Fiction logo

“Came Back Like a Slow Voice on a Wave of Phase”

The Plight of Mankind

By Brent HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
“Came Back Like a Slow Voice on a Wave of Phase”
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

“Came Back Like a Slow Voice on a Wave of Phase”

Celestial Date: RL.8-25.32

ENTRY 153,867.159

We have been traveling through the vastness of this unknown space for who knows how long now. All I know is that out of the 1.2 million of us that boarded this vessels in hopes of finding a habitable place for us to start anew, fewer than 100,000 of us remain. We were all forced to abandon our home planet out of necessity, our resources were depleted, our planet was overheating, nothing would grow, and the storms...the storms had become unbearable. Sometimes they would go on for months on end. We knew our time was up there so we came to the conclusion that we needed to look for a new planet.

It was not an easy decision. But after years of inaction and an unyielding commitment to capitalism, we ultimately had no choice. The decision was made, we made or bed, now we needed to do our best for our future. The planetary leaders gathered us up based on our abilities, knowledge, and our understanding that this is about something greater than ourselves. We were all given these lockets and told to put something for our home planet in there. Some put photographs, some put clippings of their loved ones hair, some put letters from the ones they will never see again.

I, being a scientist, decided to place a piece of my molecular make up in there. Who knows, maybe some day we will find a new home, and I can help to bring our people back from the brink.

END NOTE

ENRTY 53,867.160

I have been awakened from my sleep by the sounds of blaring alarm bells. We entered into a vast asteroid belt. It appears that our vessel has been bombarded by the surrounding space debris. I think we have taken on an alarming amount of damage, our ship is in peril. Fortunitly our ship has picked up a potentially habitable planet just outside the astroid belt. We may only have one shot at sending a reconnoissance ship to investigate. I am to travel to this unknown planet and report back with my findings. This will be a one way trip, I will not be returning.

END NOTE

ENRTY 53,867.161

My exploratory vessel is prepared and I am ready to board this ship. I should be able and enter this planets atmosphere in 1 hours time. I will be sending a final transmission once I set foot on this unknown planet. Wish me luck.

END NOTE

PLANETARY REPORT 0001.1

I have landed safely. No signs of life as of yet. The air is clean and the oxygen levels are perfect. This planet is a beautiful one, it has clear blue oceans, lush green forests, gorgeous blue skis with white puffy clouds. It is like our planet was before we were forced to abandon it. I think we have found our new home. Set a course for my location.

SEND TRANSMISSION:

TRANSMISSION FAILED:

SEND TRANSMISSION:

TRANSMISSION FAILED: NO DESTINATION FOUND.

PLANETARY REPORT 0001.2

I am still on this unknown planet, there is nothing here but me and the soil, water, and sky. I don’t know if this transmission is going to reach anyone but I can still hope. I am going to open my heart locket and release my contents into the ocean. I hope this broadcast will find someone. If so just know that there is life on this planet somewhere. I am not sure what my DNA will do with the surrounding environment but there will be life! Mankind will survive. If you make it here please take care of this planet, we cannot destroy another home. I call this place EARTH.

SEND TRANSMISSION:

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Brent Harris

writer of genre stuff...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Brent HarrisWritten by Brent Harris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.