Fiction logo

Candace's Care Package

"Mrs. Laurel, just tell me what's in the box!"

By MPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
7
Candace's Care Package
Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

"One hundred and one white blocks, one hundred and two white blocks, one hundred and three white blocks, one hundred and four, how many more blocks till I get even more bored?" I sang to myself as I continued counting the 6,852 white squares plated on the walls surrounding me. I had gotten so much "booty juice" from fighting back with Mrs. Laurel today that it felt like I was in a straightjacket. Luckily, I wasn't in a straightjacket, but I couldn't find the strength to get my body to move correctly. The fight was uncalled for, but my anger got in the way and sent me into the state I'm now stuck in. I swayed my head back and forth to the beat of the music I was making as I continued counting the white blocks.

*tap* *tap*

*tap* *tap*

I heard the sound coming from the window to the left of my bed. I couldn't tell if the sound was real or just in my head. I turned over and saw a drone holding a small brown box.

*tap* *tap*

*tap* *tap*

"Mrs. Laurel!" I call while cocking my head to the side as I stare at the drone. It seemed as if it had a camera watching me. "Mrs. Laurel!" I called again. No one came. "Fucking bitch." I say to myself, though ultimately aimed at her.

I tried to get my body to move toward the window, but the medicine held me down. The drone was gone, and there was simply a package balancing on the concrete siding outside the window.

"I must be hallucinating," I claim to myself. "Mrs. Laurel!" I call out loud again, this time even louder.

I hear the keys to the door rattle before she opens the door harshly. She looks at me in pure annoyance, her hands resting on her hips.

"What is it, Candace?" She asks me, acting as if this medicine hides her dissatisfaction with me. "Wait..." She looks at the window peculiarly. "Is that a package?"

"Holy shits, it's real!" I announce. "A drone dropped it off."

"Sure it did-" she rolls her eyes, "and Candace, we don't swear here." Mrs. Laurel corrects me. She gets out her radio and heads back towards the door. "I'm going to have Frank and I go outside and see what it is."

"Let me see what's in it too!" I exclaim to her.

"We will, Candance. We need to check it for safety precautions first." She asserts before closing the door behind her.

I tensely sit as I hear her open the door to the staircase. I ponder what could be in the box and who could have even sent it. Who uses a drone to send mail these days? It's like the wizards' owls from Harry Potter. Is it a gift from my old school? The one I went to before getting myself locked in this bleached dungeon. They are caught up with electronics these days. They were handing us laptops back in the fifth grade. What would they have sent me, though? Books? More homework? Documentaries? Newsletters? Could it be a gift from my old friend Ronald? He used to send me a letter when I first arrived here. Now I have been waiting to hear from him for months. I knew it couldn't be my mother. There's no way in hell she'd ever own a drone or have the knowledge of how to use it properly. Plus, she would have told me if she were sending a package already. Who could it be? What about my enemies? I ponder upon the question of if I still even had any. Any that are alive, that is. Could it be another secret admirer? A simple fan? I looked over at my desk and saw the letters I needed to read thoroughly.

I hear the jitter of the lock before Mrs. Laurel steps back inside my room. Her face looked disappointed but also shocked, myself already guessing the news.

"You can't show me what's in the box, can you?" I ask her. "Mrs. Laurel, Mrs. Laurel. Tell me what's in the box, Mrs. Laurel!"

"It's a map, Candace." She goes silent for a second. "A map claiming everywhere you hid the bodies."

I look down at my straightjacket, realizing it's real now.

"You don't say." I let out a chuckle.

HorrorMysteryShort Story
7

About the Creator

M

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Great finish

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Crazy one here. Totally unexpected this one. Imagination at work all over the place.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.