Fiction logo

Car full of strangers

a broken mans story

By Jc MartinezPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Tiffany wakes up confused. The last thing she remembers was going to bed in her apartment. Somehow she ended up on a train. She doesn’t know where she is going. She says to herself that she was probably sleepwalking again. She turns her head and sees a man sitting next to her. He looks familiar but she can’t remember where she saw him.

Tiffany

“Have we met before ?”

The man looks at her and responds

“You don’t remember me ?”

“My name is Rob.”

“Maybe you’ll remember my daughter.”

The man shows Tiffany a picture of his daughter. She still doesn’t know who he is.

Tiffany

“Do you know how I got here ?”

Rob doesn’t respond. Tiffany is now worried. She notices that the train is not stopping. It’s only going faster.

Tiffany

“Where are we going ?”

Rob

“You’ll see soon.”

Tiffany notices that she doesn’t have her cellphone.

Tiffany

“Can somebody please help me ?”

“I don’t know how I got here.“

“I need a cellphone.”

A woman walks up to her and helps her. Introduces herself as Katy.

“What’s going on ?”

Tiffany

“I woke up on this train. That man was sitting next to me but i don’t know him.

Katy

“Do you know this woman ?”

Rob stares at Tiffany then he answers.

“I do. She is responsible for my daughter's death.”

“One year ago I was on the platform with my daughter. The train came and we moved up to get on. This woman refused to let us on. She said that there wasn’t enough space for us.

Minutes later a mad man came and shot up the train station. My daughter didn’t make it.

Tiffany

“That’s how I know you.”

Rob

“You watched as we were left behind.”

“I lost her because of you.”

A well dressed man gets up and walks towards Rob. He introduces himself as Steve.

Steve

“You don’t have to do this.”

Rob

“It’s too late. I already lost everything I loved. My wife committed suicide three months after my daughter died. She couldn’t handle living without her.

Katy

“We can help you.”

Rob

“I don’t need help anymore. I needed help a year ago as my daughter was dying in my arms because of her.”

Tiffany

“What happened to the conductor ?”

Rob

“Don’t worry about him.”

Tiffany

“What did you do to him ?”

Rob

“I wish you cared about my daughter as much as you care about that damn conductor.”

Steve

“I’m sorry.”

Rob

“Don’t tell me you're sorry. Do not tell me you’re sorry.”

“Sorry isn’t going to bring my little girl back.”

“Sorry isn’t going to fix anything.”

Rob notices that Katy is on the phone. He goes up to her and takes the phone out of her hand.

Rob

“Who is this ?”

He hears a female voice.

She is a 911 dispatcher named Emily.

Emily

“Do you need help ?”

Rob

“I don’t need help.”

“I needed help a year ago and help didn’t come.”

Emily

“Rob ?”

“Rob Evans ?”

Rob

“How did you know that ?”

Emily

“I took the call about the shooting last year.”

“I still think about your daughter.”

Rob

“I’m done thinking.”

“I’m acting now.”

Emily

“ Rob, what happened ?”

Rob

“It’s not about what happened.”

“It’s about what’s happening.”

Rob hangs up the phone

Steve walks towards Rob again.

Rob

“Back up.”

Rob shows that he has a bomb.

Steve

“I just want to talk.”

Rob

“I’m done talking.”

Steve

“I know how you feel. Six months ago I was hit by a drunk driver. My daughter didn’t make it. I wanted to kill the man who did it. I stopped myself. I knew it would only create more pain.”

Rob

“I want to create pain”

“I want to create pain for her and her family.”

All of a sudden the train starts to slow down.

It then comes to a stop.

Rob looks scared

Rob

“What happened ?”

“Why did we stop ?”

The cell phone rings

Rob answers it and he hears Emily’s voice

Emily

“Rob ?”

Rob

“Why did you stop the train ?”

Emily

“I had the transit department stop it remotely.”

Rob

“Why ?”

Emily

“So you can think about this.”

Rob

“I’m done thinking.”

“I thought about it everyday for a year.”

Emily

“Those people deserve to live.”

Rob

“So did my daughter.”

Emily

“What happened to your daughter is awful but hurting those people won’t make it any better.”

Rob

“It will for me.”

Emily

“I need you to let them go.”

Rob

“I can’t do that.”

Emily

“If you don't, we're sending people in.”

Rob

“I’d like to see you try.”

Emily hears gunshot in the background

Emily

“Rob ?”

“Rob ?”

Steve picks up the phone

Steve

“Rob is dead.”

“I shoot him.”

Tiffany

“You had a gun this whole time ?”

Steve

“Yeah.”

Tiffany

“Why didn’t you use it earlier ?

Steve

“I wanted to pick the right moment.”

Tiffany

“Way to pick your moment.”

The doors open and they all walk out.

Police officers walk on the train and up to Rob’s body.

A blonde woman comes on the train. She is wearing a name tag that says Emily.

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.