Fiction logo

Car Crash

As we went off the road the sound of…

By TwylaPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Car Crash
Photo by Rosie Sun on Unsplash

Quick Note: This is part four of Deciding to Stay Overnight in Pennhurst, The Investigation of Pennhurst, and My Best Friend is Acting Strange. Make sure to check those out. Part five coming soon…

We were speeding to the hospital to make sure Everly was okay. Kade told me her mom had called, someone had attacked Everly. Everly's dad was picking up her car. My mind went a hundred miles an hour. I couldn’t think straight. Griff was speeding through the forest, causing tension in the car. My heart was beating out of my chest, my mouth felt dry. I couldn’t lose my best friend.

"Ay, man, you need to slow down before you crash. The roads are twisting and turning." Kade said

Griff ignored him. Kade looked back at me with panic in his eyes. He reached back and squeezed my leg to give me reassurance. It didn’t help, it made my heart drop.

"Griff, slow down! The roads aren't safe to drive this fast.” I shouted.

Griff tensed up, and looked at me. He had an icy stare.

"We have to get to Everly!" Griff yelled.

He veered off the road…

"Griff! Watch out!" I pointed to the road.

As we went off the road the sound of screeching through the dirt and gravel as he tried to stop the car filled the air. We hit a tree stump, which sent our car flipping through the woods. My head smashed against the window, and knocked me out.

*****

As I came to, my head was throbbing in pain. I touched the area, and winced. My hand was covered in blood. What happened? The car had gone off the road and we were upside down. I placed one hand on the roof as I unbuckled my seatbelt. I hit the root with a loud thud, followed by a grunt.

I looked at the boys, who took most of the hits. I reached through the opening between the seats and started shaking the boys.

"Griff, Kade, get up!" I continued to shake and yell till they finally came to. They looked around, startled and grunting.

"Dude, what happened?" Griff said.

"I don't know. I can't remember clearly." I rubbed my head.

"Ugh, get me out of here now.” Kade started to pant and grasp at his chest.

"Deep breaths, put your hands on the roof."

He did as requested as I reached around and unbuckled his belt, then did the same for Griff. They lowered themselves to the floor, Kade pushed his door, but the crash jammed it. I tried my door, and the collision jammed it, as well. Griff struggled with his door for a few minutes till it finally came open.

"Come out through my side, you guys. Be careful of the glass." Griff slid through the broken window.

"I'm going to go through first, then put my shirt down or something for you. So you don't get hurt."

I laughed at him, "I am already hurt. Look at my head."

"Ouch, let's get out of here. I will look at your head."

I nodded in agreement. Kade crawled through the window, turning back to help me through. I crouched down, slipping through the middle of the seats, glass crunching beneath my movements, as I crawled through the window. Kade put his hand out and we clasped hands so he could help me up.

"Thank you."

"No problem, let me look at your head." Kade moved his hands on my head. He pushed my head around while examining.

I let out a laugh, "Are you done?"

"Yeah, I don't think you will need stitches. That's good."

"Perfect. You guys should be checking yourselves.. You took most of the hits.” I folded my arms.

Griff was sitting by a tree, staring off into the distance.

"I think you need to check on Griff. He looks upset." I pointed to Griff.

Kade nodded in agreement. I took the chance to look around. I didn't hear any cars or see the road we came from. How far did we make it into the forest? The sun is already setting. I patted my pockets for my phone, but it wasn't there.

"You guys have your phone?" I shouted.

The boys patted their pockets and shook their heads. Great, no phones. I ducked my head into the car, to search for a sign of a phone, but I couldn't find one.

"We need to get walking to the main road, it's getting dark, and I do not know where we are." Kade stood up suddenly.

"We can see the crash marks, so we figured we would follow those. It should take us back to the road." Grif said with more of a snarl than his regular soft tone.

I wonder if he is upset about the incident. Did he cause this?

Crushed bushes were behind us to the right, we walked over what was left. When we looked around, there wasn't much trace of where we came from. We kept quiet and focused on finding our way out.

"Well, the sun has set, and there is no light. It's only going to get darker from here. What are we going to do?" I said.

Griff stopped in his tracks, rubbing the back of his neck. "I honestly don't know. This is all my fault. I'm sorry, you guys. I should have listened."

I placed my hand on Griff's shoulder and gave it a quick rub as we continued.

"I think we should stop and find somewhere to sleep." Kade yawned.

"Ay, I am down with that."

Griffe grunted and plopped down. "Yeah, you're right. We will get nowhere in the dark."

We huddled together near a tree, linking arms. I laid my head on Griff's shoulder.

"We will get out of here tomorrow."

"I know. Get some sleep. I will stay first to keep watch, then I'll wake up Kade, and he can do the rest of the night."

"Sounds good, dude."

I twisted my body towards Kade, laid my head on his shoulder so Griff could stay up. I had never slept under the stars before, but this would be the first time. After a few minutes, my eyes fluttered shut.

I jolted awake after hearing someone scream my name, shaking me.

"What is going on? So unnecessary."

"Shh!" Griff clasped a hand over my mouth. I licked his hand.

"Ew, dude." Griff wiped his hand on his shirt.

"Ay, shut up." Kade snapped his fingers in our faces.

"Will someone tell me what's going on?"

Griff pointed to some trees, holding a finger over his mouth, telling me to be quiet. He leaned down to whisper, "There is someone over there."

As I looked closer, a shadow figure had darted through the trees.

HorrorSeries
1

About the Creator

Twyla

Creative Writer | Currently writing my debut novel | Single mom of one handsome son | Full-time employee | Full-time college student | Love writing horror and fantasy | I write for myself and share with you guys! Hope you enjoy it. 🖤

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.