Fiction logo

BROKEN MIROR

CHALLENGE

By Sandra BongjohPublished about a year ago 22 min read
1

BROKEN MIRROR

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own

It was in the city of in California that I was living alone in a studio. I was living by myself and rarely inviting people to my house.

My apartment is a two-room studio. There is a living room which has two armchairs, a sofa.

Sometimes, I sleep quietly below the sofa.

On the floor, there is a mattress. On the floor of the living room, there is a carpet.

This bathroom has a large bathtub. I have in addition to the mattress that I have , a large mattress that I use when I take a nap.

There is no kitchen in my studio. I use a gas cooker in the room where I sleep.

There is a toilet in another room, and

a washer in a medium closet with a dryer. I also have a water heater on which I boil water for my coffee.

I teach in a French elementary school mathematics. I chose to study mathematics in university because I like it and because it is a difficult field. I have a bachelor degree in mathematics.

After two years of teaching mathematics in elementary school,and at the Public high school of South Carolina, I decided to continue teaching at these institutions for a while.

I graduated from public high school in

California. Then I continued my university studies in England, London.

Since I returned to the United States and taught at the public high school of South California for two years that comprises both elementary and high school students.

I teach both elementary and high school students.

The public high school of South Carolina is one of the most famous schools in South Carolina with higher education.

This school has a low tuition for in-state students and a high fee for international students.

Not only American students were enrolled in this school. Also, international students were attending this school.

It is a very big school with thousand students. I teach students three times per week. This school has a cafeteria.

There are several cooks, especially women cooks who serve the food.

Day students remain at school and dine there. They cannot go home because of the distance.

These students remaining at school at lunch time do not go home because they have class right away after lunch.

Or because their homes is far away from the school.

The school is low cost for in state and out state students only. The cafeteria of this school is like a coffee shop.

There are plenty of chairs and tables. Each table has chairs.

Each student go to the cashier and type the name of the student on the machine, paid with the student school identification card.

This is the card that the student uses at the cafeteria in order to get their meals.

At the cafeteria take a look at the dishes offered:

Hamburgers, corn casserole, corn muffin, macaroni cheese, American Chinese rice with crab rangoons.

There are several entrees, there is a salad of tomatoes, onions, cheese, tuna, cucumbers…

For deserts, the students have different choices of deserts. There are strawberry yogurts, apple yogurts, chocolate yogurts, lemon pies, cheese pies, and different flavors of ice-cream.

There are also drinks with gas, and drinks with no gas.

Today I buy a bag of pretzels at the snack store. This is what I usually buy at the snack store that is in the school.

When I am done with teaching all my courses, I go back home on foot to take my lunch.

Today I had corn casserole with Kentucky fried chicken.

I also drank natural juice, strawberry juice.

After praying, I ate corn-muffin, macaroni and cheese.

I put the leftover of my food in the plastic container.

I have one television in my studio. My television has many channels.

Cartoon Network, Disney, Fox News.

Cartoon Network is one of the channels that I like to watch.

The soap operas that I watch are Mexican soap operas that are translated from Spanish into English.

I watch in English on the television.

I taught at this public high school for two years and would like to teach there more than two years.

After spending thirty minutes watching the television, I went back to school to teach six grade students The class “Numbers”.

After spending an hour and half the class with other classes I was done for the day.

I went back home. My home was five minutes away from the school.

I like to watch English movies, the shopping centers in England.

Most of the time, I watch these movies on my laptop.

I would like to get married and have children.

I like to teach mathematics at school. I like this field because it is complicated.

I am proud to teach mathematics to elementary and high school students.

I teach 100 students at this public high school of South Carolina. I Iike teaching mathematics because it is a good job. It is good to give my knowledge to the students in order so they can pass their examinations.

After classes are over, I went back home to take a break.

I have plenty of guests that I am expecting to come tomorrow.

I am a good cook. I have a list of the foods that I will cook tomorrow such as macaroni and cheese, corn casserole, corn muffin, hot dogs, hamburgers.

The guests that I am expecting tomorrow are my colleagues.

The party will start at five o’clock. I am in the living room watching the television and enjoying the different shows with advertisings passing on the television.

I am currently watching a movie which is a romantic movie. It is a love story between a young lady of eighteen years old with a young man of nineteen years old. They are both in university and already introduced their parents to their parents.

They are willing to have children when they are married.

Georges and Jane are the names of the couple who intend to get married when they graduate from college.

After watching this movie and remaining in the living room for a very long time, I decided to go upstairs wear my pijamas and sleep.

I have already taken a shower. I am deeply sleeping in my bed, and enjoying my sleep.

Hopefully, tomorrow will be a beautiful day, I am expecting guests especially my colleagues who work at school with me.

I am having a party. I am willing to cook similar dishes than what they offer at school.

My dream was long. This night, I slept at around 10:30 PM.

I dreamt of a dating with my boyfriend. In my dream, I met the man of my life. He is blond, he has blue eyes, a brown mustache.

In my dream, I dreamt that my handsome Prince waited for me at my home, and both of us went to the restaurant to have our outing. He was well-dressed. He was in office outfit with a tie.

He drive me in his car Volvo which was a good brand car. I enjoy the ride with him.

I really liked to see the landscape outside while he was driving the car. My Prince was called “Arthur”.

He was kind, handsome, nice to me. He spoke kindly to me.

We were both going to the restaurant and from there to his own house.

The restaurant was called “Happy Restaurant”. It was the name of the restaurant in the dream.

When we reach the restaurant, there were five waitresses who were working at the restaurant.

They were in uniforms. There was a list of decent foods that were available.

There were salads composed of onions, black olives, tomatoes, green peppers and several types of dressings for the salads.

After both of us took a look at the different types of dishes, we waited at the table to order. Though we could see the employees cooking and the list of dishes available, we’ll still have had to order a la carte.

Arthur and I waited at the table. We looked at the menu. There were decent foods listed in the menu such as steak with barbecue and rice, garlic bread, fish with white sauce, mashed potatoes with gravy, and pork. There were salads. There were different types of salads such as avocadoes, cucumbers, tomatoes, onions, and black olives. There were different types of salads dressings such as ranch….,.

My boyfriend and I order the salad to start the meal.

A man came to us and asked us:” What have you ordered?”

I ordered for entree a plate of salad with cucumbers, tomatoes, onions, and cheese on top with ranch.

My boyfriend in the dream ordered the same.

I ordered some mashed potatoes with

gravy, and steak. I also ordered a bowl of ice cream for desert.

Arthur ordered rice and fish with white sauce. He also ordered for desert brownies.

After the order, the waitress went back to the kitchen to pass the order. After five minutes, he came with two plates of salads and garlic bread.

There were plenty of garlic breads.We took all their time to

eat. After eating some garlic bread with the salad, my boyfriend and I started eating their meals that came in fifteen minutes.

They enjoyed it. It was quite healthy. I enjoyed the mashed potatoes with gravy. I enjoyed the steak.

We really liked this restaurant called “ Happy Restaurant.” I liked my bowl of ice cream with chocolate and pistachios.

My boyfriend likes his brownie that was big. It was Walnut Brownie.

After the dinner, we left the restaurant, and went back home, not to my house.

I remained with my husband at his house. We also watched the television until we remained in the same room to spend the night.

In my dream, I woke up tomorrow morning, and decided to go back home . I asked Arthur: “ Can you drive me back home?”

“I am going back home.”

Yes, I’ll drive you back home.

We entered the car. Arthur started the car, and the distance was quite long. We reached home. I dropped the car, and went to the bathroom to take a very good shower, then wore my casual clothes. I also brushed my teeth.

I use Face foam wash for my face every morning and every nights.

I started watching the television. I watched my favorite cartoons. I really liked Tom & Jerry. I also liked Snow White. Everything happened in my dream.

I really enjoyed my sleep last night, and the dream that I had especially with a handsome boyfriend who liked me and had attention for me.

I finished watching my favorite cartoons, and decided to walk a bit outside. I was not starving for breakfast .

I drove my bycicle outside. I enjoyed the sunny weather. It was Summer in my dream.

The season was great to start biking. I went to different areas of the neighborhood to visit places where I never biked.

The ride I had on my biciclette was long. I went back home and decided to take a nap. I enjoyed my nap, and cover myself very well.

It was not too chilly outside. The weather was warm, not too hot, not too chilly in my dream.

I enjoyed my nap. In my dream, the Mail man has not yet reached my home. He went to different neiborhoods and has not reached my home to deliver my mail.

I enjoyed my nap in my dream because I was tired of the outing that I had yesterday night with Arthur.

He treated me well. He paid for my dinner and his.

We enjoyed it, and I liked his house. I slept with him last night before he drove me back home. I liked his studio with a big bed, a cupboard, and a long red carpet.

The studio was clean enough. The house was clean enough.

I jumped out of my bed and my dream ended when I heard the bell ringing.

The mailman dropped a newspaper at the entrance of the door, rang, then left.

Today I will be working hard by cooking food for the party and I also collected my favorite CD’s for the party. There were nice jazz music. I

am expecting my guests at around 5:30

PM. Early, this morning I had an apron on. I cooked plenty of foods such as macaroni and cheese, corn casserole, sweet potatoes casserole, hamburgers with buns. I also prepared salad. In the salad, there were avocadoes,onions. sweet potatoes casserole with pecans, and brown sugar. There were baked potatoes and I started cooking the turkey.

I took all my time cooking the turkey in the oven. I added some potatoes to it, and let it cook in the oven at the temperature 350Fc. It was well cooked until 12:00PM.

I started cooking it at 9:00PM. After the food was ready, I used these plastic containers made of iron and pour out the food in different plastics. Since these plastics were made of iron, I lightened the fire to heat them.

After turning the light at the bottom of these plastic containers in iron, I went back to the living room and watched the television.

I had the option to different channels such as Fox News, Disney, EBT, MCM, and other types of channels.

There are plenty of interesting shows on the television. There were also many cartoons on the television to watch.

In my home, there was a big library. I was happy to have many books to entertain myself.

I watched a nice soap opera on the television that comes every day besides Sundays.

This soap opera was interesting. It is a romantic soap opera. A couple who knew each other got separated, and did not meet each other.

After two years, the man went to one of his friend’s house and saw his love, his girlfriend that he got separated long time ago.

After his visit with his friend, he looked at the painting of his girlfriend.

The clock was on. It was thirty minutes to two. After the clock was on, and rang suddenly.

The man was taken to the painting. He was staring at this painting for a very long time.

He disappeared from his friend’s house. He was in the same world where his girlfriend was. He remained in the house with his girlfriend and shared good times there. In the world where the man was with his girlfriend, they had a romantic life.

After their relationship, the clock rang in the other world and the man returned to the previous world in the movie. He fainted.

He could not go back to the other world where his girlfriend was.

He fainted and remained fainted for a very long time.

I received my guests to come to the house, and the party started at 5:00PM.

At that time, I had clothes on. I was well dressed. I had nice clothes on with jewelry.

I also chatted with my friends in the living room. The party was until midnight.

The party was long. The guests were in queue. The line was long. There were plenty of foods. They ate my food and they liked it.

I really liked the comments that they made on my dishes. The food was delicious says three people.

The number of guests at the party was ten. There was music.

The music was good. It was jazz. The party ended at midnight.

After the party was over, I accompanied all the guests at the entrance of my house to let them drive back to their homes.

I decided to start cleaning the house though it was late at night.

I did not want to attract mice to come to my house. When you do not wash your plate, there are flies that flew on top of them, and when crumbles of bread or food from the plate drop mistakenly on the floor, a lot of mice come to the food that fell on the floor, and eat.

I know that tomorrow it is Sunday so that is ok because I’ll take a break, and I’ll rest.

I also liked to clean the floor, to sweep the floor.

I also washed the dishes. I did not remain with the same clothes that I had for the party to clean the floor. I changed my clothes before sweeping the floor, washing the plates, and leaving the leftovers of the food in a plastic container.

I waited that the food cools down before putting it in the refrigerator.

After my chores, I washed my face, wore my pijamas, and slept in my bed.

Today it was Sunday I will rest and enjoy this day. I am not working. I have all the time to sleep. On Monday,I have classes to teach, and this week is the last week before Christmas holidays.

I was on my bed sleeping. My room is big enough. It has two beds that are separated.

There was one cupboard in my room, a table with a chair in my room.

This is how my room looks like. I enjoyed my sleep until noon because since yesterday I remained awake until the daylight.

After I woke up, I removed my pijamas, and wore my casual clothes. Today it ok. It was not too chillin outside. The weather was ok. I decided not to eat because yesterday I had plenty of foods.

I ate well in the night when the party occurred.

My guests did not eat as much as I did. When I decide to eat like that, it means that the following day I will not eat because my stomach is full.

Today I wore my sports attire, and rode my bicycle.

I enjoyed riding my bicycle, and had fun visiting the courtyard.

I really liked to remain outside in the cold weather. It was not too cold. I wore warm clothes on while I was driving my bicycle. My friends that I have I meet them at work when I go and teach the elementary and high school students. They were among the guests that I invited to the house.

This Sunday was fast, and the following day went fast as well. I already asked the director of the elementary school and high school to quit working at his institution.

He approved it. He already looked for another lady to replace me in advance.

I decided to go to England definitely to live my life there. At the end of the following week, I told all my friends and colleagues at the institutions about my departure to England next week.

They wrote in my diary that I have nice, kind words before I leave.

I scheduled my flight to London, I bought electronically my plane ticket online.

After making this transaction, I have a list of winter clothes that I want to buy for the winter in the U.K. Though I still have plenty of time to pack my luggage, I decided to start packing it now before my departure to England.

I have two bags for the trip. I have already looked at the quietest neighborhood where to live in England.

I still have until Saturday of this week to take the cab to the airport and wait there for my flight to England.

Time flies; this week was quick, and I could not wait to reach the airport for my flight from the USA to England. I am currently in the state of Pennsylvania and is leaving Pennsylvania to go London.

After waiting for one week for my departure to the airport, I was happy that Saturday comes before going to England.

I was happy to take the cab and go to the airport.

I waited at the airport for five hours there. After waiting there, I took all my bags and went to the security section to leave my luggage’s to be taken to the plane, and also at the security section, I the police checked me, and also checked my hand luggages such as my handbag. There were no sharp things such as knives, scissors in there.

I waited in the waiting room for my plane so I can go to England.

I was traveling Business Class. The plane ticket I purchased online was expensive which is good due to the benefits that I will be granted while I was traveling Business Class.

In the Business Lounge, I had good snacks with some drinks. I enjoyed being in this lounge and renaming there.

After waiting in the Business Lounge for a couple of hours, my plane arrived.

I was on the line. It was not long. There were fewer passengers in the line.

I landed before two passengers behind me. The lady at the gate cut my boarding pass, and allowed me in the plane.

When I entered the plane, I sat at my seat. I enjoyed the flight. It was long and pleasant.

At five am in the morning, the plane landed in England. The lady saw my passport ,and after it I left the airport, took my suitcases.

I left the airport, took the cab, then went to a decent apartment that I looked online on my laptop.

I took the taxi to go to the apartment. When I reached my apartment, I spoke to the director of the apartment.

He showed me a room with a big bed,a gas cooker, a bathroom.

When I went to the bathroom, I looked at the mirror.

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own.

I saw on the mirror a lady with tears. It was scary. I decided to leave the apartment. I dropped the stairs really quick and asked the director of the apartment building to look for another bedroom for me.

He asked me why: “ I replied him, this room is too narrow which is correct.

I calmed down and faked there was nothing that happened. He agreed with me that the room was too narrow, and told me: “ Tomorrow I’ll looked for a better room for you where you will be comfortable.

Thank you for honoring my requests. I hope that I will in a better room than the room that you gave me as a room responded.

“No worries” you will be in a better room than this room.

I decided not to go to the room immediately because of the reflection that I saw on the mirror. This woman with tears on the mirror scared me. Luckily, I was with my big handbag. In my big handbag, I had my small laptop. I was in the living room where all my apartmates were and working. There was a big television.

I worked on my computer, and decided to remain there until tomorrow morning.

I could not stand the reflection of this lady who was in the mirror.

The whole of this night I remained in the living room. I could not wait to pick up all my luggage’s and moved to another apartment.

I had to wait until ten o’clock A.M before the manager of the apartment comes.

When tomorrow came, there was free breakfast. I had some of my toiletries in my bag. It was a non-reusable tooth brush and a small toothpaste tube that has not been used.

When I went to the bathroom at five minutes of the cafeteria, I brushed my teeth with this plastic toothbrush and used the small toothpaste tube, then I went to the cafeteria to have some breakfast.

There were scrambled eggs, bacons, sausages, pancakes, waffles, with different types of syrups.

What I liked so far about the apartment, is free breakfast. It is not a hotel but an apartment.

After I was done with my breakfast, I went to my room with the director.

I took all my stuff in his presence before moving to my new apartment.

I liked this new apartment. There was a nice balcony. The bed was big enough for a couple. There was a couch, an average fridge, a television.

There was a bathroom. In the bathroom, there was a mirror. The reflection was my own when I looked at it.

I went outside today and decided to look for a job.

I am new in England, in the city of London.

I looked at different offers posted on the walls of restaurants. I came back to the apartment.

I turned on the television and watched English movies.

English and American movies are not the same.

I was safe in this apartment. Tonight, I was about to take a shower.

I was about to scream loud when I saw the same reflection. I got very scared. I cannot change rooms all the time. I also cannot change apartments. I think I will have to remain in this room and try to avoid going to the bathroom.

I posted my CV for different jobs online. Hopefully, I will be accepted to work at one of the corporations that I saw online.

After my night, I woke up in the morning, and went to the bathroom, brushed my teeth, then decided to take the bus to go to the corporations listed on the papers.

I was in touch with the manager of the corporation called Mr. Brandon and had an interview with him.

I successfully replied well to the answers to the interview.

After the interview, I was granted a job. The pay is $15.00 per hour. I also was a good partner to the director of the corporation. While I was working with him online, I was in good company with the manager and both of us were involved in a love relationship.

We were happy together. I showed him the apartment where I currently live and he showed me his. I decided to support him by remaining at his apartment. Before I leave the apartment building to reside with my future fiancé, I washed my face last night in the bathroom, and did not see the lady in tears in the mirror.

The reflection was mine. The reflection might have disappeared because of several factors. The mirror was a bit broken at the middle when the woman with tears was no longer.

I have already moved out to reside with my fiancé.

We are going to get married officially and to have kids. Mr. Brandon invited all his family members to come to the wedding ceremony. I myself invited my family members.

We lived happily forever.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Sandra Bongjoh

Hi,

I am Sandra Bongjoh. I am an author. I currently live in West Roxbury, Massachusetts. I write stories for both children and adults. I also write novels on other topics such as politics books, cookery .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.