Fiction logo

Caninia

(Cane-nin-knee-ah) (Noun): A mythical (?) place where dogs go when they encounter each other in public

By Kendall Defoe Published 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
13
Caninia
Photo by Hannah Lim on Unsplash

There was not much to say at the first meeting, but they did break the ice.

Scents were taken; barks were heard; territory claimed.

As a gesture of kindness, the larger animal allowed the newer member to join in with their games and encouraged him to know the territory and be aware of the presence of interlopers, like squirrels, chipmunks, the occasional disrespectful cat, and all those birds attracted to the availability of food nearby. It is absolutely important not to forget that this is our territory, the big one stated, or else this area might be quite corrupted and lost to us, like the parks and other trails now taken over by humans and their ridiculous habits (all that running, cycling and walking without them).

The humans... They all laughed to themselves about them.

They did love them, but they wondered how they managed to achieve so much with such bizarre behaviour and incomprehensible actions.

All that worry and concern and stress over their toys and other humans liking them, working with them, respecting them...

All they needed to do was to make sure that their real owners understood and loved them. A few scratches, a good bone, a long walk, food, water and a nice place to rest is all they wanted.

So silly...

They ran around the fenced-in gravel of the park, awaiting the moment when they would have to leave their beautiful world.

One of many of his wise words on his master...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Short StoryMicrofictionHumorFable
13

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    And here I thought you were getting ready to tell me where I could park a pair of my teeth, give them something juicy to sink into.

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Caninia is great. Peoplinia is the problem. Just imagine what the alien dogs must think.

  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    The audacity of those humans to walk on nature filled trails without them. How it breaks my heart and stirs a fire within me so. May laziness not be the sole reason for why floofa woofas may not go out on such lovely expenditures with their humans. On a different note, this reminds me of the radio show where people asked, "If aliens landed in the dog park, who do You think they would think is the master race here? The one with four legs, or the two legged one picking up the quadripeds sh*t?"

  • Chloe Gilholy7 months ago

    Lovely word and lovely dogs. Enjoyed this.

  • I love the word Caninia! It sounds like a pretty name! And lol, your story was fantastic!

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Exactly what I see in their interaction. I was probably a dog in a previous life. I still prefer their company. Great word, great story!

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Great story 🥰The Mark Twain, I don’t know. My mom took home a dog once. We give it a lot of love but it kept biting us. That’s why no one kept him, his name was Nikki. We were his 4 th home .

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Cute. But I reckon they all worry about being liked!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    love this

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    “the occasional disrespectful cat” made me laugh out loud.

  • Dana Stewart7 months ago

    As a dog lover, I appreciate this story. Nice work!

  • Lana V Lynx7 months ago

    This was funny.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.