Fiction logo

Bull Rides and BS

Part 5 of an 8 part series

By K.J.GeorgePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

My ears were filled with laughter. I was blinded by pearly whites, and was warmed by immense love. I forgot what it all felt like. What it felt like to be loved. I forgot what it felt like to really truly be loved by anyone. I could finally say I was happy again and genuinely mean it. It felt like everything in my life was falling into place. Everything made sense again. And I couldn’t be more grateful.

The trip was a short one to the bank. Obviously mom left me more money if that’s where she left me a key too. But she also said the rest of what I need to know is there as well. So, I’m a bit anxious. I never thought my family actually had any secrets. But in reality we had a lot. Apparently, there’s more to mom and dad’s relationship, well marriage, than meets the eye. Grandma had cancer and kept it secret to keep the family sane. Mom knew about her own death but also had a life in the city as well… It all still amazes me.

What amazes me even more than that though, was how me and Luke started talking again like we were never apart, and Bria fit right in as well. It feels like we are now an unbreakable trio. A trio to be reckoned with. Yes indeed.

We talked the whole way to the bank. Of course Bria, the love sick questionnaire, asked us questions about our friendship and childhood the whole way there. Of course, Luke had no problem answering all of the questions to what he could remember of course. And I, myself, joined right in. It was like everything that led to this moment was meant to happen. Led me to a point in life where I was genuinely happy, and I had not one best friend, but two amazing best friends.

“To be honest Lily, when I saw you that day in the barn, right before I left I had a hunch that it was you...The hair was undeniable. But I thought I was going crazy, because why were you even that far out on your own in a barn…?,” Luke questioned me.

“She was a young, lost soul who was looking for her prince charming to save her, and that led her to an old abandoned barn and-,” Bria oh so dramatically started.

“Sorry to cut you off there bestie, but I think you’re letting your imagination run a little too wild, and we have also arrived,” I looked over to Luke who sat next to me in the passenger seat and continued, “ but to sum it all up I was looking for an adventure and ended up there. Now, let's go!”

“I call bulls-,” Luke started before I cut him off.

“I don’t need you reading me like a book right now. Another story for another time, please?”

“Fine…”

Luke and Bria hung out outside of the car, until I went inside and retrieved my belongings. To keep it short, I was taken aback, and not so surprised at the same time.

Mom did leave me some more money. A whole lot more. She also left what I am assuming is a letter that explains whatever else it is that I needed to know about my family. A really small box that was the size of a ring box, and a sealed manila folder.

“So what did mom leave youuu?,” dragged out by a very excited Bria.

“For starters, mama was swiminggg, in cash. And these,” I said, showing the things in my hand to my friends.

“Aren’t you going to open them up?,” asked Luke.

“We can give you some privacy if you’d like,” cooed Bria.

“Actually I think I’ll need you guys support more now than I did before. So, you guys can experience this with me, but at my new place?”

Beaming as if they both already forgot what we were supposed to be doing today, they both ran into the car. I just laughed and followed closely behind. Apparently we were about 20 minutes away from my new home and I couldn't be more excited.

As if mom didn’t surprise me enough, we pulled up to the house thanks to the directions Luke's mom gave us. We all audibly gasped. The house was in a beautiful, small neighborhood just outside the city. And don’t get me started on the house. It was beautiful! We all got out and before I could say anything Bria said, “Lily, I feel like you hit the jackpot today!”

We all laughed as we headed inside to see what the house looked like. I was still processing that my mom left me a car AND house. Apparently she bought the house, no payments and in her will she made sure that it was known to be mine when she passed. So, all I have to do is keep up with it and pay the bills of course. And thanks to mom that won’t be a problem either.

The house had 5 bedrooms, and 6 bathrooms. In my letter she did say she wanted to move the family here, but dad would never wanted to. So I guess that would explain all of the rooms. It had an amazing kitchen, living room, office, a nice small backyard, etc. It was a little dusty here and there but that’s to be expected from a house that hasn’t been touched in a while.

After we all ogled at my new home, we decided to sit outside by the pool and open up the things mom left me.

“Are you sure you want to read the letter out loud for us to hear? I don’t mind giving you some privacy,” Bria asked, concerned.

“It’s fine,” I started, “I was going to end up telling you guys anyway.” I gave them a small smile, took a deep breath and started reading the letter. It read:

By this point you may have uncovered the many things I have left for you, my love. However, I’m sure you are wondering where all this money came from, or even about the car and house. So I thought I’d tell you in another letter. Your mama is nearly rich my honeybun. After opening up my own practice in our little town, and all those stays I had to make in the city to help the upcoming practices and hospitals, I was making tons. That’s why I bought the house. I wanted to move our family there, so that I wouldn’t have to make continuous trips and leave my growing babies. You were 1 when I started my career. I wanted us to be stable and happy. But your dad didn’t like it. Our love was slowly fading after I started taking my career more seriously. He felt like the money was changing me and taking me away from you guys. He hated that I was taking care of the family while he was recovering, and I had no issue with paying the expenses for getting your dad help. As well as fixing his many mishaps. He hated that I didn’t complain. Amongst those things, your dad got into some shady business and people were trying to black mail him, and well it got out of hand.

Your dad is a recovering alcoholic. He used to gamble a lot, and get himself into trouble at such a young age. When I met him he was having a hard time getting on his feet. That's when I stepped in. Along the way we grew in love, finished school together, and eventually your brother came. I went into the field immediately upon being the highest scorer in my class. We also had your brother to think about.

In the file I left you is all the proof that you may need. The expenses I paid, the names of the care centers, anything you may need you name it. I also left in there, files of the people who may still not like your dad. Pictures, addresses, etc. Just so you can see yourself.

However, after everything that has happened I decided to keep the amount of money I was making a secret. I didn’t want to push away your father even more. So I decided to prepare you guys for the future instead.

On a more positive note, I also left you info on the house and car that is now yours. As well as the info on my practice, and the practices and hospitals I worked at.

Everything is now in your power my love. I know you’ll figure out what to do with all of this information, and I want you to live a happy life for me. And that little box, give it to Luke when you see him. I know you will see him again. Give him the letter I left for him in the file as well, he’ll understand after he reads it.

I love you guys with all my heart. This will be the last thorough letter I leave you.

So live happily, my golden child. May your life and the life of those who get to experience you be great.

Lots and lots of love,

Mom x

Once again, I am in tears. I hand Luke the belongings my mom left for him and curl up into Bria’s side and cried. There’s so many things I didn’t know and emotions that feel so new to me. I didn’t know what else to do.

However, once I was finally able to gather myself, I mumbled to my best friends, “Will you guys stay with me?”

“Of course we will stay the night! I couldn’t imagine leaving you here by yourself tonight,” Bria said swiftly.

“No, I mean stay with me. This house is way too big for just myself, and what better way to really start my summer, in a new home, with my two best friends?”

They both looked at me shocked and this time Bria was crying.

“I’d love to stay, but my apartment, and work and…”

“I’ll pay whatever all of that may cost you. You won’t believe the load mom left me. I’m sure she knew somehow that I wasn’t going to spend it all by myself. Don’t say no. Just accept it please and stay with me,” I pleaded.

“Okay! But, only for you! Remember that!”

I smiled and hugged Bria. I looked over to Luke for his answer and he was just staring at the things mom left him.

“Luke? You okay? What did mom leave you anyway?” I was curious, very curious actually.

“A story for another time, okay? And of course I’ll stay. I wouldn’t have it any other way.”

I just smiled and threw myself into my best friend's arms, and Bria enjoyed every second of it.

“Well,” Bria started, “It’s still early. I think we should clean up the place and get ready to move in!”

“And once we finish that, I think we should go bull riding,” Luke blurted out.

If you were to look up confused in a dictionary, you’d see me and Bria’s faces.

“I guess I should elaborate,” Luke started and Bria and I nodded, “Well it’s still the beginning of summer. And to celebrate moving in and the start of our new lives, I thought we could do something wild and fun to kick it all off. They are also opening it up tomorrow and I wanted to go.”

As if it all made sense, Bria and I nodded our heads in unison and laughed.

“Well I guess the next couple of hours for us are going to be busy, so let's get moving!,” I said animatedly.

With that myself and my two best friends were on our way to our next adventure, and the start of our new lives together.

I wonder what is next…?

TO BE CONTINUED...

Series
1

About the Creator

K.J.George

✨ An overactive mind put into words

✨ Favorite coping mechanism

✨ Fiction Fanatic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.