Fiction logo

Burnout

The consequential demise of an overachiever.

By Christina HunterPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Burnout
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

The calendar changes to August and with it comes a feeling of dread. My eyes scan the penciled-in events: Cinema Under the Stars, Beer Festival, VegFest, Cocktails for Conservation, an herb garden workshop, a blueberry picking event, an eco-fair meeting. And on it went.

A text from a friend says she can't help me with the festivals.

Something inside burns.

My eye flutters. My hands shake, a wretched thing strangles my breath from escaping. No.no.no.no, not now.

My body convulses. I reach for September, take a black marker and draw a line through everything.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Christina Hunter

Author, Mother, Wife. Recipient of the Paul Harris Fellowship award and 2017 nominee for the Women of Distinction award through the YWCA. Climate Reality Leader, Zero-Waste promoter, beekeeper and lover of all things natural.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    I could relate to this! I found it darkly humorous but also real. We all need to not feel the burn for a bit.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.