Fiction logo

Broken Mirror

Trapped in the Haunted Mirror: A Tale of Twisted Realities

By YathirajaSampathKumar K RPublished about a year ago 8 min read
Like
Broken Mirror
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. My stomach dropped as I stared into the glass, trying to make sense of what I was seeing. It wasn't just a different hairstyle or outfit - the person in the reflection was a stranger. Their features were similar to mine, but something was off, twisted, and wrong.

I was staring at the haunted mirror that I'd found in an antique shop a few weeks ago. I'd always been fascinated by old mirrors, and this one had caught my eye immediately. But now, I realized that it was more than just a decorative piece.

At first, I thought it was just my imagination. But as I watched, the reflection started to change. The world behind the stranger began to warp and twist, and I could see glimpses of a dark and twisted version of my own apartment.

The reflection began to move, and I realized that the stranger wasn't just staring back at me. They were staring at something behind me, something that I couldn't see.

I turned around slowly, my heart pounding in my chest.

The alternate reality

I couldn't see anything out of the ordinary, but as I turned back to the mirror, the world behind the stranger was now even darker. The stranger had vanished, and the apartment in the reflection was now completely different from my own.

It was a dark and twisted version of my own home, where the walls were stained with blood and the furniture was twisted and broken. The air was thick with an acrid smell that made my eyes water, and I could hear the sound of someone breathing heavily behind me.

I turned around again, but there was no one there.

The world in the mirror was starting to bleed into my own, and I had no idea how to stop it.

The haunting

Over the next few days, I became obsessed with the mirror. I couldn't stop staring at it, watching as the world in the reflection grew darker and more twisted with each passing day.

At night, I could hear whispers coming from the glass, urging me to come closer. I tried to resist, but something about the mirror was pulling me in, drawing me closer to the alternate reality that it held within.

I started to see things out of the corner of my eye - twisted versions of myself that would vanish as soon as I turned to look at them. And when I slept, I was plagued by nightmares of the dark and twisted version of my own apartment.

I knew that I had to do something, but I had no idea what.

The descent

As the days passed, the world in the mirror grew stronger. I could see twisted versions of my friends and family in the reflection, their faces twisted into grotesque masks.

And then, one day, the stranger in the mirror spoke to me.

At first, I thought I was imagining it. But then I heard the voice again, soft and insidious.

"Come closer," it whispered. "Come into the mirror."

I was afraid, but something inside me was drawing me closer. I stepped forward, reaching out to touch the glass.

And then, everything went dark.

The twisted reality

When I opened my eyes, I was standing in the twisted version of my apartment that I had seen in the mirror. The air was thick with the acrid smell that I had smelled before, and I could hear the sound of my own breathing echoing loudly in my ears.

I was alone, but I could feel something watching me from the shadows.

I started to walk, trying to find a way out of the dark and twisted world that I had stumbled into. But the more I walked, the more lost I became.

And then, I heard the whispering again.

"Welcome," it said. "You're ours now."

I realized with horror that I was trapped in this twisted reality, and that whatever had taken me here had no intention of letting me go.

I tried to run, but my feet felt heavy, as if I was wading through molasses. The whispers grew louder, urging me to give up and stay here forever.

I refused to give in. I kept walking, trying to find a way out, but the darkness seemed to go on forever.

The monster

And then, I heard a sound that made my blood run cold - a low growling that seemed to come from all around me.

I turned to see a creature emerging from the shadows. It was large and hulking, with eyes that glowed like hot coals. Its skin was black and leathery, and its claws were long and sharp.

I tried to run, but the creature was too fast. It lunged at me, and I felt its claws tearing into my flesh.

I screamed, but no one came to help me. I was alone, trapped in this twisted reality with this monster.

Escape

I knew that I had to find a way out. I couldn't stay here forever, trapped in this nightmare.

I started to run, using all my strength to move faster than the monster behind me. I could hear its growls growing louder, and I knew that it was getting closer.

And then, I saw a glimmer of light in the distance.

I ran towards it, ignoring the pain in my legs and the sound of the monster's claws scraping against the ground behind me.

As I got closer to the light, I realized that it was coming from the mirror. The glass was glowing with a bright white light that seemed to be pulling me in.

Without hesitation, I dove towards the mirror, feeling the glass shatter around me as I was pulled back into my own reality.

Epilogue

I woke up on the floor of my apartment, gasping for breath. The mirror was shattered, the glass scattered across the floor.

I knew that I had narrowly escaped a fate worse than death, and that I would never be able to forget the nightmare that I had lived through.

From that day forward, I never looked at mirrors in the same way again. I knew that there were other realities out there, and that some of them were darker and more twisted than anything I could ever imagine. But I also knew that I had the strength to survive, and that I would never be trapped in that world again.

But the memories of what I had experienced haunted me, and I couldn't shake the feeling that something was still watching me from the shadows.

Days turned into weeks, and weeks turned into months, but the feeling never went away. I tried to move on with my life, but the trauma of what I had experienced in the twisted reality continued to haunt me.

And then, one day, I saw something that made my blood run cold.

I was walking down the street when I saw a man staring at me. He looked familiar, but there was something off about him, something that made my skin crawl.

As I got closer, I realized with horror that it was the stranger from the mirror, the twisted version of myself that had pulled me into that nightmare.

He smiled at me, and I knew that I was in danger.

I tried to run, but it was too late. The world around me started to warp and twist, and I felt myself being pulled back into the dark and twisted reality that I had fought so hard to escape.

And then, everything went dark.

When I opened my eyes, I was back in the twisted version of my apartment. The air was thick with the same acrid smell, and the walls were stained with the same blood as before.

But this time, I was not alone.

The stranger from the mirror was there, watching me with a sinister smile on his face. And behind him, I could see the monster that had chased me before, waiting in the shadows.

I knew that I had to find a way out, but I also knew that I couldn't do it alone.

As I started to walk, the stranger followed me, whispering in my ear and urging me to give up. But I refused to listen. I kept walking, searching for a way out.

And then, I saw it - a glimmer of light in the distance.

I ran towards it, with the stranger and the monster chasing me. But this time, I was not afraid.

As I got closer to the light, I realized that it was coming from another mirror, one that looked similar to the haunted mirror that had brought me here in the first place.

Without hesitation, I jumped into the mirror, feeling the glass shatter around me as I was pulled back into my own reality once again.

But this time, I was not alone. The stranger and the monster had followed me, and they were now standing in my apartment, ready to take me back to the twisted reality.

I knew that I had to act fast. With all my strength, I smashed the mirror, watching as the glass shattered into a million pieces.

And then, everything went dark.

When I opened my eyes, I was lying on the floor of my apartment, surrounded by broken glass. The stranger and the monster were gone, and the world was no longer twisting and warping around me.

I knew that I had finally escaped the nightmare that had haunted me for so long, but I also knew that I would never forget the horrors that I had experienced.

From that day forward, I avoided mirrors whenever possible, knowing that the haunted mirror was not the only one that held the potential to reveal dark and twisted realities.

But I also knew that I had the strength to survive, and that no matter what horrors the world threw at me, I would never give up.

Conclusion:

In the end, the protagonist manages to escape the twisted reality, but not without paying a heavy price. They are haunted by the memories of what they have experienced, and they know that the horrors they have seen will never truly leave them. But they are also stronger for having survived, and they know that they have the strength to face whatever horrors the world throws their way. The haunted mirror may be gone, but the darkness it revealed will always be a part of their life.

FantasyMysteryHorrorFan FictionAdventure
Like

About the Creator

YathirajaSampathKumar K R

Hello everyone, my name is YathirajaSampathKumar K R and I am a business man, software architect, and NFT creator with 12 years of experience. In addition to my professional pursuits, I am also an author, writing motivational stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.