Fiction logo

Calling Harambe Settlement

Nova Scotia on the Line

By Abbey June SchwartzPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Salvadoran Coast Photo Credit: Abbey June Schwartz

This message is to the members of the Harambe Settlement in Old Milwaukee, along the coast of Former Lake Michigan. I am particularly looking to communicate with March Jericho.

My name is Wayne Svenson, I am the Captain of the Ice Rose a fishing vessel out of old Nova Scotia. I have in recent months had cause to sail deeper and deeper into the Old North American Mainland via river, tributary and ultimately the former Great Lakes.

I generally just participate in sustenance fishing to feed my family and those survivors living in our main Nova Scotia encampment. It is rare that I dock anywhere outside of Nova Scotia. My fishing vessel has been equipped with manual controls, and sails as we venture into a world that is of dwindling gasoline and crude oil stocks.

I had come into former Lake Michigan and former Lake Superior by way of the former Lakes Huron, Ontario and Erie. I pulled a net the other day and I have to tell you. I have not seen a bottle plastic or glass come out in my net since 2026. For reference the date today is October the 30th of 2035 pre-fall time.

I am honestly not sure if you are still receiving guests, transmissions, or are located in the same position as your 2030 S.O.S. Are you?

I pulled your message out of the bottle, unfortunately time, water and fate took the first half of your message with it. when I unrolled the paper this message was all that remained:

"In 2027 Eziekiel Fischer re-emerged from the University. He had taken refuge in a history building that had a cafeteria. When the last main electrical outage occurred he came to the river. He had spent his time reading everything he could find in his refuge. That was when he realized our true downfall had occurred over the last 100 years one historical timebomb at a time.

Eziekiel ran into several of our fishermen and foragers at the river when he ventured out. We welcomed him into our community and gave him the opportunity to write the accords of time that had brought about our new world.

Thanks to Eziekiel the citizens of the settlement now do not identify as people of any specific nationality, spirituality, sexuality or political orientation. We identify as survivors of the fall.

Due to Eziekiel’s diligence we are teaching our youth not only our storied and sad history but also the hope that our future generations will finally break the cycles of war that have ravaged our species since the dawn of our civilizations.

Eziekiel died of septicemia last week he will be buried with a time capsule containing this message, the heart shaped locket of his fiance who was stranded in Nova Scotia in 2024 without word, as well as the directions to his library and a few other cherished possessions. It is the hope that with this last transmission we welcome new survivors into our small city, as well as finally reach Harriet Bouvier who is believed to be alive in Nova Scotia. Eziekiel built something for you here in Milwaukee. There is life and safe haven for you to come to here, along the fresh water coast.

We believe Eziekiel’s spirit was the cause of the massive storm that took out our power generation set up; in honor of his life we send this last S.O.S.

If and when we are able to broadcast again we will be in touch. May this message meet you well. We have hope you are able to come join our settlement should you need to take refuge.

-March Jericho:

Technology Officer, Marijuana Cultivar;

The Harambe Settlement, Former Lake Michigan, East Facing Coast, New Earth.

07.01.2030"

Miss Jericho,

If you are still at the Harambe Settlement please send word. I have a good number of questions.

I would like to address a few of them with you now.

First and foremost the woman Harriet Bouvier that you have sent word for is alive and well. In the last 6 months she has just bore her 3rd child after the fall. She is my wife. She became stranded in Nova Scotia in 2024 and we married in 2028, after she believed fully there may be no way and no hope of returning to her home.

I will pass this message along to her. She has often since getting stranded in Nova Scotia expressed a desire to return to Wisconsin. She had even told me of the fiance she feared dead in Old Milwaukee. I am sure that it will bring her closure to hear the official news of his passing.

In Nova Scotia we were blessed to be left with less people, less violence and more resources and supplies. I would like to charter a voyage or convoy of boats to get you the technological supplies your settlement may need at this time.

While I know that my response comes more than 5 years after your initial transmission, I believe fully that the universe played a role in getting your message in a bottle, into my fishing net.

I have charted course for a swift return to Nova Scotia and to Harriet to tell her the news. I anticipate a large convoy arriving at your settlement within the year. I will remain in Former Lake Michigan waters for 12 more hours after which I will turn back.

I can be radioed on the Ice Rose, Callsign: Svenson20 or IceRoseFishing

I hope to hear from you and will put this message on loop while I am in these waters to allow you to make request for provision.

If I do not hear from you, my crew and I will still arrange convoy for, relief, trade, and migratory purposes. Seems unremarkable but as it turns out with all that has happened over these 10 years, Nova Scotia is still pretty cold.

My wife will also board the boat to come back to her homeland. I am sure she will wish to pay her respects to Eziekiel as well as return his pocket watch in exchange for the locket she left with him when she left in 2024.

May peace and calm waters be upon you.

Wayne Svenson;

Captain Ice Rose Fishing Vessel, Nova Scotia, Old Canada, North America

10.30.2035

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Abbey June Schwartz

Love. Life. Art. Gratitude.

All stories, challenges, poems and the like are created in the spirit of healing from the perspective of the convalescent. I have been through some stuff and journaling for mental health is boring. Here I am.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.