. I’ll make it up to you, I promise. I’ll send Preston to pick you up in the car. Just try to enjoy dinner, yeah?” He kissed her and hurried off in the direction he came from.

Removing her phone from her purse again, she sent another quick text.

Hailey: Must be a fabulous gift, he just bailed on dinner. Have you eaten yet?

Queen B: I would love to meet you but, I’m punishing Ashland for his lackluster greeting.

Hailey: Enjoy Queen, you deserve it.

Pushing her salad around her plate, Hailey sighed. Her phone vibrated against the table, Glancing down at the screen. The text read Driver: I’m here when you’re finished with dinner, Mrs. Polakoff. Drumming her fingers on the screen again, she scooted back from the table. Her stiletto heels clipped with each step as if drumming her disappointment across the floor. Preston held the door open for her as she exited the building. Getting into the driver's seat, he glanced at her in the review mirror.

“Would you like to stop by the Caramel Apple on the way home, Madame?” he asked putting the car into drive.

“I’m not sixteen anymore, Preston, ice cream doesn’t make me happy. It makes me bloated,” she said rolling her eyes. Huffing she dropped her head into her hands.

“Yes, of course, Madame.” Pulling into the street, he kept his eyes glued to the road, for the remainder of the trip back to Polakoff Manor. Pulling into the large brick turn-around driveway, Preston pulled up to the curb. Opening his door, he had one leg out when he heard the backdoor close. He watched Hailey walk up to the manor. Running up the staircase, she kicked her four-inch heels off in the closet. Stripping out her dress, she collapsed into bed. Her black matching bra and panties left little to the imagination. Burying her face into the pillow she drifted into a restless sleep.

The mattress beside her sunk down, and fingers slowly walked up her back. Hailey opened her eyes, looking at Jobe side-eyed as she growled. “What time is it?”

Looking at his watch he laughed “It’s half past eleven.”

“Where did you go?” she asked rolling over onto her side.

“The office, stupid emergencies.”

“Oh…I called the office; Clark said you weren’t in.”

“Hmm must have just missed me” he mused. “Go back to sleep, darling, it’s late.” Pulling the covers up to her shoulders, the mattress shifted as he stood up. “I’ll be in my office if you need me, Little Sun.” Snuggling back into the thick comforter she drifted back into a deep sleep.

The sun peaked through the curtains, mumbling to herself, she stretched her arm out, patting around the cold empty bed. Pouting she sat up, looking around the suite, the bathroom door was open, but it was just as empty as her bed. Padding down the hallway she knocked on his office door. No answer greeted her, pushing the door open she peeked inside. His office was neat, with no paper out of place. Closing the door again she leaned against it sighing.

Pulling on her leggings, she stepped into her sneakers. As she walked past the kitchen, Preston was seated at the table drinking coffee.

“Good morning, Madame, is there somewhere that I can take you?” he asked standing.

“I’m going to yoga, I’ll drive myself.” She called over her shoulder. Hailey wasn’t a fan of driving, but this insanity wasn’t something she wanted Preston to see. Pulling out of the manor she drove to Jobe’s office. Whipping into a parking spot, she rushed up the steps. Slowing her pace at the top, she smiled and greeted people as she passed. Clark looked up from his desk, looking a little puzzled.

“Good morning, Hailey, the Senator isn’t in this morning,” Clark said.

Masking her surprise, she breezed passed him. “I know, I was just dropping something off on my way to yoga, no biggie.” Pushing the door open she slipped in, closing the door behind her. Sitting in his black office chair, she spun in a circle looking up at the ceiling. Stopping her orbit, she pulled her phone out, tapped it with her nails, sat it on the desk, and spun again. “This is fucking stupid, I should just call him.” Unlocking her phone, and punching the call button, she waited for him to answer.

“Hey Bunny, how did you sleep?”

“I slept pretty well, I didn’t even hear you leave.”

“Yeah, I had a lot of paperwork at the office to take care of. You know election year is coming fast.”

“Oh, you’re already at your office.” She inquired leaning her elbows on his desk.

“Work never stops. Huh…hold on… Yes, Clark. Honey, there is someone here I have to meet with. Let me call you back. I can pick you up for lunch?”

“That’s okay…I’m going to yoga.” She said softly tears sliding down her face. With a soft click, she placed her phone on the desk, face down. Life was funny like that sometimes. She knew what she knew about her marriage, but the evidence pilling up, looking her in the face made her waiver. Googling the address of the strip mall on her phone, she called the owner. A sick cloud swirled in her gut. Jobe would be so hurt if he knew what she was doing. But, dammit, she hurt too! Sitting in his office while he lied was not like him. This was more than birthday magic; something was really wrong here. Why he wouldn’t tell her made the hurt worse.

“Hello?” the old voice croaked over the speaker. If a frog smoked for sixty years, Hailey mused, that is what it would sound like.

“Hello, yes, you rented an office to my husband, Joban Polakoff. He asked me to get a spare key, I have some papers I need to drop off to him.”

“Well, good morning, Mrs. Polakoff, I would love to meet you. However, I’m in Germantown for the morning.” She croaked.

“That’s no problem, I’m at his office now. I can meet you if you’re free.” Twirling a long strand of blond hair around her finger, she held her breath awaiting a response.

“I’m at Haus Des Reibekuchen, the spare key will cost you.”

“Of course, I’ll bring,” searching in her wallet she grimaced “100 dollars, will that cover it? I can get more cash.”

“Jesus, lady it’s a key, not another office. Twenty-five dollars is plenty.”

“Right, of course, I’ll see you shortly.” Exciting the office, she was half hoping to see Jobe talking to Clark. Maybe he was on his way in. Sadly, the young man was slumped over with his head in his hand, playing some computer card game. Sprinting across the street, she programmed her GPS, it was a twenty-minute drive to Germantown. Northern California had a lot of cold rainy days. But today had the gall of being bright and sunny. Not the weather she would pick for heartache.

The restaurant featured a large plastic stack of potato cakes on the roof. The small parking lot was filled with cars. Parking across the street, she took a deep breath, clenching her fists on the wheel. “This is it, Hailey, once you get this key you can’t go back. You’re the crazy wife now…even if Jobe doesn’t find out…And now I’m talking to myself. I really have lost it.” She said sliding out of the car. Jogging across the street, the bell on the door chimed when she pulled it open. The short rotund woman sitting at the desk offered a lopsided grin.

“Good morning, Mrs. Polakoff, you were close by.” The melted frog appearance really fit the voice.

“Hi, it’s nice to meet you,” pulling the money from her purse the woman waved her hand away. Leading her over to a table.

“Sit, sit, you have to try the reibekuchen while you’re here.” She said, “I’ll go get the key.” A waiter came by, dropping off a plate of cakes, each one with different toppings. Hailey’s stomach growled loudly. The woman looked back at her laughing, “I knew you were hungry.”

Hailey took a bite out of each of the cakes. Wiping her mouth with a napkin, the short woman waddled back through the curtain.

“You liked the cakes?”

“They were delicious, I’ll have to bring Joban back to try them.” Smiling sweetly, she took the key. Trying again to hand the lady her money, she softly shook her head.

“The senator coming here will be very good for business. You can keep your money.” Shuffling away she went to greet another person standing by the door. Dropping the hundred-dollar bill on the table, Hailey slipped out.

The strip mall was an hour away, on Eighty-sixth Street. That part of town was rough, but hopefully, at this time in the morning, the drunks were still in a stupor. People don’t get robbed in the daytime, right? She mused. Stopping the car a block away, she parked in an abandoned lot, the windows were boarded up, with “DO NOT ENTER” spray painted across the front. Gulping, she clicked open her pepper spray, holding her finger on the trigger in her pocket. If the car is gone when I get back, I’ll just call Preston to get me. She thought locking the doors. Twice. Following her GPS, the little circle edged closer to the address.

Gasping in horror, she saw Joban’s BMW parked on the curb. The car behind it had a pink plate that read Queen B. “You have to be kidding me.” she breathed in a whisper. The windows weren’t boarded up, but they were sprayed painted black. Straining to hear anything, she listened against the glass. All she could hear was her own heart beating in her ears. Rolling the silver key around in her pocket. Hailey shakily put it in the lock. If the road to hell is paved with good intentions, where is this going to lead me? She thought, holding her breath, she clicked the latch open. Opening the door an inch, she looked around it was empty. Sneaking in the door, she shut it behind her. The small building’s front room was completely empty. Behind the counter, a single door loomed on the far wall. Behind the dull wood, all the dark secrets were housed. The hallway lead downstairs, cobwebs coated the ceiling, and in the distance, she heard murmurs. Steeling her spine, she crept down the stairs. Stacks of wooden crates blocked her view, inching around them, Hailey’s screams echoed off the walls.

A shadow raced across the cracked concert floor. Wrapping around Hailey like an enormous snake, she was lifted from the floor. The dark shadowy vine covered her mouth. All of the sounds got lost in the void. A voice came from the darkness that sounded like a demonic chorus. “Rats, Rats, Rats. Oh just look how pretty.”

Turning around the person in the black robe, turned toward them. Their face was obstructed, the gilded mask had no eye holes. The ram’s head was covered in gold, the eyes had large moonstones in each socket, and blood ran in ominous rivers down its snout. Two curled horns sprouted on either side of their head. A strange double cross with an infinity symbol was painted in gold, and black wax dried on the horns.

Tears streamed down her face. Wiggling against the shadow’s hold. Her heartbeat pounded in her ears. The floor had black candles set up on an altar. An image she couldn’t make was painted onto the floor. The robed man took a step towards them, pausing mid-step, raising a hand, sharp metal claws glinted in the candlelight. Removing his mask, Joban’s brown eyes were wide as he looked at Hailey dangling by a shadow. The fear in her green eyes was something he had never seen before, he would never forgive himself for being the reason it was there now. “Put her down Zozo,” Jobe said rushing forward.

Sinister laughter rang from the shadow, almost as if three people were laughing at once. Dropping her to the floor, she landed in a crumple. The shadow spread into multiple forms, “Be careful, how you speak to me human. Remember what it was like before me?” Joban fell to the ground clutching his stomach, he vomited blood on the ground. The Shadow swayed to the rhythm of his screams. “Music to my ears,” the shadow purred, wrapping itself around Joban. Hailey was frozen in place, shaking as she watched the scene in horror. Joban fought to get into a child’s pose.

“I’m sorry…I’m gaaahhhh.” He screamed pushing his face into the floor. “Please make it stop!” The pain in his stomach died down, and panting, he lay on the ground sweat covering his brows. “Baby, why did you come here? You were never meant to see this” Crawling over, he pushed the hair from her face. Her jade eyes were blank when he turned her chin to meet her gaze.

“What is happening here…What is that…why…why are you wearing that.” Hailey said robotically looking past him to the shadow that writhed in the corner of the room.

“Look at me, Little Sun. Please look at me,” he said. Her eyes tracked over to his face, finally meeting his gaze. The blood was drying on his chin, the copper smell filled her senses. “A year ago, the doctors told me I had stomach cancer--”

“Why didn’t you tell me?” She whispered. Fresh tears cleaned a path in the dirt on her face.

“I’m getting to that. I didn’t want to worry you. I was going to fight it and we could go on being happy. But after the chemo and treatments, I got worse. Bunny, they told me I was going to die, that I only had two or three months left. That I had mets to my liver and lungs. I couldn’t go yet, I just couldn’t. I wasn’t done loving you yet.” Sobs erupted from his chest; he pulled her into a hug, crying into her hair. “There are spaces on your skin I haven’t kissed yet, jokes I haven’t told you, a smile I haven’t wrung from your lips. So, I called someone to help. I’m living on borrowed time. I have to take it from other people and steal their fire to keep my flame going.

The shadow shot out of the corner, wrapping around them, several red eyes glowed from beneath the shadows. “Hmmm yes, yes. Twin flames they are. You may consume her fire and live a full life yes.” The shadow-clawed talons wiggled around her face.

“No, I could never hurt her, she is my reason to be. The reason I called.” Joban said stroking her hair.

Pushing back, she looked up at the shadow, “How is this possible? Bad things don’t happen during the day. I thought magic worked at night.” Her small voice was barely audible.

Cackling, the shadow swooped in a circle “Humans are silly, yes, you can’t cast a shadow without the light. Hmmm yes, yes.” Landing in the far corner, Bianca walked out of the darkness.

Hailey’s mouth fell open, “But how? We grew up together?” stammering Hailey pointed at her.

Flicking her long braids over her shoulder a familiar laugh floated through the breeze “Since the glow up of ’93, duh. Joban it is time.”

Standing Joban righted his robes, walked into the center of the room, he kneeled on the alter. Attaching the mask to his face he waited, palms up. The shadow pulled forward a small form. Floating it above Joban, the child wiggled, suspended by a dark vine. A long-shadowed claw floated out of the darkness, cutting the child's chest to his belly button, as blood cascaded over Joban’s dark robs. The dark hand reached into the boy’s chest. Pulling forth a glowing silver light. The shimmering blob pulsated like a heartbeat. Bianca touched the silver liquid to the mask Joban wore. With a sizzling sound, the light disappeared into his mask, the gold symbols upon it glowing. The small child, peeled away in layers, starting at his crown. His skin bubbled up and gave way. The muscle wrapping around the bone plopped onto the floor, smoking, leaving little piles of ember in its stead. The bones began to crumble, raining down over Joban, the blood soaking up the ash.

“Oh, that always makes me purr. I’m out, you humans have fun. Joban I’ll see you next week, don’t wait so long to pick another soul. You almost ran out of time this week.” Stalking past the crumbled Hailey hiding behind the crates. Bianca ran up the steps, the door swung shut behind her.

Standing, Joban removed his mask, walking towards her, but Hailey shrank away in terror. “Hailey, we need to talk about this.” Dropping his robe on the craft, he kneeled in front of her. “Please just try to understand, I don’t want to leave you.”

“How many? How many kids have you killed?” she asked eyes glued to the ashes dotting the floor.

“That was seventy-two,” he said holding her hand. “But now that you know I don’t have to sneak around anymore. I can tell you everything.”

Tear-stained eyes meeting his, Hailey peered into the depths of his soul, looking for a sign. “I don’t know what to say, I am so confused.”

“It’s just something I have to do, so we can keep having a life together. I’ll stop as soon as you're not on this earth with me anymore. The cancer is so advanced I’ll be dead in weeks. You don’t know what it's like to have that kind of pain. Dilaudid was like aspirin, nothing helped. I was so desperate. It came to me in a dream to use the Ouija Board to call out for help. I knew the bargain wasn’t going to be easy. But anything was better than leaving you alone for forty or so years. I just have to bring another kid here, next week.”

“This seems wrong, those poor kids-”

“Never had a chance Hailey, their parents are on the way to overdose, the system is no place for a child to thrive.”

“What if I make you a deal,”

“What’s that?” he asked arching an eyebrow.

“We start adopting children to give them a chance,” Hailey said squeezing his hand. “I just don’t want to live without you.”

“Done, we can adopt as many as you want.” He said pulling her into a hug. Pulling her up, he walked with her upstairs. “Are you going to be okay to drive home? Do you want me to call Preston?” he asked worry marring his features.

“I’m okay, I’m going to drive around a while to clear my head. I’ll see you at home.” Leaning in for a kiss she trotted down the sidewalk. The bright sun had since retreated behind black clouds. Her silver BMW was still parked at the run-down building. Sighing in relief she got into her car and locked the doors. Hailey looked into the rearview mirror. Taking a deep breath, she put the car in drive and pulled out onto the empty road. The old buildings zipped by as a clash of thunder boomed. Lighting broke through the blackness, spreading across the sky. Pulling over to the curb, Hailey saw a child playing with a deflated volleyball. Rolling down her blackout window, she called out “Hey kid, it’s starting to storm pretty bad. Do you need a ride home?” The little girl lit up, covering her hair with the ball, as she ran over to the car. The rain beat down on her, drenching her purple dress. Smiling sweetly, Hailey unlocked the doors. Hopping in, the girl dutifully clicked on her belt as Hailey pulled away from the curb.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Jo Smith

Just a baby author working on publishing a book. Practicing my craft to improve every day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.