Fiction logo

Bunkers and Dragons

Where fiction became reality

By Skyln GracePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Bunkers and Dragons
Photo by Denny Müller on Unsplash

Chapter 1: It wasn't always this Way

"There weren't always dragons in the valley." an old voice choaked out. I had ought to be asleep, but restless, strangling thoughts are keeping me from it. My eyes wondered around the closing darkness searching for the owner of the statement. A useless practice I had a knack for doing. people would always say something here and there out of curiosity I suppose which only roused everyone else in the dirt-caked bunker. I flinched. The musty smell of dirt filled my nostrils as another round of shaking begun and my body vibrated along with the noise. With it came with what sounded like thunder, but we all knew full well it was the sound of another roaring, destructive beast which everyone likes to refer to as a dragon. I used to tremble at these sounds with the most horrible thoughts at hand but now after it's constant occurrence it's just like a poke to my numbed brain. Although at times, like now, pulls me close to the wonder of what's going on above this sweat stained, stone bunker and how long we still have in it. I glanced over at my forest green, solid and nearly burnt-out electric lamp and turned it on. Hoping no insects come to overwhelm it although some company would be nice. Not that I was alone physically in this place but with everyone going through the trauma of...well everything that has happened in the past year nobody, but annoying, greedy little kids want to have anything to do with a stranger when they got themselves and everything else to think about. Being the person I am, I try and turn to the well the most notorious people of the group. The elders. They're very few of them now more than ever since people stopped treating their extra-special needs that come with age, because of the more pressing, basic needs of the group such as water, food and safety but they can be of some company if you can get past the smell of their side of the bunker which reeks of every horrible thing the human body can make. I've tried but, it's a very difficult thing to master. So, most of the time I try to be content with my small space in this dark, suffocating, overgrown bunker. Now I look around with a silent presence as everyone is in what we call sleep but truly is only a brief moment from our thoughts.Maybe this is what they mean by losing my mind because everyday that passes i feel myself drifting farther from reality as darkness consumes every image that once brought me joy. All i have is those memories of when my life was what we used to call normal! Now My mind involuntary replaying the words of the mysterious voice "there weren't always dragons in the valley", Boy was that statement so true, and I wish it weren't.

By Brian McGowan on Unsplash

Because throughout all this time with just my thoughts, I know one thing for sure that me and the dragons have one thing in common, we wish we had never encountered each other, or our worlds had ever had to merge because it brought both destruction and chaos.

Again, here we are talking about the simple context of dragons or is it really that simple when all your life they were just myths, fiction, and the worlds they created were told to be nothing more than words on a page.

They lied.

And the world turned upside down.

People with glass shattering screams, chaos,

And the result of all this well, if I live long enough to see it, might just be...well actually, I don't quite know yet.

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Skyln Grace

I am a passionate writer with a mind to work and an armature artist doing what I love with the hopes of inspiring others, giving hope and speaking the truth with a shameless voice through my work.

Check out -> www.pinterest.com/Just_Pencils

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.