Fiction logo

Cake eaters

Warning: explicit language below

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Cake eaters
Photo by mia swerbs on Unsplash

"Let them eat cake", growing up that quote disgusted me and shook me to my core. How could anyone be so clueless and so cruel to her fellow French men and women. For those of you unfamiliar those are the words of "Marie Antoinette". It's sad to see how little things have changed over the centuries. Day to day I see: people sleeping on park benches with one eye opened nearly freezing to death, mothers having to steal formula just to feed their babies, people selling themselves on street corners, insulin bankrupting innocent people, and veterans being tossed to the streets after serving their country. All of this all while a very select few get to live their life of extreme luxury and excess. Nightly steak and lobster dinners, brand new 100K cars speeding past our neighborhoods, paparazzi telling me I should care who's fucking who. It makes me sick and I'm done with this shit. Sorry, I forgot to mention my name is Dean. Nice to meet you. Allow me a minute to tell me about myself.

I grew up in a small town you've never heard of in Ohio. Only son to a single teenage mom, so yeah to say life was hard is the understatement of the year. Growing up I never truly saw eye to eye with my mom but now that I'm older, I'm grateful she did what she could to support the two of us. I don't really know who my father is but I couldn't careless. Fuck him for abandoning us. Sorry, I got off tangent there. Anyways, growing up I was always picked on for being the poor kid and up until I was about 16 I was the runt. So growing up I always had a chip on my shoulder. Despite my size I was on: the football team in the fall, the wrestling team in winter, and in spring I ran track. Honestly I don't know how I did it despite constantly being starving. Maybe it was just my escapism or a way to stay out of trouble. Keeping me occupied and focused on a goal helped me immensely. Then at 18 after wrestling practice a buddy of mine took me to an MMA gym for the first time. I was immediately in love and knew this was my ticket out, I would literally fight my way to success.

Thankfully I was able to fight every now and again locally both in a cage and in the ring, then to try to make some extra money I'd also do some amateur wrestling. There was no way I'd settle for a 9-5 job, and I didn't mind. The cuts and bruises was nothing in comparison to the ass kicking life was giving me. I could take the pain. Mom always protested my fighting, but can you blame her? I'm all she's got left and vice versa. So I know it was hard watching me beaten and bloodied on a nearly nightly basis so we could eat. For a while things weren't half bad. Mom and I were getting along well, bills were paid, and I had even earned enough for a shit bucket car. It was an old Mustang with a ton of miles, no ac, and locks that didn't even lock but I didn't care. It got the job done. Best of all I was even saving up to make that next step to finally moving out and being on my own so I could become my own man.

That was until these elitist fucks decided that our lives didn't mean shit. Without warning the big banks just decided our one mortgage wasn't enough. Out of nowhere these "zombie second mortgage" started coming for us all. It ravished our neighborhood from the home owners to even small business owners just trying to make a living. And shocker, they made a stupid amount of money bankrupting us and kicking us out of our homes/businesses.

At first we all played by the book. We filed complaints, hired lawyers for a class action lawsuit, wrote in to our politicians but playing by the rules got us nowhere. I had finally had enough. Remembering tails of Robinhood and the comics I read growing up I decided to take action. Thankfully I had some friends in some very low places that owed me favors. Information, weapons, even armor I was able to get through my connections on the streets. Then I got to work. At first I started slow and low down the totem pole. Targeting those who I know were new to the game and very easily intimidated, those who would fold despite me very much being an amateur. As forced penance I'd make sure their greed was redistributed to those who truly needed their money. Apparently word had gotten around and I'd actually gathered up quite a following. And just in time, by the year's end it was time to cut of the head of the snake. I'd gathered my followers and revealed it was me this whole time. So I trained them, carefully calculated every part of our plan to make those fat cat bastards pay for what they had done to us, and made sure all my affairs were in order just in case.

We found the corporate headquarters during their holiday party when all the big wigs were going to be in the same building at once. After by passing security, we found them in their grand office popping champagne and cutting cake to celebrate their "success". If only they knew what we did and what was waiting for them. At first I got to thinking what grandiose speech I could give. Thinking of all the bullshit speeches these assholes gave through the year as to how it was our fault and that as long as we worked hard we could get our lives back. But I got to thinking of Marie Antoinette.

So, we let them eat their cake. Quite literally. Steel baseball bats in hand, we charge the room making as much noise as possible. Smashing through the windows, kicking the door down, banging the bats against the table and best of all destroying their ice sculpture. Then holding them hostage while some of my smarter follows worked on making sure all the money they stole from us would be given back to those who truly need it. I couldn't be happier. As I left the room the last image I saw was a giant piece of chocolate cake being stuffed into the faces of those elitist pigs. The muffled crying was music to my ears. It had been a long, hard fought journey and I needed some well deserved rest.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics. Feel free to give those other articles a read or two. Also if you'd be so kind, I'd greatly appreciate a heart and if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

Satire
1

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.