Fiction logo

Bread

Raw Toast

By David Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Bread
Photo by Tommaso Urli on Unsplash

A man, woman and dog sit comfortably on a couch facing a television. The show they had been watching just ended. And a commercial about bread was broadcasting.

"Eat Healthier today with Kip's new Whole Wheat bread, with less added sugars."

The man looks at the woman, bewilderment on his face and the woman returned it with a smirk at the end.

"My word bread has sugar in it?!"

"Why yes dear, didn't you know? It's all the rage in Rome. "

"Last I checked we live in London"

"My this is embarrassing I thought you would know all about it, as a baker"

"A damn good one at that"

"Bread in some places is even toasted you know"

"What? Like with a blowtorch?"

"No with a toe-star I think they call it"

"Amazing, what will they come up with next, grilling it and putting cheese on it?"

The wife looked away with a small smirk, coughing to hide a chuckle. Dog pleased to see a smile on the woman's face, wagged it's tail with a happy bark. The man turns down the volume of the TV and turns to his wife.

"This has got me thinking, why would people want other kinds of bread, the recipes we have are fine"

"Normal bread is boring honey"

Gasps

"I-I can't believe you just said that, cover your ears Herb"

Herb barks excitedly as he hears his name and jumps on the spot

"Come now, bread becomes old and stale over time, it's time for new innovations"

"That's all food!"

"Boring isn't it?"

"Has our time together been a lie, have... you ever liked my bread"

"Oh honey of course I LIKED it"

"I can't believe what I'm hearing, perhaps our paths are diverging and its high time we consider... separating the crusts"

"Right now? Well, I guess Crumb is at school right now so there would be no one to bother us... wait you mean SEPERATION?!"

"I'm just saying I'm kneading some time right now"

"I can't believe you, Do you really think I married you because I liked your breadstick, well I do and its not the only thing I love about you, I love the smell of bread every morning. I love how you follow your passions where ever they lead. I love that we SUPPORT each other in what we do, not to mention our love of music and I guess our son"

"......"

Herb looked at both of his owners and whimpered as the silence lingered. Herb's eyes darted around the room trying to find something good to fixate on but all he saw were the plain white walls of the house the family lived in.

Then a flash of inspiration purred Herb to his feet, barking twice the dog called the owners to follow. Dashing into another room Herb ran straight to the cupboard and began scratching. The husband and wife humoured Herb and opened the door and Herb began digging through some old boxes on the ground and after a few moments pulled out a box and placed it in front of the couple. The couple proceeded to open the box and look inside. The husband and wife teared up as they looked inside. They faced each other and hugged, the world growing a smidge warmer and brighter. After a moment of silence, the ding of a timer went off echoing in the house.

"Ahh, Breads done"

The couple picked up Herb and left the room they were in, the husband went to get the freshly baked bread and bring it to the dining room while the wife went to turn off the TV. The three sat at the table and breathed in, enjoying the smell of the bread and dug in.

Satire
Like

About the Creator

David

New writer.

Love pop culture, video games and theatre.

Stories will be interesting, not necessarily good or bad. Just interesting.

Depending on YOUR perspective.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.