Fiction logo

Call of the Fate

Part 1

By Romeeshah Scarlet.Published about a year ago 6 min read
Like

This was the day I was supposed to marry the guy whom my father had handpicked for me. I have never seen that man , just knew that this man was the heir to the biggest Italian mob. Marriage in our culture , is just a business deal , to enhance the ties between the clans . My father being the clan leader of the black stone clan , one of the biggest firearms supplier of our area. I don’t know why my father had to sell me to a monster. Il dilavolo. That’s what everyone calls him. Leonardo Cesare. The owner of half of the Verona. His blood tales reached all the way to Canada. Well as they say , fate can’t be changed. I was standing in a white gown waiting for my death sentence. that is what I call a forced marriage. My eyes dried , not even a speck of hope in them . My father made sure that I was a good little bitch he raised me to be . Always obeying his commands like a f*****g lapdog.

Everyone was waiting for the bride to walk the aisle. And the bride was waiting for a miracle to happen. The clock was ticking. every second wreaking havoc on me. And it was the time now. My cousin called me. I just wanted to run but I knew better . My father was just standing there waiting. He held his hand out for me , the same hand that signed the contract to suffocate me , to strangle me to death. I looked at him with so much hate , hope ….anything I could find in those ember colored pearls, but all in vein. He took my arm forcefully , digging fingers in my flesh . Enough to make me wince under the veil. It was too over whelming, and I was just beginning to take in the situation when I heard a …. Growl?

One look at my cousins , the guests , all shocked. The source of that chest rumbling ..was from my groom. I looked up towards him and …. There stood in front of me a man, who God had carefully crafted to be the epitome of perfection. “Perfetto” was all that left my lips at the moment . Chiseled jaws , ignited eyes . The sky-blue color shirt hugging his muscles perfectly. God absolutely took his time making that gentleman in front me. He was an Egyptian God that needed to be worshipped in ……every…… possible…… way.

(Growl)

My father suddenly loosened his hold on my arm. I took a breath I didn’t know I was holding. My eyes looking at my father and he was looking at him? His face was contorted with anger. Why was he angry?

Well, I stood there with him while the rituals of marriage begun. I was still as pile of logs lying on the ground. No vows exchanged, no permissions granted. The only thing I heard was “I declare you both husband and wife” And there it was… my fate sealed.

Everyone was looking cheerful, exchanging peeks at the golden couple of the hour. The clanging sound of the wine glasses mixed with the slow romantic music in such a humongous hall, in hues of peach and white was supposed to be nothing but perfect. A dream wedding that was raining flare on my heart. My mom left this mafia world to be free. Leaving me behind to be the victim of all the pain.

I was getting tired because I couldn’t digest anything because of my anxiety kicking inn . Even at that point, the champaign I was holding was a poison that will eat me if I took even a single sip from that beautiful glass. I looked for my groom, he was standing in the center of many big fish of the mafia world. Not even sparing a glance at his newlywed wife. What have I gotten myself into. I signaled my cousin to get me some cold water but as soon as I raised my arm up in the air, something in me broke off. I was losing my balance and the lights were fading into a pale color.

“Diegooooooooo”

I was only able to take my cousin’s name and was ready to take the kiss on my face from the ground. I closed my eyes , all prepared for the impact .

… 1 …..2 and it didn’t happen.

A strong pair of arms wrapped around my waist. Firm, yet so warm and cozy! I opened my eyes slowly to be met with the gaze that held all of the damned ocean in them. The mareel, that reflects the stars perfectly , so peaceful and calm yet brewing a tsunami in them.

“Easy now! I don’t want my property to be damaged before I even have the change to use it”

He whispered those words in my ears. And handed me a bar of snacks and left towards that same group again .

PROPERTY……… DAMAGED??? What was all that?

I was still analyzing this snarky comment when my father hurried towards me and asked if I was feeling all right.

“Daddy, I just need some rest. Please. I …….. I ”

Tears were threatening to spill from my eyes. Still his words were crashing in my skull. My brain was in shambles. I needed to get away from all this.

My father noticed this all and asked Diego to take me back to my room.

“Leo ! Scarlet is going back to her room for a while. You can meet her there when you’re done.”

My father shouted at Leonardo. Why did he have to tell that devil everything.

That handsome devil …

Wait... what is happening with my mind? No, this is a forced marriage . I should not be growing fond of him at all. I will leave this all and run.

Finally, I entered my room and it felt like I was taking my first breath of freedom in a while.

“Yoooo. Diego, I would like to sleep now. Please turn off the lights when you leave.”

“ Yeah . Get some sleep . You guys will be flying back first thing in the morning. I’ll go and take care of the guests. ”

“Wait. Who will be flying ? and where? ”

Although deep inside, I knew the answer to that question but I didn’t wanted that last strand of hope to snap too early.

“ You babes. Now that Leo’s here , Verona’s a mess . He is needed back there.”

“Are you f*****g kidding me? I can’t leave . not that early. I need to…...”

“Your packing has been done. Zia took care of it.”

Zia was our maid and if she wasn’t the one who raised me when my mother left , I would have killed her for touching my stuff without my permission. Let alone without me knowing.

Diego left and I was too overwhelmed to even utter a single word. Well for now I just wanted the sleep to engulf me. I opened the drawer right beside my bed, took out the melatonin pills. Never thought I’d be taking them again. Last time I took them when my mom left a broken mess, and I lost my sleep because of crying my eyes out.

1… No it would never work in my state. So I went for 2 tablets.

Finally it started to kick in, Yes! I needed this sleep in my own bed. I don’t know what the future holds.

_________________________________________________

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Romeeshah Scarlet.

I am an engineer with a passion for writing. As such, whether it be novel scenes inspired by real life events or carefully crafted topical analyses informed by data analysis tools – there’s something here for everyone!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.