Fiction logo

Bradford Pear Tree

Love At First SightCreator Mariann Carroll

By Mariann CarrollPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
7
Bradford Pear Tree
Photo by Johnny Brewer on Unsplash

I first saw her standing under a Bradford Pear Tree, dressed in white just like the flowers blooming on the tree. She had silky Black skin. How I just want to caress her beautiful seductive skin. She does not seem to notice me staring at her with admiration.Who is this tall beautiful woman. She seem lost. Should I go asked if she need my help? She bend over ,like she was searching for something.

I was walking my dog, Handsome . Handsome is a German Shepherd mixed with husky. I was staring at her so long, my dog, handsome got loose from me. Handsome knows how to get loose from my grip on his leash, plenty of times. I get him back with the treats, I always carry during our walks. These time, I did not bother trying to get, Handsome to come back to me.He was going towards the beautiful lady under the pear tree. “Come back here, Handsome!”, I shouted. The beautiful lady stood up straight from her bending position and turn towards me. She look at Handsome with a surprised on her face. “Aren’t you a handsome dog.” She started to pet, Handsome gently. I came up closed to them and started to thank her but no words would come out of my mouth. I just stared out her mesmerized. “Hello.” She said with warm gentle voice. “ He must be your dog? He is very handsome.” People say that a lot when they see my dog, that is why I named him Handsome. She look at me, like she is waiting for me to say something. I just keep on staring at her until Handsome start, pushing his nose under her dressed. “Handsome, Stop!” I shouted a command. Handsome stop and came to my side and sat down. Handsome knows when I am serious and not playing around. Handsome look at me in his apologetic way of his. I told him,”Good boy.” After he fallow my command.

I could not stop staring at her caused, she had green beautiful eyes like a ripe pear. She has most exquisite nose, I ever did see. Her lips was like plum, just imagining myself sucking on their sweetness. I finally got my tongue back. “ Hello, you are very beautiful. My name is Arnold.” She seem to blush from my compliment. The more I stare at the more beautiful, she gets. She responded, “ Hello, Thank you. No one has every told me, I am very beautiful. My name is Ella.” She raised her hand to give me a hand shake and a beautiful gorgeous smile, pearly white teeth. I could not help but smile back.” I just drop a pearl ring, given to me by my grandmother, can you help me?” She asked. I Shaked her soft delicate hands. I did not want to let go of her hand but I did.” I will help you look for your ring.” I told her. She thank me and we started our search. It was about 15 minutes before we found her ring. She told me how, she was going to adjust the ring to fit her ring right hand finger but never got around to it. This not the first time, it came off her finger.

Ella told me, she was driving thru, that she had to get out of her car and admire the beautiful tree. I told her, “ Yes, Bradford Pear tree are beautiful in the spring time but need a lot of pruning cause it can be troublesome. Ella asked me what, I mean by troublesome, and I give her the explanation. I live across the street from the Bradford Pear tree. My street is one of the Main Street in our small town. I asked if she would have a cup coffee with me on my porch. She was taken aback but she accepted my offer.

We crossed the street from the Bradford pear tree. I invited her to seat on one of my front porch patio chairs. I only had two chairs on my front porch and a small round table between the chairs facing the Bradford pear tree. She sat down and waited for me to go inside the house to make coffee . I tie Handsome on the porch railing with his leash to keep Ella company while I made coffee. She was petting Handsome when I came back with two cups coffee on a try with sugar and cream. Ella thank me. We started to talk. We both stare at each other. I know why, I was staring at Ella. I don’t know why she stared at me. Ella asked a lot of question about my small town. I give answers, I knew about. It was very relaxing to talk with Ella. Ella seem to enjoy talking to. I asked for Ella’s phone number and she give it to. That’s how I fell in love with Ella at first sight. We got married three years later.

By: Mariann Carroll

Short Story
7

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.