Fiction logo

Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit

Chapter 15

By Lydia BookerPublished 3 years ago 19 min read
Like
Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit
Photo by Brian McGowan on Unsplash

The picture appeared, revealing a chair behind a desk. My voice could be heard outside of the camera's view, "Finally! How is it you still can't work a stupid camera?" The camera shifted as something bumped into it.

I spoke again from outside the screen, "Just don't break this one and maybe we can actually finish within the day!"

A man's whiny voice could be heard, "My apologies, sir."

I spoke again as I walked up to the chair, "If you'd have set up when I told you to and read all the proper manuals I gave you, you wouldn't be in this mess. Again. How someone can be so dedicated to finding the easy way out of everything is beyond me. You have a level of laziness I didn't even think was possible."

I wore my grey cadet jacket over a black shirt, my red neckerchief was around my neck, a brown belt across my chest, and my black jeans matched the color of the goggles on my head. I was also wearing my three gold medals on the front of my jacket, along with the five silver ones.

I sat in the chair, "Are you ready yet, Tez?"

The man who was whining earlier spoke, "Yes, sir."

I adjusted my jacket, "Alright, good. Start recording."

The man's voice gasped quietly, "Uh oh." He cleared his throat, though it didn't hide his worry, "Ready, sir."

I looked annoyed, "I heard that. That whimper in your voice that tells me you did something wrong. What did you do now?"

The man spoke softly, "It seems the camera is already recording, sir. I think I may have pressed a button when I bumped into it."

I looked furious with him, but took a deep breath and calmed down, "You know what? I'll deal with it later. Just don't touch anything else. Leave it alone. Only push the off button when I say push the off button."

Suddenly, the screen went blank. Nothing happened. No sound, no picture, no anything. The camera was turned off.

It came back on to show me at the desk, adjusting my jacket. I looked at the camera with a handsome smile, "Good morning, Commander Mayn. A pleasure it is to be speaking with you, even if not directly. I'm sure you remember me, but, for formality's sake, I will properly introduce myself."

I stood up and gave a salute, "Cadet Rydian of E.P.A., being Earth's Planetary Affairs, at your service, sir." I sat down, looking confident and relaxed, "As for my application, I'll get right to the point. I would like to register for the position as one of the fifteen new Space Captain recruits."

I stood up, walking around to the front of my desk with my hands behind my back, "Now, I know what you're thinking. A cadet can't possibly jump rank to Captain like that, I know. It's never been done. It would break several rules." I smiled at the camera with my handsome smile, "But I've always believed there was a first for everything, and since when have rules ever stopped me before?"

I leaned back against my desk, "Might I remind you of my dealings in the past? It took breaking a few rules to save planet Earth two years ago, didn't it? And let's not forget the day I actually saved your armada in the Plakters War not too long ago. Sometimes, rules are meant to be broken for the sake of the better good. No one got hurt thanks to my quick and decisive thinking, both of which were limited by rules for the others who could have done what I'd done."

I rubbed one of my gold medals, "Then there's the matter of me being only a cadet. Surely, that can't be a fair reason to hold me back from such an honor. After all, how many cadets throughout all of history could say they saved the world twice and earned three of the medals only ever earned by the highest of ranks? Even you I believe have only earned two in your fifteen year career as Commander of Earth's Galactic Armada."

I sighed, "Commander, I have been a cadet for nearly my entire life. I have lived for such an opportunity as this. To become a Captain is one of the greatest honors there is. The rank is only second to yours. And to reach such a goal from the lowly rank of cadet? It would be a great dream, sir."

I stood tall and confident, "There are many you may ask of my worthiness and they would all agree that I have earned it. I have served this Space Station loyally my entire life and I have surpassed any of my colleagues, and even some of my superiors! My title may say cadet, but my heart speaks only Captain. And even if I do not earn my place as Captain this time, I will one day in the future."

I smiled, "Though, my hope is it will be this time. I am sure you can agree." I sighed, "So it is up to you to decide, Commander. Am I worthy?" I smiled directly into the camera, "I look forward to finding out."

I gave a final salute, "Till then, farewell, Commander Mayn."

Then the screen went blank.

Beep, beep, beep!

I yawned as I woke to a beeping sound. I opened my eyes to see I was in my large white room. It was very high-class and fancy. The room of a Commander, which it sorta was. It was the medic room used for Commanders or other high ranking officers of the S.T.S. who were recovering from battle.

I couldn't help but feel amazed. I had dreamed about the day I sent in my video application to become a Space Captain. All this time later and here I was. I wasn't just a Space Captain, but the great hero of two planets.

I ran a hand through my hair as Vanessa appeared on the large screen on the wall. She smiled, "Good morning, Captain." She looked different now. Now her curly hair was hanging over her left shoulder and she wore a lovely black dress under her white jacket.

I sighed, "Good morning, Vanessa." I tossed off the blankets and let my feet down on the soft carpet. Neither of them were cyborg.

Everyone was amazed after my surgeries to learn that the doctors managed to save my leg. No metal. Alphonse was happiest about the news, knowing how hard it was to get used to having cyborg parts.

Vanessa and Alphonse never once left my side since getting back to Earth. Seven months I spent in the medic station recovering and going through plenty of rehabilitation and they never once left. I couldn't have asked for closer companions.

Though, I never stopped thinking about Lillian and the others on Klicta. I really did miss them. Kinda cheesy and sappy for me, I know, but I did.

I walked behind a gold colored screen to change, "Report, Vanessa." As I changed, I noticed my reflection. I didn't look much different from seven months ago, except that my hair was shorter. I now had a simple ponytail that just reached my shoulders. Other than that, I hadn't changed. Except for maybe a bit more matured a face.

She smiled, "I just obtained your release papers. As of today, you have recovered enough to leave the medic station." She sighed, "Though, it's still too early to get allowance for space travel."

I sighed, "I see. Well, I'm out of here, which is a start. A couple more months and I'll be able to travel space again."

Vanessa cleared her throat, "There's something else, sir. You see, the Human Galactic Unit is wondering if you'll continue being a Space Captain or not. After what you went through, they offered to give you early retirement. They still need an answer."

I was silent as I pulled on my white jacket. I honestly wasn't sure. After everything, I was starting to have doubts about whether I wanted to continue being a Captain or not. I loved helping Earth, especially when new planets who needed a chance like Klicta did were out there, but...

I sighed, "I'm still thinking about it, Vanessa." Then I remembered something, "Tell you what, I'll have an answer by tonight."

She was surprised, "Tonight, sir?"

I came out of behind the screen, tying on my red neckerchief. I grabbed my handsome red cane, "Yes, tonight. Is there anything else?"

She shook her head, "No, sir. Though, I would insist you pay Leader a visit. You both have been exchanging letters ever since you came back to Earth. I'm sure she would like to see you. The last time she saw you was the day you became a Space Captain."

I smiled as I put on a communication watch with a screen on it, "Sure. I'll go see her. Though, I'll do that later. I need to go take care of something else now." With that, I walked out of the room.

Outside, I found Alphonse talking with an older man in the large room where everyone in the medic station could talk with each other, seeing as no one outside of patients and others with authorization could enter the station from the outside. It certainly saved me from going insane from a lack of outside life.

Alphonse smiled and gave a bow, "Good morning, Captain." He motioned to the man he was speaking with, "This is a friend of mine from my time working in Station 9, Sergeant William. He was my superior for a few years."

The sergeant smiled a toothy smile, "So this is the boy wonder, huh? Impressive young man. I've heard all the stories from Alphonse here. You've done good over on Klicta, my boy. Very good."

I smiled, "Thank you, sir. I'm glad I could do so much good. In all honesty, it's what I live for."

He chuckled, "Good to hear. We need more heroes like you in the world." After a little more time talking, Alphonse joined me in finally leaving the medic station.

On Klicta, Rubi and Cleo sat quietly outside what used to be my house. They both watched the sky, as they did everyday. They hoped that one day they would see my ship coming from the sky.

Cleo spoke softly, "He pinky promised. He'll come back."

Rubi sighed, "I guess."

She looked at him, "He never breaks his pinky promises."

He shrugged, "Sure."

Then Orville walked over. He knew they would be there. He smiled, "Hey, Rubi. Hey, Cleo."

Cleo looked at him, "Rubi doesn't think Rydian will come back."

Rubi spoke up, "I didn't say that."

Orville smiled, "I'm sure he'll be back as soon as he can. After all, he was really hurt after all that. We just have to be patient. Ok?"

Rubi sighed, "Yeah, I know." He scratched his head, "He looked really bad. Who knows how long it'll take for him to walk again?"

Orville shrugged, "Who can say? We'll find out when he comes back."

Cleo smiled, "It'll be soon. I know it." She stood up, "Let's go. I want to get some livity before we have to get there."

Orville smiled, "Yeah, we don't want to be late. Come on, Rubi." He and Cleo started off.

Rubi stood up and looked at the sky, then sighed, "I hope you're ok, Rydian." With that, he followed Orville and Cleo.

Back on Earth, I took a teleporter to, yes, the Armada. Even after seven months, the large ship was still getting repairs. I, of course, was one of the only outsiders welcomed during the repairs. Commander Mayn had given me my own gold key to the Armada, something only the highest of ranks could ever have, so I could go on board any time I wished and I would have as much authority as the Commander herself over her crew.

I walked down the hall until I reached the door to the Commander's office. I knocked a couple times before I heard her voice, "Come in."

I walked in and gave a salute, "Good morning, Commander."

She smiled to see me, "Good morning, Rydian. Welcome back. I haven't seen you since you first went into the medic station. It's good to see you up and about again."

I smiled, "Good to be up and about again. I'm sure I was this close to losing my mind." She giggled.

I cleared my throat, "Commander, I had something I wanted to talk to you about. It's about Klicta."

She smiled, "I could imagine. What about it? Progress so far has been very good. We've learned a great deal from everything you gathered on the planet. We even started working with Qualta using your studies. Alphonse has been helping with the research." Alphonse looked proud.

She smiled, "I had sent some of my most trusted men and women to Klicta to learn more and gather some resources from Klicta to bring to Earth while also take some of our own resources there. Lady Lavender has been more than cooperative since we started."

I smiled, "That's good to hear." I scratched my head, "Though, maybe what I had to say isn't really necessary then."

She smiled, "Oh please do tell. Whatever it is, I'm sure it can be taken care of."

I cleared my throat, "Well, I know more than anyone about Klicta and Earth both. I've not only researched Klicta, but lived there, just like on Earth. I've also grown close to a lot of klitons in the process. I thought, perhaps, that could serve useful in the alliance. Though, from the sounds of it, I'm really not needed."

She smiled and stood up, then walked over, "Nonsense, Rydian. You're right, you do know more. You've mostly become a kliton yourself, and no one else on Earth can compete with that. You have... what's the word? You have the experience. You can not only understand and have knowledge, but also feel things for Klicta that none of us can."

She smiled at me, "In fact, there is something you could do. A job for your experience that could really help in our alliance." She sighed, "Though, it would mean taking the offer of retirement from the Human Galactic Unit."

I smiled, "Commander, I'm a hero. I will be wherever I'm needed most. The unit has fourteen other great Captains. They don't need me, but Klicta does."

She smiled, "I was hoping you would say that." She laid a hand on my shoulder and walked me over to her desk, "Now, about the job..."

The next day on Klicta, Mimi sighed as she watched her customers eating at the little tables around the shop. She stood behind the counter with yet another sigh. She glanced at a poster on the wall talking about the great hero Rydian. She couldn't help but miss me.

Then Vern, or rather Veranda, walked out from the back room. She was wearing a purple version of the bakery uniform. She noticed Mimi's silence, "Mimi, what are you doing?"

Mimi continued to look at the poster, "Don't you ever miss him?"

Veranda smiled, "Of course I do, but he promised he would come visit once he was better. He did say it would take a while."

Mimi sighed again, "Still. I wish he would hurry up and get here."

They were surprised to hear a chuckle, "Aw, did you two miss me that much?" They gasped as they turned to see me.

I smiled, "Nice to see such lovely young kliton girls daydreaming about me."

Mimi and Veranda jumped me with hugs, almost knocking me over. Mimi giggled, "I'm so happy to see you, Rydian!"

I smiled as I adjusted my new fancy red and black jacket, "I'm happy to see you too, Mimi. You too, Veranda." She smiled.

Mimi put her fists to her hips, "What took you so long getting back?"

I grinned, "Are you kidding? I'm far earlier than I was supposed to be. I'm not even supposed to start space travel for another two months, but I got a pass." I showed them my cane, "For now, I have to walk with this. Just to avoid pushing myself too much. That and taking an hour or so rest every three hours were the conditions to come."

Veranda smiled, "Well, we're glad you're back, Ry."

I smiled back, "Me too."

Mimi smiled big, "Have you seen anyone else yet?"

I chuckled, "You know something? I just realized today that after all that time I was around you all, I have no idea where any of you live. You're the only one I know where to find. I certainly didn't know Veranda started working here."

She hopped around happily, "Then we've got to go see the others! They'll be so happy! Come on!" She rushed me outside, though careful not to trip me up over my cane. Veranda followed while Mimi's mother and grandmother took over the shop.

They both led me right to the Education Hall. I spoke as we walked in, "What about Rubi and Cleo? They don't even take classes."

Mimi giggled, "Rydian, just about everyone takes classes now. Ever since that new professor joined Professor Nick, we've been learning about Earth. There isn't a single kliton on Klicta who doesn't want to learn about the whole other planet beyond the stars!"

I chuckled, "I guess that makes sense. I'm sure Professor Nick must enjoy that."

Veranda smiled, "He sure does."

I walked into the class to see it utterly packed. Professor Nick stood with a lovely young lady below, both talking about Earth history. The new professor was a human girl with short black hair, dark skin, and bright brown eyes. She wore a long white lab coat and a pair of glasses as she taught. I recognized her as a girl who was once a cadet with me in Station 13 by the name of Ann. She looked good as a teacher, a job she'd always wanted.

As I walked down the steps, klitons started noticing me. Of course, who didn't recognize the hero Rydian? They all started turning their attention to me instead of the lesson.

Professor Nick noticed and smiled, "Well, look who's back."

I smiled, "Hey, professor. Hi, Professor Ann." She smiled with a wave.

"Rydian!!" I turned to the three klitons who stood up. It was Orvile, Rubi, and Cleo. They looked amazed to see me.

I smiled, "Hey, you three. Miss me too?"

They ran over and Cleo jumped me with a hug, though this time someone had to catch me. My leg was still a bit weak, so I wasn't quite ready that time. I chuckled, "Careful there, Cleo. You don't want to undo all the hard work the doctors put in fixing my leg."

Rubi grinned, "I wanna see your metal leg!" He corrected himself, "I mean, your cybord leg!"

I chuckled, "The word is cyborg, and I don't have one. They were able to save my real one."

Rubi groaned, "Bummer."

Then someone else walked over. I looked and gasped. There stood a beautiful white kliton with long white hair hanging in waves, sparkling grey eyes, and soft skin like porcelain. She wore a short grey dress with a white neck tie and without sleeves. She smiled, "Hello, Rydian."

I blushed, "Lillian. You look beautiful."

She smiled, making my heart beat a little faster, "I matured while you were away. Though, it looks like you have too from the looks of it."

Orville chuckled, "Yeah, you do look different, Rydian. I thought humans didn't mature in stages."

I smiled, "Seven months can change a lot of things."

Rubi scoffed, "Seven months? Rydian, it’s been over a year!"

I chuckled, "Oh yeah, Days are faster here. I guess I kinda forgot."

Ann smiled, "Don't worry. We'll study that in tomorrow's class."

Lillian looked at the floor, "So, how long before you have to leave?"

I smiled, "Actually, I'm not leaving."

Orville was surprised, "You're not? What about your job as a Space Captain?"

I smiled, "I'm retired. I got a new job. I am what we humans call an Ambassador."

Rubi was confused, "What's that?"

Orville explained with a smile, "An Ambassador is a human who represents something or someone for a specific activity."

I chuckled, "That's close enough. To specify, I now represent Klicta in the alliance with Earth. I'm Klicta's Human Ambassador. Meaning, I can now live on Klicta, so I'm not going anywhere anytime soon."

Lillian smiled and hugged me, and, to everyone's amazement, kissed me. Not the cheek. My lips met hers and sparks flew. Everyone cheered. Even Rubi had to be happy for me.

So, I saved Earth, I saved Klicta, and I even got the girl. Not too shabby for a cadet.

Since then, Coin and his wife, General Terron, served their sentences by helping collect resources from Klicta as lowly cadets. Ironic, right? I thought so.

Commander Mayn started paying me visits whenever she was free. I would show her the wonders and beauty of Klicta with each visit. Leader, the woman who raised me, even moved in with me after a while. She and Mrs. El became wonderful friends.

Me, I went back to my life on Klicta. I kept my job, my place in class, and even started having tea with Lady Lavender every once in a while to talk about the progress of the alliance with Earth.

Alphonse started his own job as a technician, fixing Earth tech for klitons who still didn't fully understand how they worked. Well, whenever he wasn't working as my assistant. And Vanessa spent her time creating the internet on Klicta and controlling it. She was soon called Lady Spider, because the other term for the internet was web.

Well, I thought it was funny.

And as for me, I was happy where I was. I had more than enough good friends, a home of my own, and two whole planets that saw me as their hero. And with Lillian by my side, I couldn't go wrong.

This was my life.

The life of Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit.

THE END

Series
Like

About the Creator

Lydia Booker

Just someone here to tell a story. A story of another world, of new people and places, of adventures beyond imagination.

Are you ready to hear them?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.