Fiction logo

Bull's Eye View

Life's Unpleasantries and Pleasantries for a Bull

By Michael LewisPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

Inhale. Exhale.

The Big Bright was coming. The Crower called it so, probably from on top of the Two Legs’ dwelling. The surroundings were becoming more visible again, only a few tiny Brights still seen in the Above.

The Above was slowly changing as the Big Bright was coming up. Where the Big Bright touched the Above at the start and end of its travel across the Above was the Low Bright. The Low Bright matched the hide of the other beast that stayed at the Two Legs’s dwelling. It was a strange beast with weird legs that growls whenever it moves but seemed to allow the two legs upon it, carrying them around.

There were three Two Legs that stayed in the dwelling. A Short Haired one, A Long Haired one and a Smaller one that reminded me of the Long Haired one. The Smaller one was like offspring as it was small and not able to do or stand like the taller two. Long Hair and the Smaller one both usually smelt pleasant but the small one smelt unpleasant sometimes.

Short Hair brought me out of their dwelling and back out to my natural dwelling, upon the Green bounded by the straightwood that closed near the no green. The short hair then got up on the Beast of Low Bright, growling and moving its weird legs as it charged away upon the NotGreen, downwards and away. I snorted as it went past.

Thirst and hunger came. There was no Feed yet, but there was Drink in the wooden raised hole. I look into the hole. I view what I usually view in the Drink hole….. a shaggy mane of hair, points on either side from where I look and my snout, which I flare out with a snort before dipping my head and use my laplick for Drink.

I wait for the Drink to stop moving. When it stops, I see a beast again. The Two Legs would make a sound when they were near and looking at me. "Bull" was the sound, whether at what I am or what they call me. Either way, when I hear “Bull” I would go near the Two Legs that made the sound. Short Hair makes a loud sound with it, but Long Hair makes a long, pleasant sound with it.

I look up from the Drink wooden hole. The Big Bright had moved but Long Hair was not in view. Long Hair would normally come for me and bring Feed before the Big Bright had moved far. I inhaled the air and let my laplick taste.

Inhale. Exhale.

I looked to the Above. There were only small fluffs in the otherwise empty Above, the remaining tiny Brights all gone now. It will be nice but there was Abovefall coming.

I looked to more of the Above, only to feel something unpleasant inside my hide, so I looked to the Ground under my view. It was not as unpleasant as before, the Clean Smelling Two Legs that came before the Dark when the Big Bright was nearly back down again had done something. Up to the previous Big Bright journey, any move brought something unpleasant behind my shutview. Short hair, Long hair and Clean Smell were around for most of the previous Big Bright journey, making sounds at each other and looking toward me, sometimes they made the “Bull” sound. Clean Smell kept going out of my view and I felt unpleasant things but after a while, the unpleasant felt less.

After Clean Smell went in their smaller beast with weird legs, Short Hair and Long Hair brought me to their dwelling as it went Dark and the Above was filled with tiny Brights, while the Pale Bright made its journey. Long Hair was there for most of the Pale Bright’s journey, making pleasant sounds, until Long Hair wrapped her NotLegs around me and left me alone.

Long Hair being around was always pleasing. My first view and smell were of Long Hair, although they were much smaller at the time but as was I. We spent many Big Bright journeys running around the Green, and occasionally to the Tall Greens that were around.

Long hair had Grey Hair around then too, before Short Hair. They smelt similar but not quite the same. Grey Hair was unpleasant sometimes, sometimes carrying a black stick that they would point at beasts big and small, either making them run away or stop moving.

During one Big Bright journey, Grey Hair came with the black stick and pointed it at me, but Long Hair came between. After many loud sounds back and forth, Grey Hair put the black stick away. Grey Hair kept their distance after but Long Hair kept seeing me. Grey Hair hasn’t been around for many Big Bright journeys, indeed for many changes of the Tall Green.

Inhale. Exhale.

The other beast’s roar brought me around as it charged back up to the Two Legs dwelling, although it coughed and snorted a few times. It stopped and moved up the NotGreen slower than before. I looked at this points. They looked smaller than mine.

It got to the Two Legs dwelling and then I was pleased to see Long Hair there, carrying the Smaller one. Short Hair got off the beast and went to Long Hair where they touched snouts before Short Hair carried Smaller one back into the dwelling.

Long Hair came, carrying more Feed. They tipped it over the straightwood near the drink hole. Again Long Hair made pleasant sounds and I heard “Bull” while one of her NotLegs were between the straightwood. I came over and touched with my snout before using my laplick. Her NotLeg rubbed my snout. I felt pleased. After a while, Long Hair turned and moved back to the dwelling.

The Big Bright moved further along its journey. I had more Feed. I had more Drink. Soon the Big Bright and Above were covered by Darkfluffs and soon Abovefall came down. There was a lot of it, filling the Drink hole until it came out down to the Green. The Two Legs kept to their dwelling, but I did see Short Hair with the other beast. I stopped moving about as my feet squelched into the Green and into the NotGreen below. Still, it felt pleasant where I was.

Inhale. Exhale.

After some time, no more Abovefall came down and the Darkfluffs moved away, showing the Big Bright now going down in the Above. I turned at squelching sounds and saw Long Hair carrying the Smaller one towards me. The Smaller one kept squirming, so Long Hair put them down and let it move, albeit slowly as its legs squelches into the NotGreen. Smaller one must have found it pleasant as well as it made a pleasing peal of sound.

Both came to the straightwood of my dwelling. Again Long Hair put their NotLeg in, to which I again touched with my laplick. Smaller one did the same, also to which I touched with my laplick, drawing a pleasant squeal, after they moved and bounced around on where some Drink stayed on top of the Green and NotGreen. Long Hair would look far away, at the Smaller one and at me.

It was quiet and pleasing being with Long Hair and Smaller one. It smelt clean after the Abovefall. Things could not be more pleasant.

A loud sound came from the Two Legs' dwelling. It sounded like Short Hair. Long Hair looked to Smaller one, made a few sounds, and then turned around and charged towards the dwelling. My view followed Long Hair to where the other beast was with Short Hair. The beast was quiet.

I looked over to Smaller one, who just looked at me for a while. She then made a squeal sound and made a point with one of their NotLegs. I turned around a little until I saw a patterned flutterby floating along. I kept it in view as it got closer and closer until the flutterby landed on my snout. Smaller one made a pleasant sound. I moved but the flutterby stayed put until I let out a snort. The flutterby quickly floated away through the gap in the straightwood of my dwelling over the Smaller one, who followed it slowly out to the NotGreen.

Towards the Two Leg's dwelling, I heard the beast let out a roar and grumble. It did not move so I turned to the Feed nearby. Approaching the Feed, I heard both Short Hair and Long Hair make a loud cry above the beast's sound. I turned and saw, between the gaps of the straightwood, the beast charging down the NotGreen towards the Smaller one who appeared to be currently on four legs with one leg not moving in the squelch of the NotGreen.

Inhale. Exhale.

I let out a bellow in challenge at the beast, but it did not turn away from the Smaller one. The beast had to be stopped. I looked to where my enclosure opened and charged at it. With a breaking sound, I broke through, feeling tiny unpleasant pricks all over my hide. I again snorted and bellowed at the beast.

It must not get to the Smaller one, who had now got back onto two legs and made a sound of fear as it saw the beast coming towards. I took one last look at them and towards the beast. I lowered my head and charged with all I had as I hit the beast at its front leg closest to me.

All I heard then was a ferocious roar as one of my points went into the beast's hide as it rolled onto its side away from the Smaller one. I felt something behind me shutview that did not feel at all pleasant. I went with the beast as it rolled onto its back, from which it then threw me to the straightwood of the Green away from my enclosure.

I felt something hit my hide and one of my legs gave out as I landed on the side only for the Beast to roll onto me and over. Everywhere it touched felt unpleasant, very unpleasant. With a last roll on my part, the beast continued onto to roll twice more until it stopped on its side and slid along the Green, until it was still and only its legs moved.

It felt unpleasant all over hide and my view wobbled but I saw that Short hair and Long Hair come to the Smaller One. I tried to let out a bellow only for Drink to come out from my snout onto the Green. The Drink was the same colour as where the Big Bright was now coming down low in the Above.

Inhale, exhale. Inhale, exhale. Inhale, exhale.

It feels unpleasant everywhere inside and my shutview felt like wanting to close, so they did.

Inhale, exhale. Inhale, exhale. Inhale, exhale.

Long Hair was near. I could smell her and she was making strange sounds. I heard the "Bull" sound.

Inhale, exhale. Inhale, exhale.

I slowly opened my shutview. I could see Long Hair. She was leaking Drink on her front hide. Short Hair was holding the Smaller one nearby. My shutview wanted to close again but I kept looking.

Inhale, exhale. Inhale, exhale.

The Big Bright was coming down. It will disappear soon. My shutview closes.

Inhale. Exhale.

The unpleasant inside is feeling less and less. It feels pleasant being on the green.

Inhale. Exhale.

Long hair's sounds are more and more away, but I think they are still near. I will go laplick her limb when I can move.

Inhale.

Cannot view around anymore. Sounds were becoming less and less.

Exhale.

Cannot move my legs anymore. My snout touches the Green.

Inhale.

Feels really pleasant on the green.

Exh-

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.