Fiction logo

Car-hanging girl doll

By Brandsandu

By BrandsanduPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

The Mumbai-Pune Expressway is a highway that connects Mumbai and Pune. It is said to be a good road for speeding.

I had recently purchased a new car, a 1500 cc Verna 4S Fluidic. I was eagerly anticipating the chance to inspect the drive pick-up.

That evening, at 9:30 p.m., I received a call from a good friend in Pune, who informed me that an urgent business matter had arisen. I had to meet him at 7 a.m. the next day. Only then did I decide to begin. Why wait? So, I left Mumbai around 11:30 p.m. or so in the evening.

Using the Eastern Freeway, I was able to reach the Mumbai-Pune Expressway by midnight because the route was free at night. It was a weekday, Thursday. The highway was completely deserted. Mid-April. Summer was on its way. The window glasses were pushed down by me. Music that has been amplified. There were very few other automobiles on the route. It was around 12:30 a.m. at the time. I discovered that Verna Fluidic could easily accelerate to 180 km/h. I continued gliding along, pleased. Maybe I just shut my eyes for a second. I heard a thud coming from the front wheels. I was startled awake.

Shit.

I fell asleep at the wheel!!?? Maybe for a few split seconds. Is it possible that I hit something? I came to a halt. I also took off the flashlight. On the journey, I took a look around. No, there’s no evidence of life or movement. Thank you, God! Saved.

The time is 01:15. It was along a stretch of road near Lonavala. Started driving and vowed never to sleep while driving. By 2 a.m., I had arrived in Pune. I slept at a friend’s house. By the morning, the work was completed. And then I started walking away.

My friend and his wife, on the other hand, insisted that I stay for the day and just hang out with them. I couldn’t say no. But by the evening, I was tired of waiting for approval because I had a lot of work to do in Mumbai.

“OK,” said a friend. But not before we see Johnny, an old acquaintance. He’s been longing to see you for a long time.”

I had no choice but to remain on the sidelines. Johnny had been a good friend for a long time. He arrived later in the evening than expected. We got together and talked. It was 12 a.m. by the time I checked my phone! In the company of friends, time had merely flown by.

What the hell is going on here? It’s beyond midnight once more. I need to get out of here. It’s not a good idea to stay for too long.

A friend and his wife came down to say their goodbyes. I was a little tipsy at the time. They were attempting to keep me from leaving. But I decided to continue driving. Tomorrow will be a busy day at the office. I began to walk away.

When I got into the automobile and sat in the driver’s seat, I got the shock of my life! A little toy was dangling from the car’s windscreen. A strange toy. It was never put up there by me. Who else was there? I had the keys to the car with me all day.

I guessed that my friend’s kids had hanged it up there as a joke. However, both children denied it, and Friend and his wife said they had never seen the toy.

“Dude, it’s a cute car-hanging doll.” My pal stated. As a result, I ignored it. The toy, on the other hand, did not appeal to me in any way. It was strange I said my goodbyes to my friend and got behind the wheel. By 12:15 a.m., I was again on the Express Highway, this time from the Pune end.

The toy was strange and incomprehensible. I couldn’t stop staring at it. The faint light from the dashboard gave it a realistic appearance. Man, I’m sorry. “It’s simply a doll with a girl’s face,” I told myself. However, there was something off about it. I decided to leave it here. Maybe it’s the Jack Daniels that’s messing with my head. I’ve got to focus on the road.

I turned up the volume on the music. Glasses were rolled up. As usual, the road was clear and deserted. Get a move on. There was not a single vehicle that I crossed or overtook. The only deviations in the otherwise boring trip were trucks and trailers crossing from the opposite side. The buzz of the engine could be heard.

A glance at the speedometer revealed a reading of 180 mph. The time is 01:15. Fine. The front-wheel hit the ground with a thud. The engine squealed a few times. The speed was reduced to nil.

What the hell is going on?!

I was able to descend. I turned on the flashlight. Oh my god, it’s the same area as last night. What, in the world is going on out here? And it’s the same sound as it was the night before. It was perplexing, to say the least. I came to a halt on the left side of the road. The headlights had also gone out.

Is this location car-phobic?

I took the flashlight out of the arched area for anything moving or alive.

It’s the same old story. All of these were on my mind last night. The same situation.

Anyway, I climbed inside the automobile. I hoped for the worse as I turned the keys. Thankfully, the engine began to crank higher. The lights were turned on.

Inside the automobile, something had changed. I raised my eyes. Oh, and what happened to the girl toy that was dangling?

Is it missing? What’s going on in the world? Anyway. Goodbye, old friend!

I got back on the road. It had been an uneventful journey. By 2:30 a.m., I had arrived in Mumbai.

The automobile was parked. Reached a level surface. I grabbed the previous day’s Noon edition newspaper from the porch. I entered the flat. The lights were turned on. I distinctly recall putting them off before leaving the house the other night. Maybe I misremembered something.

As soon as I stepped inside, I noticed how cold the flat was. In the summer? Was it possible that I had left the air conditioner on? No. It wasn’t the case. In addition, there was a slight odor of an unusual perfume in the house. It was all strange and perplexing. I just took a quick look at the newspaper. The following are some of the headlines: “The number of hit-and-run incidents is on the rise. At midnight, a girl was killed in a hit-and-run incident near Lonavala. So far, no one has been apprehended.”

I’m breaking out in cold sweat. I began to tremble and fell asleep on the bed.

The air conditioner was turned on. I drew the blanket closer to me.

As I turned around, I noticed the Car-Hanging Girl doll laying by my side, staring at me as if asking a question.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Brandsandu

Brandsandu Is A Complete 360 ° Branding & Digital Marketing Company In Delhi & Ncr Providing A Complete Solution From Branding To Social Media, From Public Relations To Media Buying To Interactive Solutions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.