Fiction logo

Carving Pumpkins

Daily Flash Fiction Challenge: Story #29

By Lauren TriolaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Carving Pumpkins
Photo by Miguel Teirlinck on Unsplash

I cut into the pumpkin’s flesh, taking off the top. I scoop out the seeds and guts. This part always creeped me out as a kid. It felt like what I imagined intestines would feel like. My brother would take a bite of the innards, pretending to be a zombie. My mom liked to collect the seeds to make snacks.

I just throw the stuff away.

Once the inside is all cleared out, I start to carve the face of the jack-o-lantern. I’m not a great carver. I’ve seen impressive, artful carvings online, but even when I try to use tracings, I never get it right. I tried to make a bat once and he ended up with half an ear and a broken wing.

So I always try to keep it simple. I do the easiest thing possible—triangle eyes, triangle nose, and a wide mouth with a few teeth. It’s basic, but it’s all I can do.

As I carve this pumpkin, though, I feel a sudden spark of inspiration. My hand moves as if guided by something else. I cut out a face, something I didn’t trace beforehand, something I’ve never even thought of before. But there’s an image in my head, branded into my brain, and I am compelled to get it out.

The face stares back at me from the jack-o-lantern. It came out perfectly. No slipups, no wonky looking lines. It doesn’t look like anything I’ve ever carved before. It doesn’t look like something I am even capable of carving.

I can’t quite describe the face. It’s terrifying, like something from a horror movie. It has so many eyes and teeth. I don’t know why I came up with this design. I don’t know where it came from. But it appeared in my head, fully formed.

Now, it glares back at me from the eviscerated pumpkin. I put an electric tealight inside and it glows dark red, like hellfire.

I place it by the front door for the trick-or-treaters to see.

But something feels off.

I keep going outside to look at it. I don’t know why. I stare into its many eyes, mesmerized…

No one comes by on Halloween, not a single trick-or-treater. I see a few kids pass the house, but when they catch sight of the jack-o-lantern they run away.

I don’t get it. It’s not that scary.

I go outside again, to look at the face. It glows like it’s burning, like a portal to some demonic world. I guess it is a little scary. But that face…

It’s still stuck in my mind. When I carved it, I thought I had gotten it out, but it’s still there, staring at me every time I close my eyes.

It’s in my head, and it’s also staring at me from the pumpkin. It stares and stares. Its eyes…

I think it’s telling me something. Its eyes are pleading…

It wants me to help it.

It needs me to help it.

I must make way for its arrival.

I must prepare.

As I stare back into its eyes, I find that suddenly I’m holding a knife. There’s something red dripping from the edge.

It’s blood. But whose?

The front porch is covered in it. I’m covered in it. There’s a siren wailing in the distance. There are still forms lying on the dark lawn.

The face of the jack-o-lantern is red, painted in blood. The light inside is crimson fire. Its eyes and teeth point toward me. It looks pleased.

There’s just one more thing to do.

I raise the knife to my neck. I make a slice, like I’m carving a pumpkin, removing the top.

More blood soaks the porch as the world goes black.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Lauren Triola

I'm mostly a fiction author who loves Sci-Fi/Fantasy, but I also love history and archaeology, especially the Franklin Expedition. Occasionally I write poetry too. Oh, and I have a podcast. You can find me at a variety of places here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Lauren Triola is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.