Fiction logo

Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit

Chapter 14

By Lydia BookerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit
Photo by Brian McGowan on Unsplash

"Rydian?"

"Rydian, can you hear me?"

"Please wake up, Rydian. Please."

I groaned and opened my eyes to see Cleo above me. Her eyes were big and full of tears. She was dirty with soot and dust while small fires still clung to places around the torched room.

I tried to move, but was immediately hit by the pain in my leg. My whole body felt numb from it. I couldn't move.

I sighed weakly as I laid there, "...are you... ok..?"

She nodded, "Yeah, I'm ok. Thanks to you." Tears escaped her eyes, "R-Rydian... are you... are you dying?"

I managed a weak smile, "Me..? Nah. I... I wouldn't... do that... to you..." She smiled softly.

A familiar roar of rage reminded me that it was still too early to be making promises. Coin landed hard in the room. He was red with rage, "You little... why won't you just die!? Everything I do, and you're still alive!! Why won't you die!?"

I smiled, "...haven't you... ever... heard the... saying..? Heroes... never die..."

He made his arm into a gun again and aimed at us, "That can be fixed!" Cleo hugged me tight in fear.

Just as he was about to shoot us, someone got him first. He looked surprised as he fell to his knees. We all looked to see General Terron. She looked furious and a mess as she held her specialty own gun, one well known for cutting even through a battle suit.

She glared at him, "Take that as my divorce notice." Coin looked shocked as he collapsed.

I sighed and laid back. Cleo smiled, "He's down. We win. We win, Rydian."

I smiled weakly at her, "Good...Klicta... will be... fine... now..."

Cleo brushed my hair from my face, "You're a hero, Rydian."

I chuckled, but it hurt to do so, "..like I... haven't... heard that... one before..." I sighed, incredibly tired.

Then Commander Mayn, Rubi, and Steven ran in. Commander Mayn gasped when she saw me, "Rydian." She went down next to me, "Hang on, Rydian. The medics will be here soon."

I smiled, barely able to keep my eyes open, "...talk about... deja... vu..." She smiled, remembering the day I stopped the Plakters.

She laid my head on her lap, just like that day. Only this time, she didn't look worried about me. She smiled, "You'll be alright, Rydian. I have no doubt about that."

Cleo nodded, "Heroes never die, right?"

I smiled as everything started to fade, "Never." And soon enough, I was out.

When I woke up, I saw several faces above me. There was Orville, Rubi, Cleo, Gerry, and Lillian. To my surprise, so was Mimi and Vern. I blinked as I focused on their faces.

Orville smiled, "Welcome back, Rydian."

I was about to talk, but noticed something over my mouth. I pulled the oxygen mask off and smiled, "Hey."

Mimi giggled, "Surprisingly, you're even cuter all colorful!"

Vern nudged her, now dressed in a new violet dress and her hair in a ponytail, "That's not what's important, Mimi." Mimi simply giggled.

I smiled, "So, everyone knows now, huh?" They nodded.

Commander Mayn walked over and smiled, "How do you feel, Rydian?"

I shrugged, "Honestly, I can't really feel anything." I sighed, "So, how bad is it really?"

She was honest with me, "Very bad. We may even have to replace it."

I gave a long, tired sigh, "I thought so."

Lillian was confused, "What do you mean?"

I explained, "On Earth, we have technology to replace organic parts. In my case, I may have to get a cyborg leg." They looked confused. I smirked, "A leg made of metal." Now they understood.

Orville spoke, "But, that's on Earth."

The Commander nodded, "Yes, Rydian has to leave. Tonight. You see, it's not just his leg. He's suffered a great deal fighting Coin. He'll need the technology we only have on Earth."

Lillian looked as sad as the others, "So then, we have to say goodbye?"

Commander Mayn nodded, "I'm afraid so. The sooner we leave, the sooner we can make sure Rydian can be taken care of. After the damage to the Armada, our medic chamber was damaged, so he's being held over with some back up equipment."

I smiled as they looked sad, "Hey, don't get so sappy. It's not like I died. You'll see me again, especially now that Earth and Klicta are allied planets."

Gerry smiled, "So you'll come back once you're all better?"

I smiled, "Well, it's said to be a very long process, but yes. I'll be back to visit once I'm fully recovered, however long that takes."

Rubi smiled, "We'll be holding you to that, Rydian."

Cleo looked thoughtful, "Promise?"

I smiled and held out my pinky, "Wrap your pinky finger around mine." She looked a little confused, but did it. I smiled, "This is called a pinky promise. And I never break my pinky promises." She smiled.

Commander Mayn sighed, "As much as I hate to break this up, we really must be going."

Lillian stepped forward before the sentries could lead them all outside. She smiled and kissed my cheek. I blushed as she smiled, "That is called a Kelvit Oath. My promise that no matter how long you're gone, we'll always be friends."

I smiled, "Good." She smiled and let the sentries lead her out.

I sighed and laid back as Alphonse walked over. I figured he didn't want to be in everyone's way as they said their farewells, so he stayed back. He smiled at me, "I'm sure we'll be back soon enough, Captain."

Vanessa, who was on a nearby screen off to the side, spoke, "I agree with Alphonse."

I smiled as I relaxed, "Yeah, I know."

Vanessa could see I was tired, "Try to get some rest, sir. I think you've more than earned it." I smiled and closed my eyes. Before I knew it, I was fast asleep.

It was finally over.

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Lydia Booker

Just someone here to tell a story. A story of another world, of new people and places, of adventures beyond imagination.

Are you ready to hear them?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.